1987 Nissan Skyline Reviews

1987 Nissan Skyline ti 3.0 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60 kilometres
Most recent distance580000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Absolutely fantastic

Faults:

Thermo fan replaced under warranty.

Alternator and power steering pump replaced at 400,000km.

General Comments:

580000 kilometers before it retired, mostly dirt and corrugated roads in outside temperatures up to 50 degrees Celsius. Never missed a beat.

Handled the road beautifully, extremely comfortable, 250 kmh without a problem. Beyond its time.

Have just purchased another 1987 ti Skyline, one owner and under 100000 km, always garaged, excellent condition, been looking since 1997.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2010

1987 Nissan Skyline TI 3.0 straight six from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 straight six Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

One of the great cars of all time

Faults:

Other than the power steering reservoir losing fluid, this car has had absolutely no problems in my 8 years of ownership. This was a very minor problem, which has been present for many years, and has used less than 100mL of replacement fluid over the time.

No other problems, other than regular servicing.

General Comments:

This has to be one of the most reliable cars ever built. It held up well to years of daily driving and a large amount of kilometers. The car never broke down, and other than regular maintenance, has driven flawlessly.

The car is quite quick, despite its age, and is one of the best handling cars of its or subsequent generations.

If your are looking for years of happy trouble free motoring, this is the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2008

15th Oct 2008, 06:38

I'm going to buy one for $500. If you were selling yours for that much, what could you tell me to make me buy it?

1987 Nissan Skyline Excel 1.8 Ca18s twinspark from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Ca18s twinspark Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 kilometres
Most recent distance1076000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Cefiro

Summary:

My lovable snail

Faults:

Brakes went mysteriously one day, only one side at front failed, repaired by replacing front pads.

Engine given up the ghost (2nd time) the other day.

General Comments:

This has to be despite what is written above, the most reliable car I've ever owned. The mileage was genuine "wound back" and was closer to 120000 not 79000 when I bought it according to the service sticker in the glove box.

I bought it dirt cheap from in a desperate situation from a dealer ($3000) I was expecting 6 months out of it max. You can imagine my amazement that I still have it.

The engine went once a couple of years ago after pretty much being ignored since I bought it, and went again the other day. (bit of a mystery this time)

The 1800cc motor is definitely very SLOW and is best for around town and motorway cruising, that being said, I've travelled the length and breadth of the North Island in it.

Very comfortable and stylish (if somewhat retro now) interior, everything still goes, even the air conditioning.The bodywork has stood up to the test of time very well, no rust and the paint is still attractive after six years without a garage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

1st Jul 2004, 01:03

I think you may find that a skyline does not have a 1.8L that is a pintara, maybe it is a skyline with a pintara engine in it.

Regards.

16th Jul 2004, 04:43

This review was from New Zealand which never had the Pintara although it had the Bluebird which is not really the same car. This car sounds like it was imported used from Japan which could explain the clocked speedo. If it was, the Japanese domestic models usually have smaller motors than the NZ/Australian models.

1987 Nissan Skyline GX RB30E from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission RB30E Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired227000 kilometres
Most recent distance227500 kilometres

Summary:

A brilliant, high performance, reliable sedan

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong with my car so far. When I first got it the Diff was making a whining noise. I soon however found out that this was a common Skyline problem and is not too difficult to fix.

Also, the brakes on the car are not exactly brilliant. The brake pedal is difficult to press, and therefore I have to be careful when braking.

Several minor problems have also occurred, such as the windscreen seal deteriorating, leading to a wet passenger seat, and a slightly worn clutch making gear changes slightly jerky.

General Comments:

This car absolutely flies, easily reaching 160kmh. If it weren't for the car in front of me, it would have gone a lot faster.

The interior is slightly cramped, however it is still very comfortable and easily seats four.

My car in particular is fitted with a sports exhaust system. I highly recommend such an upgrade as it has dramatically increased the performance of my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2003

18th Sep 2012, 04:54

I bought an 87 Skyline 8 months ago, and I love it. The only thing I've had to replace is the radiator cap due to it rusting out. It runs very well for a car of its age.

I drove it from Karratha to Perth with no hitches; it sat on 140 all the way...

Overtaking was exciting too; speeds of 160kph, and still wanted to go loads more. Love my car!

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews