1991 Nissan Stanza Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1991 Nissan Stanza XE 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cylinder Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance161029 miles

Summary:

The best $750 investment my dad made for me yet

Faults:

Runs really rough when cold. In the morning, I have to step on the gas a little when I start it or it will just die; which just doesn't seem right with fuel injection.

I replaced the clutch not too long after I got it, but that's kinda expected after 145,000 miles.

When running at idle or slow speeds (rush hour) for any length of time it overheats. I replaced the radiator, water pump, and thermostat, but no difference-oh well.

Both front CV boots are torn and need to be replaced. Because of that, I'll probably have to replace my half shafts.

Now, the suspension is really loose and makes it easy to get out of control at higher speeds.

A motor mount is shot so the engine moves around way more than it should.

General Comments:

When my dad bought this car for me a few years ago, I laughed at him and the car. Now that I have been driving it for a few years and know a lot more about it, I totally underestimated this car.

My car is completely stock and I can take on most Honda's that are not V-Tech - they underestimate me too. I also beat a 1st gen Eclipse to my surprise.

I have really neglected it and pushed it to its limits (130 mph) and it is still running strong.

Good daily driver, cruiser, and racer:) all in one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

11th Apr 2003, 12:13

The whole car seems to vibrate when I go at slow speeds, stop at a light, or park. It seems that the engine is shaking violently. What is the cause of that?

27th Mar 2004, 21:45

It could just be your motor mounts. I would have those checked because after you totally wear out them, your CV joints are next.

15th Nov 2004, 08:08

Try tightening your throttle cable if the shutter is from a low idle.

21st Aug 2009, 21:44

Same here. I am going to have to replace my engine mount as well according to my mechanic, otherwise the car runs great.

1991 Nissan Stanza XE KA24E 2.4L 138HP 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission KA24E 2.4L 138HP 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired129890 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

A Sleeper Hit

Faults:

Distributor cap and wiring became corroded. Car idled roughly and didn't start willingly. Previous owner says this happened about 2 or 3 years ago as well.

Parked outdoors for two weeks, brake drums, etc, became rusted. Previous owner replaced before sale.

General Comments:

The Stanza is considered to be a sleeper. Though it looks like many other sedans from the early 90's (Ford Tempo, Toyota Corolla) it will definitely blow them all away.

Very peppy and handles well.

Tighter suspension allows it to be much more maneuverable and feel less sluggish than the Dodge I used to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

1991 Nissan Stanza XE 2.4L 4-Cyclinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4-Cyclinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles

Summary:

A great perfoming car at low costs.

Faults:

When my mother bought me this car for my sixteenth birthday nothing was wrong with the car. I put nearly 50 thousand miles on the car in two year and the only major problem I experienced was the transmission just went out. Some minor problems were c/v boots and now I'm experiencing hard starts on cold mornings. But other than that I haven't had any problems with this car.

General Comments:

Nissan made a good car when they made the Stanza because being a high school student I really didn't take care of the car. All I do is change the oil and that is it, and now that I'm in college the car is lucky to see an oil change. But through all that I put it through it stills runs good and smooth. The interior still looks new, but the outside has a few dings here and there, but it still runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

1991 Nissan Stanza EX 2.4L 4 Cyllinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 Cyllinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance240000 miles

Summary:

A great reliable car. Good performance

Faults:

Air Conditioning Compressor went out. Brakes wear fast, maybe a bad caliper.

Replaced alternator, but it took two years for it to finally go out from when we first knew it was going out.

General Comments:

I have really enjoyed this car. It goes 0-60 in ten seconds (for me.) It has been a great car to use. No major problems minus a couple wrecks. But it was easy to fix and find parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 28 reviews