2008 Nissan Sentra Reviews

2008 Nissan Sentra 2.0 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired700 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Great car for a good price

Faults:

I have no complaints about the car yet. I've had it for about 4 months now, and it runs like a charm.

General Comments:

Great performance. It feels great to drive, very tight. Very stable on the snow. Beautiful interiors, big trunk.

I drove many cars before buying this Sentra, I was part of one of those car co-ops and got a chance to drive a Mazda 3, Honda Fit, Corolla, Pontiac G5, and I must say the Sentra is a great car for its value, and much better than its competitors. 100 % recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2009

17th Jun 2009, 14:48

The Mazda 3 drives a lot better than the Sentra. I'm not arguing whether it's a better car or not, but the 3 drives way better than the Sentra and is far more refined and sporty. Read the reviews if you don't believe me.

29th Jan 2010, 10:50

I drove both cars, Mazda 3 and Sentra. They feel pretty much the same to me, but the Sentra has a lower price. Better price for same value.

3rd Nov 2010, 17:36

The Mazda3 may run a bit better, but I was able to get a 2010 Spec V with 200 horses for a great price. What a deal... plus, the new styling of the 3's is really weird to me. I don't want my car grinning creepily all the time.

17th Dec 2010, 17:22

I agree with the Mazda 3's front end looks. I don't care for the grin. The old design looked much better. It's still a good car, though.

26th Dec 2010, 20:58

The Nissan Sentra has a much more comfortable and roomy rear seat than the Mazda 3. It can also be had for a lower price, and is better value.

5th Oct 2012, 23:19

This is the third transmission installed on my 2008 Nissan Sentra.

After 67,672 miles, the first one broke down, where the car had to be towed 95 miles to the Nissan dealer.

The second one broke down at 68,845, only 2 weeks after getting it back, 173 miles. Nissan extended their warranty on this CVT transmission, because of the problems, from 5 years 60,000 miles to 10 years 120,000 miles.

Since the transmission broke down at 7,672 miles from the initial warranty, the BBB advised the Lemon law cannot be applied since it is after the initial warranty 5 years 60,000 miles, even though it was extended. Nissan, being aware of this, will not buy back the vehicle, but just keeps replacing the transmissions until 10 years 120,000 miles. The CVT transmissions on this car keep burning up where they no longer work. It is very unsafe and unreliable to take on any long trips. They are aware of this problem, and just keep replacing it with rebuilt transmissions. Buyers beware!!!

2008 Nissan Sentra 2.0 2.0 liter from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10500 miles
Most recent distance10710 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Fun, peppy, reliable

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car so far, have only had it for 2 days.

General Comments:

This car is very peppy. 2.0 liter packs a punch. Does not feel as though you are driving as fast as you really are.

CVT Transmission is very smooth.

Great on gas. 30+ per gallon.

Love the dash, digital gas and engine temp. gauge. Also love the orange glow of the lights.

Only thing noticed is that the rear windshield is very small to see out of with the rear view mirror due to the shape of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2008

Average review marks: 9.1 / 10, based on 2 reviews