1983 Nissan Sentra Reviews

1983 Nissan Sentra 1.6L from Puerto Rico

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carVolvo 242

Summary:

Old reliable

Faults:

Timing belt broke once and bent two valves, fixed myself very easily.

Water pump.

Rear shocks.

Carburetor overhauled.

Normal wear items; brake pads, hoses, belts.

General Comments:

Car was in my family since new. It was a white 2 door with the five speed manual with aftermarket A/C, and no power steering and no sway bars or radio.

I added a front sway bar from an 86 hatchback, a nice Pioneer radio with speakers and amps, seat covers and alloy wheels to make it nicer.

Was a charm with gas. 40 MPG! Rode pretty good and handled great after the sway bar was put in. Always started with the first crank, as long as you blipped the throttle once in the morning.

Had two accidents in it, but luckily there were no injuries. Fixed it a bit and kept going.

Sold it in 2004, and still regret it to this day. Bought a 1990 four door this year due to that, LOL. Wish I still had it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2013

1983 Nissan Sentra Standard 1.6 from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

Ideal vehicle

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I have only had this car for a few months, but so far I have loved it. I bought it for $1,000 only because 38mpg was written on the window.

When I bought it the following are the problems with it: the gas meter didn't work, the gas tank door didn't close, there were random rust spots all over it, the dash was cracked, the seats were torn, and the headliner had rips all over it.

The car doesn't get 38mpg, it gets 41. This car is great.

I have fixed up all of the problems except for the rust spots and gas meter. I have also put on rims, a GT Grant steering wheel, and a CD player. Mechanically, this car is just as sound as my 740IL, but more fun to drive, it's a five speed. I bought this car to use as a daily driver and it has lived up to its expectations.

Just for looks, I think I might take off the bumpers and put on some new paint after I fix the rust.

This car is really great. I plan on keeping it as long as possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2005

7th Nov 2005, 06:22

This may sound daft, but would anyone trade in a BMW 7-Series, for a 1983 Nissan Sentra? Unless, they'd been declared bankrupt.

12th Mar 2006, 18:58

That does sound daft, the BMW gets 19 miles to the gallon average, why wouldn't anybody want to save over 900 dollars a year on just gas, let alone the more expensive repairs that most German cars have.

1983 Nissan Sentra 1.3 4 cylinder gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 4 cylinder gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance364000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Absolutely, the best car purchase I've ever made.

Faults:

There has been so little to go wrong with this car, it is truly amazing. I have replaced the clutch once - at around 150,000. The alternator went out a few months back; but there has never been any significant failure with the car.

General Comments:

The reliability of the car has been unbelievable. Now, with 364,000 miles, I still drive it every day in metropolitan traffic; my commute to work one way is 34 miles.

In terms of comfort, it is much better than one would expect. The AC still works - really everything still works on the car except the fuel gauge. It is surprisingly quiet and smooth out on the open road. Around town on rough streets, I get a lot of squeaks inside the car; it almost sounds like many of the joints where the plastic comes together is squeaking.

The other amazing thing about this car is the way it deals with slick roads. I don't know why, but I'm assuming it has something to do with way the weight of the engine is distributed over the front wheels (front wheel drive). But I know there have been many times I've been able to keep driving during heavy rains, or on icy roads, where many other cars were pulled over.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2004

19th Mar 2004, 18:59

These older Nissan Sentras truly are an amazing ownership experience. My 1984 Sentra Wagon has a tiny mileage compared to your vehicle. Currently I am at 154k miles on a 1984 DX Wagon. Rust is almost zero because I am in Texas. I have owned my Nissan from 2002,yet I have put an incredible 33k miles on her in only 18 months of driving. It has been so reliable it was used as a delivery vehicle. I did replace both Front Axles, Carburetor, and upgraded the Mechanical Fuel Pump to an Electric Unit. The Fuel pump upgrade certainly gives a little more acceleration. I regularly change my Oil, and these cars benefit immensely from having Carburetor Cleaner sprayed down the Throat of the Carburetor on a regular basis. Now it needs a Steering rack and some Balljoints. Yet I shall spend the money gladly as I know it has many many Thousands of reliable service left to give me. It make look dated, but at least I will always arrive at my chosen destination while more expensive transportaion lies idle at the roadside due to the latest design fault.I would buy another in a heartbeat.

18th Apr 2011, 11:49

I also owned a 1983 Nissan Sentra.

I bought it new in April 1983. It was a very dependable car until it hit 120,000 miles, then all hell broke loose. It started nickeling and diming me to death. First it needed a rebuilt carburetor, then it needed rear axle boots, then it needed a new clutch, then it needed shocks, etc etc etc.

Finally I sold it and bought a Toyota and couldn't be happier.

1983 Nissan Sentra Wagon 1.6 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Gas Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance431000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Great mileage, reliability and comfort

Faults:

With over 431,000 miles, here are the major repairs.

Fifth gear went out on the transmission twice (once approximately every 200K miles)

The water pump was replaced twice; the valves were replaced after the timing belt tensioner failed at approximately 360,000 miles. The starter was replaced twice and the alternator once.

Also the CV joints were replaced twice.

General Comments:

The car is reliable and still averages 39 mpg with over 431,000 miles on the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2004

4th Mar 2004, 23:23

I also own one of these well engineered Sentra Wagons. I have a 1984 variant. My review is posted here under the heading of Hail The Land Of The Rising Sun.

I am most impressed by the amount of miles you have now done in your vehicle. I have replaced the distributor, carburettor, and the fuel pump has been upgraded to an electric unit. This has given it a little more get up and go. I have also replaced the clutch twice.

If you keep the servicing up, then these vehicles are nigh on unbreakable. The engine is absolutely bulletproof.

Mine resides in Central Texas, so is a rather sun faded shade of Red, although almost rust free. It currently needs a new steering rack, and I will spend the money gladly.

I may drive an unfashionable vehicle, yet I know I will get where I am going to whilst passing more sophisticated machinery that has broken down at the roadside. You simply cannot beat an older rice burner as a day to day workhorse hack.

If you need any further information, email @ martinhunt112@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 4 reviews