1997 Nissan Sentra Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1997 Nissan Sentra GXE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

This is the best car I've ever owned

Faults:

Passenger-side front power window controller no longer works, but window can be powered up or down from driver's control.

Starter lags a bit, especially when very cold.

General Comments:

My wife and I bought this car used, for a second vehicle. It has since become our primary mode of transportation, even though we have a child and our other vehicle is a minivan. The lack of space is more than compensated for in value, reliability and economy. She previously had owned an older model Nissan Sentra (approximately 1987 model), and found it to be extremely reliable, so we didn't hesitate to buy this one even though it was high mileage. A thorough check showed the car had been cared for immaculately, and our experience with it has been a pleasure. A fun car to drive, and one that has made me a believer in Nissan quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2003

4th Nov 2004, 01:10

Caring for the car immaculately is its only hope. trust me.

4th Jun 2005, 22:45

Looks like that guy doesn't know what he's talking about, my Sentra wasn't cared for at all before I got it, and all I did was tune it up and change the oil. Takes a beating and still runs!

11th Jul 2006, 15:18

I do know what I'm talking about. My car is in the shop yet again because of its cheap quality. The car's wheels cannot be aligned properly anymore because the pseudo-metal keeps bending out of place from normal use.

1997 Nissan Sentra GXE 1.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26500 miles
Most recent distance80500 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Inexpensive, but definitely not cheaply made

Faults:

Very minor problems. Windshield wipers only worked intermittently, sometimes stopping mid-swipe. It took two visits to the shop to get it repaired.

Check engine light came on a couple of days after I bought the car, and it was traced to a bad oxygen sensor. Pretty early to go bad, but replaced under warranty, so no problem.

General Comments:

Overall, this has been the greatest car I've ever owned. The reason I had to take it to the shop twice to get the wipers fixed was because the first time, the dealership, Superior Nissan, in Nicholasville, Kentucky was too incompetent to fix something, even though there was a service bulletin from Nissan telling them how to fix it. I had to take it to another dealership to get it fixed, and it was repaired correctly that time.

Since I've had it for nearly two years, those two problems were the only ones I"ve had. I did replace all four tires at 51,000 miles, and have changed the oil every 3-4000 miles. I'm still on the original clutch, with no signs of wear, as well as original front and rear brakes. I do a lot of highway driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2002

4th Nov 2004, 01:11

I get the feeling that the manual sentras for this year are drastically more reliable than the automatics.

1997 Nissan Sentra GXE 1.6 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

Big Fun, Little Price

Faults:

The brakes (including rotors) have had to be replaced twice, but that is probably due to the fact that I live on a steep hill.

Starter currently needs to be replaced because it does not disengage from the fly-wheel quick enough.

General Comments:

I have absolutely loved this car. It gets 34 miles to the gallon and has pretty good power. I recently had the fuel system cleaned and that seemed to boost the power a lot.

The car is sporty and yet inexpensive to take care of.

I do baby this car. I make sure the oil is changed on time, etc. but other than the general maintenance and a few repairs there has been very little cost. I would recommend this car to anyone, as long as it has been taken care of.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

2nd Jul 2003, 19:22

The Sentra deserves to be babied. I just bought my 1997 Sentra from my sister who babied it. It is the best car I have owned since I had the 1978 Datsun 200SX. It is a five speed and I know that I will never own another automatic.

I feel a bond with this car that I have never felt with a Ford or a Buick or a Chevy. My sister sold it to buy a Camrey. Last night, she asked me if she could have the Nissan back.

I said, "No way."

It is a great car. I am pleased with it beyond words.

Marsha.

1997 Nissan Sentra GXE DOHC 1.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission DOHC 1.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Starion

Summary:

A must buy bargain!!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

My Sentra is a great little car, It's good looking, Peppie, And very reliable.

The trunk on these cars is much bigger then it appears on the outside.

What I love the most about this car is the engine, It's very powerful considering it's only a 1.6 liter, On top of that it gets around 30 miles to a gallon!

These cars are also very safe, Mine was recently totaled. I was stopped at a stop light and the woman behind me failed to stop, She hit my poor car at 45 miles an hour. Thank god I was in a Sentra, I had my sister and her children with me, No one was seriously hurt, Just a bit sore.

I'm going to buy a 2002 Sentra this time, I won't own anything else now!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2002

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 19 reviews