1996 Nissan Quest Reviews

1996 Nissan Quest XE 3.0L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles

Summary:

If Nissan still built this model of van, I would buy it again new

Faults:

I tow 3500 lbs at least 4000 miles a year while hauling 7 people. A WORKHORSE of a van for the size.

CV joints at 100,000 and 200,000 miles.

Fuel filler neck at 90,000 miles (dealer recall).

Struts, ball joints, and tie rods at 200,000 miles.

All steering, cooling and fuel hoses at 200,000 miles.

Power steering pump at 200,000 miles due to leaking seals.

A/C and heater blower motor at 200,000 miles.

Still has a fuel smell as engine warms up... getting ready to replace the idle air control valve at 200,000.

Engine fan at 120,000 miles.

Must use 87 octane or higher... seriously, if you use 86 or just a poor gas in the summer, this van will vapor lock on you. I discovered this driving across New Mexico (carry 2 bottles of octane booster now).

General Comments:

Engine and transmission are still running great at 210,000 miles. 26 MPG highway, 16 MPG towing. The engine is still burning clean with no oil burn or leaks. I love this van!

Unfortunately the interior and exterior are beginning to wear. Will probably hand it down to the kids!

The engineering on this is great and it's easy to work on. Ford, you ROCK!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2014

2nd Jan 2014, 21:46

Actually, this is a Nissan designed van, with a Nissan engine and Nissan transmission, very similar to the Nissan Maxima. The Ford (Mercury) Villager was a rebadged Nissan Quest. Thus, Nissan deserves every bit of praise that you've given this vehicle, not Ford.

Stay away from 2004+ Nissan Quests though, they are not the same company they used to be, after being acquired by Renault, although the exterior designs are sure to hypnotize many into purchasing them.

1996 Nissan Quest GXE 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic

Summary:

Excellent van, most reasonable cost for foreign vans

Faults:

The a/c cuts in and out in both the front and back. The front blows hot air when it cuts out and the back completely shuts down. I figured it out that it is a in-vehicle temperature short. The problem is that I pulled apart the dash and can't get to the temp sensor.

General Comments:

Great van! It's my second one and it runs great!Has anyone else had this a/c problem? How do you fix it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

1996 Nissan Quest from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carNissan Quest

Summary:

Decent van besides the brake problems

Faults:

Warped rotors at 110,000.

Brakes went out at 125,000 miles.

Check engine light always on.

Brakes always squeak.

Rear heater no longer works.

Power steering going out.

General Comments:

This car is a great family car and has been fairly reliable considering the amount of mileage however, I have spent quite a bit of money on brake problems. It seems to have brake problems every few months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2005

1996 Nissan Quest GLX 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Maxima

Faults:

Replaced transmission at 100,000 kilometers.

Air conditioning suddenly stopped working at 105,000.

Front end seems to always need some type of repair.

Windshield trim had to be replaced at 60,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

The Quest is a smooth running, solid vehicle, and always starts.

The paint and body surface have held up very well despite the salty conditions we drive in. Although I do wash it weekly, even during the winter months, which makes a big difference.

My wife drives it most of the time, but whenever I drive it, I hear a new noise, or the check engine light appears.

Faulty sensors driving me crazy, and finding a reliable, and honest dealer in my area is impossible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2004

1996 Nissan Quest 6 cylinder Gasoliune from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Gasoliune Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

Ggggrrrreeeeeeaaaatttt!!!

Faults:

Transmission recall and replaced by manufacturer at 7,000 miles.

General Comments:

Great vehicle, use as surveillance vehicle in Private Detective business.

Looks like a "soccer mom" kinda vehicle.

Great handling, great gas mileage, really dependable. Takes a licking and keeps on ticking.

No rust after 8 Pennsylvania winters.

Will buy another in a heart beat. Shooting for another 250K miles. What kind of a trade in will I get with 500K miles (;0)!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2004

1996 Nissan Quest GXE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Family friendly work horse

Faults:

Steering wheel mounted radio controls work only occasionally.

Rear lift gate sometimes does not close securely.

Front brakes wear too quickly.

General Comments:

Sliding seats were a good design in the mid-1990s. But I would prefer the foldaway seats now found in the Honda Odyssey and other newer minivans.

Fairly nimble for a minivan.

Power only adequate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

1996 Nissan Quest from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carford taurus

Summary:

Good van if you find a good price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Nice vehicle, well engineered. Everything durable and fully functional, and comfortable. Kid-proof interior, and theres a lot of buttons in the back for them to constantly fiddle with. Good ride quality. Mileage about average for a minivan. Easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

5th Aug 2005, 11:14

Great vehicle. Bought mine at 70K, now has 130K. Can't complain.

1996 Nissan Quest GXE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

OK, but be careful

Faults:

The brakes are almost gone.

Lost performance.

Mysterious interior rattling since 1997.

Excessive engine noise.

The heater hardly works.

The driver side window will go down, but sometimes it will not come up for about ten minutes.

The body is weak.

The windshield wipers have a recall on them.

The rear brake light bulbs burn out quick.

General Comments:

This van is OK.

However if I could go back to '96, I would buy something else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews