1993 Nissan Pulsar Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Nissan Pulsar LX 1.6 GA16DE 1.6L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission GA16DE 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Great value, nice car

Faults:

I finished off a clutch and a CV joint. Both were cheap to replace.

Clicking sound from front right shock absorber when accelerating hard.

General Comments:

This 1.6L has the top end power to mix with many 1.8 and 2.0 cars. The engine always sound like it's going to break, but never does. Always revs to the red-line and beyond smoothly. Oddly, it loves hot weather and feels much more powerful and alive. It even sounds better.

Another useful gadget is the air-conditioner system which switches off automatically when full throttle is applied in order to give you all the power that the engine has.

I am not very happy with the handing of the car or it's braking abilities, however it is one of the best in its price range.

Fuel economy is outstanding for a car of these abilities. When driven nice and slow, it will average about 7.5L/100k. And very rarely goes over 10L even after a hard night out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

1993 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2.0L turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

My turbo blew after 65000 miles.

Worn engine mounts after 70000 miles.

General Comments:

Pray to thy as there is a lord of masters, a 2.0L turbo 4x4 tin box that rockets you to 60 in 5.4 seconds on standard form. Add 1.2 bar of boost, aftermarket exhaust and air filter, you're touching 300 brake.

Handles well too, but lowering springs are advised.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

1993 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2.0 turbo charged 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo charged 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

0-60 5.5secs, top speed 155mph+, 4 adults and their belongings, 3 doors, this car speaks for itself!

Faults:

When I got it, it had 220bhp and the only problem I had was the turbo which got a hole on it. The roof shakes and the electric windows played up, but nothing too dramatic.

General Comments:

I had the car for under a year now and it's pushing 350bhp out and is a beast. My previous Impreza WRX STii is no way as powerful as this. For a hatchback it's the king of the road and can fit 4 people and luggage in perfectly comfortably.

This car modified and is one pocket rocket, there's no denying that!!! The ultimate.

Reliable like all Nissan's and cheap parts, always do an HPI check cause these cars are normally imports.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

9th Feb 2005, 23:55

Cheap parts???don't think so.

12th Apr 2005, 06:58

The Standard Pulsar Parts will be the cheap parts, that is the ones that also fit standard non-turbo pulsars.

15th Sep 2005, 23:45

How many Kilometers can you do on a tank of fuel on average? City driving and country driving? I want to get one, but the way petrol costs are these days I don't want a car that's really thirsty.

11th Oct 2005, 15:42

Don't buy one of these if you are worried about fuel consumption! Mine does 16mpg round town and 21mpg on a run it's running 310bhp at last dyno run. You have to expect these sort of figures for cars that do 0-60 in 5 seconds...

18th Mar 2007, 06:42

Alright guys I've been looking at a few of these monsters and just wanted to know how much of a big job it is to replace the clutch pedal and box? also do these have a mojor prob with blowing head gaskets?

20th Mar 2007, 09:23

Hi guys. I'm buying one next month. My work mate is selling it to me quite cheap, but it still needs to have some work done on it. Need to change all lock sets, all doors and ignition. How much do you reckon it could cost for the parts and the change job itself? And driver's side door needs to be changed as well. How much is that? Thanks.

1993 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2.0i 16v twin cam turbo 4x4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v twin cam turbo 4x4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Corrado

Summary:

I think for 5000ukp you can't get a car faster than this

Faults:

Roof shakes at high speeds, but this is common with GTi-Rs.

Handbrake cable snapped.

Brakes needed changing due to hard driving - the GTi-R standard brakes are no good if you planinng on modifying the engine.

General Comments:

This car is really fast compared to my VR6, it outran a Subaru Impreza WRX STi when I was using 1.3psi. This car you can modify easily and parts are easy to get. I was going to get a Impreza but I fell for this and have no regrets at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

23rd Sep 2002, 07:04

Sometimes I hate myself for being so pedantic... but for that money you can get something faster than a GTIR. Two friends of mine.. One owns a GTIR the other a Mazda Familia GTR (there is also a GTX, but the GTR was produced in limited numbers with higher specs for racing purposes) It has been accepted by the GTIR owner after many heated discussions, and strip challenges that the outright winner (both for performance and handling) is the Mazda. Both have identical slight mods ie Exhaust, Air pod, bigger intercoolers. Yeah... Id never heard of the GTR Famila now I want one.

1993 Nissan Pulsar Ti 5 door hatch 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance166000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

I love my car!

Faults:

Not a problem.

General Comments:

This has got to be the best all round car for the money, it is a mini luxury car. I have mine lowered with 16inch TSW wheels, air filter and exhaust, and anybody would be lucky to find a sweeter looking little unit.

I have had zero problems or defects with my car and I would definitely recomend this car to anybody looking. I'm a very happy owner!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

10th Sep 2001, 00:49

Good, I too have a pulsar and its good.

26th Sep 2006, 08:01

Yes, I too have a pulsar which is good. very good indeed...

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews