1999 Nissan Sentra Reviews

1999 Nissan Sentra GXE-Limited 1.6L GA16DE from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.6L GA16DE Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Bulletproof! Economical. Reliable!

Faults:

When I first got it, the A/C wasn't working - the condenser wouldn't engage. I rarely use A/C anyway, so it didn't bother me and I never got it fixed.

The only other thing that has gone wrong with it since I've owned it, is a bad oxygen sensor. Other than that, it's just the normal wear and tear type things... specifically, tires and brakes.

General Comments:

Although this car is extremely slow, I love the gas mileage and bulletproof reliability!!! We actually bought a 2nd one as another commuter car. In today's world, they were two great investments!!! The MPG in our Armada LE was getting to be a bit much on our wallet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2012

1999 Nissan Sentra GXE Limited Edition 1.6L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

Good "First Car"

Faults:

At 85000 Miles, My transmission stopped working and was replaced (1200 US dollar expense).

I here lot of squeaky noises from interior. And I drive in very good roads.

General Comments:

I drive my car only during week ends and maximum I drive is around 750 miles / month.

But apart from the above issues, the car is good.

Good for commuting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2007

1999 Nissan Sentra gxe from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance248000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

Reliable, Efficient,Low Maintenance

Faults:

Front rotors and brakes wear out a little faster than I am used to. However I do drive the car pretty rough, stop and go as a pizza delivery driver.

Replaced both front CV axles at 238000 miles.

Ceiling cloth has begun to sag all over. Car was ridden many many many miles with the windows down so that may have something to do with it.

General Comments:

Very Reliable. At 248000 miles the transmission finally went out. The motor is still quieter than my 2 other cars which have 60,000 fewer miles on their engines.

The seats are not the most comfortable for long trips. However I am 6'3 and have no trouble fitting in the cabin.

Long steep inclines make the people behind you kind of antsy. My Sentra does not accelerate or maintain speed well on steep uphill grades.

Overall I would recommend this car to anyone who doesn't live in the mountains. 248000 miles of rough service before I put her to pasture.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2007

1999 Nissan Sentra GXE LE 1.6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I hate this car!

Faults:

I hate this car! I have had to replace the alternator 3-4 times already and change the brakes every three months it seems (and they still squeal), the rotors were warped when I bought the car and numerous other little annoyances.

Just recently the car died in the middle of the freeway because of a bad air conditioner compressor pulley.

It also has an oil leak from a bad seal.

General Comments:

I would not recommend buying this car to anyone, at least not this year (1999). There are way too many problems for what is essentially still a relatively new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2005

14th Oct 2005, 21:40

You bought a 1999, this is a page for the 98. Post in the right year.

2nd Jan 2009, 20:03

That's why you should buy brake pads from a Nissan dealer!!! Cheap brakes will last 10 times less.

22nd May 2010, 08:21

I owned a 1999 Sentra that my parents sold me when they bought a new vehicle. It has 85,000 on the dash and my parents never had a problem with it mechanically. At about 100,000 miles I had to replace the alternator. I recently lost the car in an accident. The worst part for me was having to let it go.

1999 Nissan Sentra SE-L 2.0L SR20DE from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L SR20DE Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

The Sentra is probably the most underrated sport compact out there; a pleasure to own and drive

Faults:

Clicking noises from unknown source, front interior.

Plastic dust shield in front wheel well was loose. I had to cut it off.

Front passenger's side power window very slow to operate compared with other windows.

Windshield prone to chipping.

General Comments:

At over 100,000 miles and still in operation, I have been impressed with the reliability of my 2.0L Sentra. This is especially impressive because I am an aggressive driver and like to floor the pedals, slam the brakes, and tear through the gears with joy.

About two thirds of my driving is done on local, stop-and-go roads, and this fact only adds to my positive experience.

Take into mind that I have performed all regular recommended maintenance on my SE-L and am quite anal about it. I keep spreadsheets, records of all labor and parts paid for, and contact information in an organized filing system.

I also have taken the time to do lots of on-line research with other 2.0L Sentra owners/communities, so as to familiarize myself with the engine, chassis, ownership experience, etc. I am an enthusiast for this body-style Sentra (1995-1999).

Lastly, I have had aftermarket modifications done on my Sentra, both cosmetic and performance-related. These include: short throw shifter, stiffer sway-bars, semi-metallic brake pads, racing-type header, and aftermarket stereo/CD unit. I also use synthetic oil, brake fluid, and transmission fluid to prolong life of the parts and prevent damage with my agressive driving style.

Driving and owning this car has been an unbelievable blast! It's nice to own an economical, sporty compact that not everyone knows about. It's low profile and reliable. Everyone else can keep their Corollas and Civics!

I know owners who have taken their Sentras (1991-1999 body/engine style) to about 250,000 with regular maintenance. I would not hesitate to buy another car in this year or earlier. I have heard too many negative experiences with later model years, however, and would not purchase those.

I plan on keeping this car until it dies, and after wards will try to find another 1998-1999 Sentra with the 2.0L engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th September, 2004

12th May 2006, 20:54

My 1999 Sentra Se-L has 218,000 miles on it. Still fast and still a blast.

20th Aug 2006, 22:05

I don't have the 2.0 SE, but I do own the 1.6 gx3 4dr. Yeah, I know it's not as fast as the 2.0, but still I can still keep up. 3/4 of the mileage is all freeway miles. I love my car just as much as I love my other cars. It's good and very reliable.

1999 Nissan Sentra GXE Limited Edition 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired61100 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Faults:

It's hard going from a V-6 3.0 down to a 1.6 4 cylinder.

Car easily gets rock chips into the windshield.

General Comments:

So far the car has been a very good.

The car has easy maintenance, high gas mileage.

The car a little uncomfortable for a 6'1" guy.

I love the gas mileage on this car v. the V6, since gas prices are at $2.00+ a gallon right now.

At this time I wrote this, I have had the car only 4 months and am still going through the transition of going from being used to a V6 down to this 4 cylinder which less power, I am slowly getting used to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2004

1999 Nissan Sentra GXE Ltd. from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

A great commuter or first car

Faults:

Never done anything to the car expect normal maintenance. Front brake shoes and tires.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned. I wouldn't hesitate a moment to buy another or recommend it. The 40MPG on interstate was the best feature!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews