1998 Nissan QX Reviews

1998 Nissan QX SEL 3.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Excellent value for money as long as you don't mind the high depreciation

Faults:

Hard to start from cold, the engine requires high revving to ensure it fires properly.

Cruise control ceased to work recently (February 2004), closely followed by the engine cutting out after 5 or 6 miles/8 or 10 minutes driving from cold. Local dealership so far unable to determine the problem.

Paint work is beginning to show signs of age, not brilliant after only 6 years.

General Comments:

Was going to buy a Mercedes E Class, but couldn't justify the additional outlay for a car that had less in the way of driver comforts (OK then gadgets).

Notwithstanding the recent problems the car is extremely comfortable for long distances and has plenty of power for overtaking, even at highish speeds.

Engine tends to use a fair amount of petrol around town, probably no more than 12/13 miles to the gallon. However, 25/26 mpg is achievable on long motorway runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2004

1998 Nissan QX SE 2.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 220

Summary:

Superb cruiser

Faults:

Nothing at all has gone wrong with the car.

It has a slight creak from the driver's 'B-post' trim.

General Comments:

Incredibly well built value-for-money car.

Engineering is of a very high standard, with a very smooth engine and automatic gearbox.

Comfortable seats and powerful and efficient climate control.

Very, very roomy; ideal for carrying five adults.

I'm very disappointed that Nissan have chosen to discontinue this car in the UK, it is a real gem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2003

1998 Nissan QX SE 2.0 V6 24v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 24v Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Brilliant value for money

Faults:

Climate control got VERY hot for no reason (fixed).

Clicking of the timing chain on cold start for a few seconds.

General Comments:

This is a fantastic car. I love it very much. It may have very little style, but it makes up for it in reliability and performance.

The engine is very smooth and there is loads of room inside.

Why spend 50k on a Mercedes when you can get a car that's also nice (except for the badge) for a 3rd of the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

15th Feb 2005, 17:19

Can't say I've had a 'clicking' from the timing chain, just 2 that have jumped on start-up without any warning or rattle, within 1500 miles at 89000 and 87500 miles respectively on the same car. There is no way of checking tensioner wear or adjustment and Nissan give no guidance to dealers. Has cost me a fortune and has now likely consigned my good condition and beloved 2.0 manual to the scrap yard. I'm gutted...

10th Aug 2008, 12:41

I have a 1998 (R) 2.0SE QX V6.

It's not the newest car I've had, nor the quickest, BUT it is the most reliable car I've ever had, and I've been driving since 1968!

I've had mine for 4 years and have never had a prob with it. Nissan are just such reliable motors, it's put together well and the spec is excellent.

There aren't many of these about any more, I was thinking of selling mine purely for something cheaper to run (at best I get about 28-30mpg). But my last MOT stopped me from selling it, sailed through! Even the tester wanted to know if I'd sell it.

Keeping it for good now.

1998 Nissan QX SEL 2.0 litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired116320 miles
Most recent distance126435 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Superb value and quality, eat your heart out, BMW Man!!

Faults:

It developed a very minor niggle on cold starting, sorted at its service. Never failed to start, though!

General Comments:

Despite the high miles in its 3.5 years, it runs like a new car. This is not my imagination, it really does.

It`s quite a large car, but my wife took to it immediately. The seats are better for her than our previous Rover 200 was, owing to a hip job.

Mid-grey leather and the (fake) wood all add up to a very refined interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

1998 Nissan QX SE 2.0 V6 24v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 24v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carRenault 21

Summary:

A great quality underrated bargain

Faults:

Not impressed with the paint work. The colour is jet black, and when cleaned looks very, very impressive. Problem is the paint is very likely to chip/scratch, and looks bad if not cared for.

General Comments:

Mechanically and electrically very sound. No faults on this car recorded, ever!

The engine and gearbox are smooth and quick.

Looks very impressive, great road presence. Leather in the interior is very hard wearing and comfortable, good looking interior especially in black. Anyone who's been in it says it looks great.

Loads of room also.

Great value for money, go for QX range. Has everything.

Handling is mediocre/average, but not bad for its size. Body roll makes you feel like you're going of the road, but it will definitely keep you stuck to the tarmac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2001

9th Aug 2003, 12:54

Has anybody ever had the bolt to the top alternator mount shear also ever had to change the idler pulley on the drive belt.

1998 Nissan QX SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24450 miles
Most recent distance26500 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Majestic motorway cruiser

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Acres of interior space, two large children and Mother-in-law sit comfortable in the back.

On paper slower than my old Primera, but doesn't feel it.

Fuel economy not brilliant, but then with four airbags, seat belt pretensioners and large crumple zones expect to spend less time in hospital (if at all), so worth it!

Rare, so be prepared to put up with those "What's that" looks.

Basically paid 10K for a two year old motor which would have cost 8K more if it had a BMW badge on it.

Happy as a child in a sweet shop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2000

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews