2002 Nissan Sentra SE-R Spec-V from North America - Comments

25th Mar 2006, 18:19

The gas pedal sticks to the floor???

LOL, that's not very good... Especially with a lightweight 180hp car LOL.

4th Apr 2006, 23:58

I have a SE-R SPEC V 03 and the car holds strong even after 76000 miles in 3 years. I ask a lot of this car and the only complaint I could have is that it has a strange noise in the transmission once in a while. Other than that, it is still strong and useful.

5th Apr 2007, 11:51

I can understand why your having so many problems; the Sentra is assembled in Mexico. Not that it makes them all automatically bad, but compared to other Nissan models assembled in Japan or the United-States, the Sentra has had more recalls (nothing to major).

5th Jul 2007, 18:48

I bought a 2002, SER Spec-V which I have owned for one year. My car has 73,000 miles and has been through five mass air-flow sensors. At 61,000 miles I spun a rod bearing and had to get the motor replaced. My car has been to the service department seven times, three of which have been engine problems. Now my car is in service again due to overheating. I was told today that the engine has to be replaced again! I bought this car without doing any research and regret ever purchasing it. My car has spent more time in the shop than I have been able to enjoy it. My dome light and sunglass holder is broken, the a/c control lights turn on and off, and I also hear a strange noise coming out of the transmission. The service department claims they cannot hear anything. Also, the interior pieces keep falling off. I have two other friends that went out and bought two Spec-V's shortly after I bought mine. One is currently getting his engine torn down for overheating. The other one did some research and found out how many problems he had coming his way, took his tax money, put $3,000 into his car and traded it in. It was a shame for him to have taken such a great lost. The only good thing about all of this is that he got rid of it right before his warranty expired.

18th Aug 2007, 14:14

I have a 2002 Nissan Sentra Spec-V... I have had more problems with this car then any car I have ever owned.

I got it used, and not 1 month later had it in for service... the place I bought it from does not work on Nissan's, so it went to the Nissan dealership. The car was overheating.

1 Month later back in the shop again with the same problem.

2 months later back in again, this time they replaced the head-gasket.

4 months later back in again; losing oil some how.

2 months later back in again.

Nissan took the motor apart, then told me that they would not cover the problem (now the car was under factory warranty till the last 2 times it went in, but they never fixed the problem).

I bought a used engine with 6000 miles on it and had a shop rebuild it and put it in. Drove great for about 4 months... then problems started up again. Now the car starts and shut itself off...

I am done with this car now... I am paying for it to get fixed and trading it in. Now I have about 16 friends in florida that have Spec-V's and they all run great. It seems that there are crappy running, problematic Sentras out there, and I got the worst one in my area.

For me I will never buy a Nissan again... this experience has tainted me from ever owning a Nissan again.

So I say good luck to anyone who buys a Nissan Sentra... they're not all bad, but you are rolling the dice when you buy one...

23rd Sep 2007, 12:05

I have a 2003 Nissan Sentra Se-R Spec-V with about 60,000 miles on it and I could honestly stand behind and it say that there is absolutely nothing wrong with it. I've installed a short ram air intake to get me up to about 185 horsepower and next is a new set of headers with a full down pipe. Then I will be able to take a Acura Rs-X type S. I can still take those damn cars, but yeah. Never been to the shop (thank GOD) I do my own oil change and brakes and rotor change and everything else. One thing though, the interior does wanna fall apart, my arm rest on the passanger side won't stay put and the clip broke so now when people get in, they pull on that and the whole unit comes off haha I love it. Overall a great car and I would recommend it. Thanks.

10th Jan 2008, 09:08

I have a 2003 SE-R spec v with 35,000 miles. I bought it used and have had it for 3 months so far. it has been to the Nissan dealer once already. I am getting ready to put in the 2nd mass air flow sensor today. that's 2 failures in 3 months! the glove box won't stay in place, the dome light works when it wants to, and when I down shift into 3rd...I get a grinding noise. Other than that, its been an OK car. if I had the chance to do it all over again... I wouldn't.

20th Jan 2008, 10:09

Hi, I own a 2002 Nissan Sentra SE-R (not spec V) I love this car. I put 111,000 miles on it in 41/2 years. I drove the hell out of it. It had to have the catalytic converter replaced, and I had to get the computer replaced, and although it's been driving rather nicely because of the milder weather, the trans started to slip recently, it struggles, to get into a higher gear sometimes (depending on the time of day) and my engine light is on. It also seems to be burning oil. I dump a few quarts into it when I hear the engine screaming. It sometimes takes a few times to start it... but I still love the car. I test drove a corolla, and compared to my car, even with all that is wrong with it, still has better pick up, and is prettier to look at. I found both the 2008 civic and corolla base models (1.8 liter engines) to be slow. I plan on taking my Sentra to get one last diagnosis to see if they can fix all that is wrong with it. And if so, I will keep my sentra 2002 SE-R. I've seen the more recent redesign, of the sentra. I wouldn't buy it because I think the 2002 is more appealing to look at.

1st Feb 2008, 17:50

Hi, I own a 2002 Nissan SE-R Spec V with 60,000 miles on it. Great car, lots of power.

I change the oil every 2000 miles. It has never been to the dealer for any problems. Great car.

7th Nov 2008, 12:21

I own a 2004 SE-R Spec V with about 39,000 miles on it... I was unaware of all the problems that a lot of people are having with them, however I have no complaints about the car... it's fast enough to have fun with, but not get in trouble... my only complaint is the shifter is stiff every once in a while...