1993 Nissan Serena Reviews

1993 Nissan Serena FX Vanette 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Almera

Summary:

Better than most

Faults:

I bought an Import 2.0 Nissan Serena FX Vanette Petrol about a year ago now. I never had any problems with it until the Back Box Exhaust fell off a month ago. I have looked for one in all the scrap yards and salvages in my region with no luck. The main dealers want £320 for this. Is there any cheaper way I can sort this problem out? I would appreciate the help.

My 2nd question is regarding the air conditioning, it never seems to cool down and get cold like my last car used to. The maximum temperature it will go down to is 18 degrees, I've had the coolant and air conditioning fluid changed, but it still dosen't feel like the air conditioning is working properly.

General Comments:

The car is a beautiful drive compared to most other MP-V's. I find the drivers position is extremely comfortable compared to others such as the Renault Espace. The 4 Wheel drive holds the road well and being an import it has all the extras such as front and rear air conditioning and twin sunroofs. The drivers seat could have been designed to be bulkier and more of a Captain type seat. The car is heavier on the juice than most vehicles, but overall a comfortable drive non the less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2007

1993 Nissan Serena FX 2.0TD from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0TD Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

I'll keep it till it gives up

Faults:

Recon alternator 60000 mls.

4 new tyres.

New front brake pads.

New battery.

General Comments:

Really reliable, it has never let me down.

Flexible. I use all 8 seats for family outings, like a van for DIY and trips to the tip with the back seats folded up.

30-35 mpg.

I love this motor. The only problem is when it does go wrong (rarely I might add) I have to hunt for the spares because it's a grey import.

Latest problem is the exhaust (which has lasted the four years that I have had the car) but I can't get a replacement anywhere, until today. LONGLIFE 08706003133 will fabricate and fit in stainless steel with a lifetime guarantee for £329.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th August, 2006

1993 Nissan Serena FX 2.0 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 kilometres
Most recent distance172000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Applause

Summary:

Excellent family transporter

Faults:

Top radiator hose split (fixed with no engine damage. 85000 km

Alternator belt broke and displaced the other 2 belts wt the same time. 120000km

Sway bar link rubbers worn causing annoying squeak from front end 160000 km

Torque converter hub striped at 165000 km.

General Comments:

The handling is fine for a family waggon and it tows well if there is not a lot of load imposed on the tow bar.

I have serviced the engine regularly and as a result fount problems and fixed them before they caused problems. In spite of the list of repairs I rate it as very reliable economical to own. We seriously pack the van and often tow a trailer away on holiday. Its not the fastest up the hills, but is very acceptable on the flat. Drivers seat not so comfortable now, but the interior is standing up well to family abuse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2006

1993 Nissan Serena slx 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance97569 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

This is not a Multi Purpose Vehicle,just a complete disappointment.

Faults:

My engine blew at 96000.

Exhaust lamber sensor burnt out.

Front anti-roll bar bushes failed.

Exhaust gaskets needed replacing.

General Comments:

This car is cheaply put together and very unreliable.

Safety seems to take a back seat for this vehicle, as it scores very low on crash testing statistics.

Fuel consumption is very heavy.

The overall ride of the vehicle scores low marks as it suffers to much body roll and becomes a problem to handle in high winds.

Parts for this vehicle are very expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

1993 Nissan Serena LX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carProton Persona

Summary:

Absolutely SENSATIONAL! Reliable, sturdy: superb paint-work: not a scratch on my L reg workhorse!

Faults:

Wheel bearings seem to be rumbling somewhat!

General Comments:

Although the Serena DOES seem a little 'lightfooted' in dry OR wet conditions, my 1.6 is VERY fast even when fully laden

We use it as a business and recreational vehicle: the speed with which the seats can be folded puts it in a class WELL above ALL other MPVs (I have experience of Galaxy, Xsara Picasso, Merc and VW MPVs!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2002

1993 Nissan Serena FX 2.0 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 kilometres
Most recent distance71000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Great family wagon

Faults:

Nothing as yet.

General Comments:

Excellent value as a large family wagon.

Excellent economy for the size, 35mpg touring.

Great equipment with twin climate-control air-con and electric everything else.

Surprisingly powerful for a small diesel. Can comfortably cruise and overtake at 100 km/h.

With the engine set well back in the chassis, it is a great deal more sure-footed than the height and narrow track would suggest. Not a sports car but just fine for general use.

Down-sides: Eight seat belts are a bit optimistic; it is a comfortable 6 seater. The dickey seat is only good for short trips. The front seats aren't that supportive on a longer trip The engine is noisy with an annoying boom around 90km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2001

16th Dec 2001, 17:02

It had to be too good to be true. The cam belt broke ahead of schedule completely wrecking the head and valve gear. Ignoring the 6 week battle I had with MTF insurance to get this paid for; I learned that this model does have a nasty little design feature.

The engine bay (under the seats) is so cramped that Nissan fitted the engine with a secondary belt off the back of the camshaft to drive the injector pump. In their wisdom they also printed the timing marks on the belt. These wear off in time. So, if your mechanic lost the timing when he removed the head, there is no option but to replace the belt with a new one. Of course, this is twice as expensive as an ordinary one and it wasn't covered under the above policy.

All in all this repair cost nearly $3000!

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews