2000 Nissan Terrano II Reviews

2000 Nissan Terrano II LX TDI 2.7 turbo diesel 125bhp from France

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.7 turbo diesel 125bhp Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

Usual wear and tear such as tyres, shocks, brakes; no problems with that.

Water pump at 130k; I also consider this as wear and tear.

Air flow meter, just cleaned it with extra care so it's good to go.

General Comments:

3 door model, been through the Sahara with it, got back on a Sunday, and Monday morning went back to work with it.

Been through the Pyrenees with it, low range for 10 days, no problem at all.

Been through the Alps during winter, didn't get stuck once in 2 feet of snow.

Got BFG ATs on them, done 40ks with the set, and still looks new.

Do all the maintenance myself, easy to do, just needs time and to be done the proper way. Parts are cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2011

2000 Nissan Terrano II SE 2.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired74500 miles
Most recent distance77400 miles
Previous carVolvo 850

Summary:

Excellent 4x4

Faults:

Nothing at all has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This car is very good. This is the worst winter in 30 years in the UK, and the big Nissan has taken everything in its stride. It has never let me down, and has got me around safely in the worst of the winter weather (which is very bad in northern Scotland where I live).

The car is comfortable, reliable, easy to drive and grips slippery, untreated and deep snow covered roads very well. Also for such a large vehicle, the fuel economy is reasonable and I am getting around 30 mpg when light footing it - which is far better than my previous Volvo.

I would definitely consider this if you are after a 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2010

2000 Nissan Terrano II SE+ 2.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carNissan Terrano II

Summary:

On or Off-Road, the Terrano will get you there!!

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong with this car.

MAF (Mass Air Flow Sensor) failed, but is a well known problem with these cars - quite cheap and simple to replace @ approx £60.

Fuel pipes rust badly above fuel tank; again a common problem - cheap and easy to sort with 3rd party rubber or plastic pipes.

General Comments:

Terrano is an under-rated car for both on and off road use.

It handles well on road, but you do need to remember that you are driving a back wheel drive car (when in 2 wheel drive) that weighs approx 2 tons, so care has to be taken in the wet etc when cornering and braking (no worse than a BMW with rear wheel drive)

Off-road it blows many other rivals away with its low down torque and excellent ground clearance.

All in all a great motor (I've had four of these). I'm sorry to see they have now stopped making them, but there are still lots of second hand bargains out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2007

26th Jan 2010, 15:29

Could you say where you got a MAF for 60 pounds?

2000 Nissan Terrano II 2.7 TDi diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 TDi diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles

Summary:

A rugged vehicle, but more a workhorse, IMO than a luxury tourer

Faults:

My vehicle is an ex fleet car and initially looked in great condition except for the plastic mouldings which is scratched deeply.

Dealer warranty (second hand) replacements:

Both front seats.

Clutch and flywheel, had a dimple on it and had excessive idling noise.

Adjust torsion bars as the vehicle had a tendency to roll aggressively on corners, especially left hand corners (right hand drive) and sometimes even over the central divide, not good.

LCD on dashboard with clock, mileometer, temp gauge trip meter, now I have a new car.. ļ the mileometer is back to zero!!

Lose of power, unknown cause, seems to be fixed.

MI malfunction indicator was the rear break switch indicator.

General Comments:

This is my first vehicle of this class, it has oodles of power and on my first trip out I reached 90MPH (145KM/h), luckily it was tea time and the cops were on a break ~~ but this was impressive performance.

Don¡¦t like the seats at all, and I don't like the low driving position. It is somewhat uncomfortable and as I drive a Transit this puppy is a low down drive for me.

But it is great off road and we've taken it into some deep mud and we have to try really hard to slide. We had to use L range in a recently ploughed field which we did not want to drive though, and the machine lifted itself out rather than drove, if you know what I mean.

It has bags of power, the month we took delivery my Transit, fully loaded with about 1.5 tonne ripped her timing belt and broke three valve stems, but we recovered her with the Terrano ~ we towed the whole lot, van and load as if it was not there ~ the mechanic was seriously impressed ~ as I did not know any different it has taken a while for this to sink in.

I am doing 29/31MPH on diesel, mostly urban cycle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2005

16th May 2006, 02:46

Adding on from this report, an update.

All the problems I described came back, my Nissan Main dealer was not successful in detecting them, my power loss was an Air Flow Meter which they wanted €605 plus fitting ~ EBay got it for €98 and my local mechanic threw it in as a freebie.

My local mechanic also changed out the combined water and freewheeling cog for €300 where the main dealer’s version did not come with the free wheeling cog and was another €300.

My mechanic also changed all the linkages (that my main dealer was supposed to have done already) and rubbers under the steering and my van is like new again.

The new combines clock, speedo that the main dealer replaced less than a year ago is acting up again. My updated is May 06 with 20,000 “new miles” so estimate about 85,000 miles overall mileage.

2000 Nissan Terrano II Elegance Long Wheel Base 2.7 TDI from Portugal

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 TDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 kilometres
Most recent distance47000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Patrol

Summary:

Very nice 4x4, with low costs

Faults:

Wheel alignment was sometimes dificult to keep.

Electric windows were easy to fail, specially front ones.

General Comments:

This 125 hp engine has improved the performance with better consumption then the 100 hp engine.

Although is very roomy the seats, in all 3 rows, are very bad.

Comfort is OK, performance is very good, both on and off road.

With one of the best ABS I've driven, even on dirt roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2004

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews