1999 Nissan Quest Reviews

1999 Nissan Quest SE from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carNissan Hardbody Pickup

Summary:

Now that electrical problems are fixed, I love it

Faults:

Nearly all of the Ford electrical components have been replaced with genuine Nissan parts. Too much to list separately.

General Comments:

After owning this van for 7 years, and having put 110,000 miles on it, I can say that I have never had any problems with the motor, transmission, axles, or any of the other " moving" parts on this vehicle.

I have however, had to replace just about every electrical part on this van. The drive train on this vehicle was made by Nissan, the rest by Ford (go figure).

I have kept up with all of the recommended servicing, including the timing belt at 90,000. I am hoping to get 300,000 out of this motor as I have on my Nissan truck.

This sport model handles like a sports car, is very comfortable, and is easy to get in and out of. The rear buckets and 3rd row bench is very comfortable as well. My only complaint is that I wish the van was a little longer.

I have test driven many other makes, and still find this one to be the best van overall. I would be hard pressed to ever sell it. The new Nissan vans are rattle traps.

All of the vans with the "stow and go" seating option make adults feel like they are sitting on the floor with their knees in their face, so I won't be buying one of those any time soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2008

17th Jun 2008, 08:20

Sorry but it's my first time on this forum.

I have a big problem with the transmission. In automatic the second speed is to slow to change.

Can you tell me if there is an adjustment or is it broken?

This is a 1998 Quest... Thanks.

30th Jul 2008, 13:21

I read a review from Consumer Reports online that the van has slow pickup in that range. The van probably is built this way. I hope that helps.

Here is the link to the reviews.

http://consumerguideauto.howstuffworks.com/1999-to-2002-nissan-quest.htm

25th Nov 2011, 10:38

My wife and I had a '99 for about 3 years. It was a little cheap feeling. Never had a problem other than the timing belt broke. No damage to the motor. Took me a week to replace the belt, working on the van after work. Pain in the back side to replace.

I also added a rear sway bar from a GLE. The GXE did not come with one. The handling was really good for a van.

We ended up selling it for a Volvo wagon. The Quest has two flaws. No cargo room with everyone in the van. The other is safety. Very poor test results.

1999 Nissan Quest GLE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

Axle at 80,000.

Starter at 5,000.

A/C at 10,000.

Master cylinder at 50,000.

Electrical system at 62,000.

Radio at 42,000.

Passenger back door 52,000.

Transmission at 69,000.

Sun roof at 32,000.

C/V joint at 31,000.

All lights over time.

Defroster at 36,000.

Fan belt 4 times.

Windshield wiper arms.

Ignition system at 75,000.

General Comments:

This is the most unreliable car I have ever had. It is nothing, but trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2003

4th Jun 2004, 12:14

I have owned several Nissan's. All have had from above average to superb reliability. This vehicle is not perfect, I have heard of electrical problems and brake problems. This litany of complaints, however, amazing - its almost too much to believe; - a starter at 5K, transmission at 69k (a strong point for Nissan's), 4 van belts in about 75k miles (???) + all the others; it's a bit too much.

16th Feb 2005, 11:04

I read on this list that the Nissan Quest is built by FORD. I thought it was the other way. Someone let me know!Howard.Allen@fairchildsemi.com.

I was considering buying one of these because I had heard some good things. But if it is made by Ford I think I will stick with Dodge!!

20th Mar 2005, 02:45

Umm, just in case you're wondering, this car is actually built by FORD (in case you have never noticed that the Quest looks almost identical to the Mercury Villager (introduced in the late 80s) - both share the same framework, etc.).

7th Oct 2008, 17:01

CLARIFICATION: The engine on both the Quest and Villager is a NISSAN ENGINE, not Ford. Visit the link below:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_Quest

1999 Nissan Quest GXE 3.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Lot of value for the money

Faults:

OEM tires were only good for 34,000 miles.

Passenger air bag cover started rattling in 3rd year of ownership.

New battery in 4th year.

New front brakes at 50,000 miles.

Wiper/turn signal stalk recall.

Tail lamp harness recall.

Throttle body started sticking after 60,000 miles.

Ground clearance could be better.

General Comments:

Very comfortable ride.

Peppy and decent mileage (19 to 24 mostly).

Hasn't broken down yet.

Good ergonomics.

Sliding rear seat track works well. Versatile for cargo or people hauling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2002

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 3 reviews