2003 Nissan Sentra GXE 1.8L from North America


Nothing really except normal maintenance.

Changed brake pads and rotors at 95000 miles.

General Comments:

VERY reliable car.

Cheap to own, very good gas mileage (35-36 on the highway).

It's a very good little car for the price (I bought it for 9500 in 2004).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2008

2003 Nissan Sentra SE-R 2.5 from North America


I would never buy one again


This 2003 Nissan Sentra SE-R has had two O2 sensors replaced first one approx. 20000 Kms.

The Hydraulic Clutch cylinder was replaced at 50000 Kms.

The crankshaft position sensor was originally replaced in 2006 when Nissan did a recall on this sensor, it lasted 4 years and was still working great. After two more years in Nov. 2008 the replaced crankshaft sensor failed and left me $337 out of pocket. I just wanted my old one back and I would be that much richer.

The car was always hard to start and Nissan replaced the starter and harness because they said the computer was not sensing the engine turning over fast enough, (this was another recall). After the replaced starter and harness, the car still does not start that well. It is very sporadic in the way it chooses to start, some times especially cold it will start right up and other times when it has been driven a few miles it just cranks over and over.

General Comments:

The car seating is very uncomfortable on longer drives, but the suspension is very stiff and it rides harshly. Taller drivers will feel uncomfortable in this cabin. The transmission tunnel seems to leave you with little leg room.

The engine seems to be quite decent but the electrics are another story, they just seem to be always breaking down. This car is very quick but the gearing between 1st and second gear is very close.

I was getting to think the SES light was supposed to be on all the time because it is rare that it is off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th November, 2008

2003 Nissan Sentra SE-R 2.5L from North America


I've had my Se-R spec-v for a couple of months.

One thing I've noticed on it is the excessive amount of oil consumption. I check my oil every four days and add a liter of oil every week.

Every time I go over 3500 rpm my car starts to make a noise and continues until I shift.

This happens in every gear (5)

I just recently came across this website and I'm obviously not the only one, I guess its the pre-cat getting too hot and getting sucked up into the engine. etc.

Do the dealers fix this problem?

Or is it something I'm going to have to deal with?

General Comments:

Other than this, I like the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2008

2003 Nissan Sentra SE-R SPEC V 2.5L from North America


Very poor manufacturing quality


Very high Oil Consumption

Car ate the butterfly screws (power valve) and also the plate.

General Comments:

Very nice car, very bad built quality, does not last due to manufacturing defects. Very expensive to try to fix, not even dealer knows what is wrong with it, completele misdiagnosed the problem even when advised of power valve issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2007

2003 Nissan Sentra SER 2.5 from North America




Oil Consumption Problem started at 90,000 km.

General Comments:

Fed up with the engine, and all of the problems. 2 litres of oil per 800 km. Outragous. I can not believe how many problems people have had with this issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2007

2003 Nissan Sentra SE-R Spec V 2.5L I4 from North America


My 2nd, and LAST Nissan... DON'T BE A VICTIM!


Trunk seal (warranty).

Clutch sticks (dealer could not replicate, see below).

Intermittent turn signal issues (same as above).

Heat shield fell off of engine after recall (fixed myself, I was fed up with the dealer).

Severe engine malfunction (no resolution).

Heavy oil consumption; 1 qt every 3-400 miles (no resolution).

Engine control module died at 75mph (out of pocket).

Worn interior - seats, shift knob, trim panels.


General Comments:

I own a 2003 Nissan Lemon, I mean Sentra SE-R Spec V. It now has 93,000 miles on it.

I wanted to kick myself for trading in my 1992 240SX for this car. I traded it in with nearly 240,000 miles on it, and it still ran very well. Over the life it needed maintenance, an electronic speedometer (which was NOT cheap) and tires. I actually felt great about buying a new Nissan.

Around 23,000 miles, I hit a pothole which flattened my tire. Upon retrieving my spare out of the trunk, I realized it was nearly full of water from the rain that week. I took it to the dealer to have the seal replaced. It took several days to receive the car back, and I was told that they do not hand out loners or rentals. I had to borrow a car from my parents for the time it was in the dealership. I was only 20 at the time, and the service advisers continuously made me feel like a punk kid when I walked in, even though I considered myself very well spoken and polite.

I received a letter for a recall, with the hangers on the catalytic converter possibly causing an engine fire, and reprogramming the computer to fix a problem with the catalytic converter overheating. Once again, several days without a vehicle. When I got the vehicle back, it had a terrible rattle. In the recall, it said that the converter should be inspected for damage as it may cause heavy oil consumption. It was never pulled off the car.

3 weeks later, I find the heat shield sitting in the engine bay OFF the engine. I bolted it back on, and just forgot about it. It wasn't worth the trouble of telling them how stupid they were, I was just a dumb kid to them anyway.

I took the car to the dealer because the turn signals were acting up, and the clutch would stick after extended driving. Same story... several days, "hitch a ride buddy". They said they could not reproduce either problem, and nothing was done. My car had 1 mile more than when I left it with them. At that point, I decided the car would NOT see the dealership again.

At 63,000 miles, I noticed that the car was burning oil more heavily than I was used to.

At 79,000, I started to see that I was putting a quart of oil in the car about once every 2 weeks.

I started this ordeal at 91,000:

I called the 800-Nissan 1 number to report that my car burns a quart of oil every 300-400 miles. When I called, they notified me that there were 2 open recalls on the car, and they would get the dealer to run diagnostics as to why it's burning so much oil. The two recalls involved a computer reprogram and removing a foam surrounding the computer. Okay, we're off on the right foot.

I took it to the dealership, they provided me a rental mainly because it was primarily recall work. I had the car back the next day. The service adviser (REALLY cool guy) said they had to change the oil to start the "oil consumption test", and to bring it back in either 700 miles or when it's a quart low.

ONE WEEK LATER (to the hour of getting it back) : I am driving to work at 75 mph to keep up with Charlotte traffic and not get run over. The engine stalled, and would not start back. I had it towed back to the same dealership, and they tell me that the computer is not responding to anything they do to it. It shows no signs of being fried, just stopped working. The service adviser said he tried to get Nissan to possibly assist the repair, but he was shot down at minute 1. I told him I would call Nissan myself. Rental car? HAHAHAHA! No.

I call them upon leaving the dealership. It takes a couple days for them to respond to me. Finally they do asking me where I took the car to get it serviced. "I'll call you back in a little bit".

I get the phone call in 2 days. They say there is nothing they are going to do about the car because it's supposedly 50,000 miles past the warranty period. Wouldn't this be covered under power train, making it 30,000 miles out of warranty? Also, didn't it break a week after your dealership messed with it?

They want a second opinion. I'll get a call back in a few more days. The MLK holiday passes, still without a car, and I get the same response back. I've already ordered a used computer from a scrap yard. I'm so mad about it already that my temperature rises a few degrees when I even hear the words Nissan, or Sentra, or computer. "The two are not related, so we will not be in position to provide assistance. Had the problem happened before the recall was done, we might could". So a problem surfaces, that's recall related 1 week after the recall work is performed? He keeps trying to tell me how simple and petty the work they did to the car was, and how it could not be related. Isn't that why the car was recalled? If it was so petty, why was it RECALLED!?

I haven't even gotten started on the oil problem yet, I'm still trying to get past the whole computer ordeal right now. As for Nissan, my lover was driving me around the week and a half that I waited for my car. We spent a lot of boredom time looking at what might be the "next car". Needless to say that Frontier he wanted is now out of the question.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2007

25th Mar 2007, 23:17

This sums up my 02 SE-R experience. Constant problems, I traded it in with under 70,000 miles just as the head gasket began to go.

5th Apr 2007, 11:40

Yup, that's what happens when car manufacturers move there assembly facilities to Mexico. Owned a 2000 Sentra and it was total garbage. I traded my 1996 Corolla for the Sentra. Just traded in the Sentra for a used 2002 Chevy Cavalier and up to now the Cavalier is a dream compared to the Sentra. I guess we are proof that even Japanese car makers have issues, especially when they try to pass off this Mexican made piece of junk as a Japanese car. I do have to agree with the reviewer, STAY AWAY FROM THIS JUNK!!!!!!!!!