2006 Nissan Tiida LSR from Singapore - Comments

4th Sep 2006, 10:09

I am a fellow Latio owner at approx 3300KM, I also hear a clunk sound when turning both left and right, not necessarily all the way, in fact, at about a quarter turn, the single clunk would happen.

It's a single clunk sound, not a constant creaking sound when turning.

I noticed it since about 2000KM.

I wonder if its the steering rack, or perhaps the locally fitted rims were not screwed on properly.??

8th Sep 2006, 10:35

I've experienced loose fitted wheels before and if memory serves me right, there would be some kind of rhythmic clunking in a straight line as you drive... particularly at medium speeds of 60 km/h. I suspect this is a mechanical noise from the steering system. at 12000km it does not appear to get worse so I am assuming it to be safe and 'part of the design'. I mean there are a lot of little joints and moving parts in the steering / suspension system. Perhaps a check with Tan Chong at your 5000km service.

27th Sep 2006, 10:57

Hello all.. its me again with the final installment of this Singapore Tiida /Latio. The war is over. I repeat the war is over. The car is sold. I've had enough with achy-breaky legs. It's a real shame because the car has so many merits. I'm car-less now and will not be for too long. Feel free to drop me questions about my experiences. I'll be happy to answer.

27th Sep 2006, 11:06

You can read about my previous car, a 1998 Nissan March / Micra, at http://www.carsurvey.org/review_23915.html

Or the car I drive while on holiday, a Chevrolet Venture, at http://www.carsurvey.org/review_61465.html

15th Nov 2006, 10:02

Hello All.

First, thanks for the information from the forum.

I'm planning to buy a Tiida hatchback 1.5L soon.

Please send me all positive and negative experience you got or know about this car.

I have read about clunk, legs problem, etc.

So tell me all that will help me to decide before buying this car.

With Thanks from Niky.

31st Jan 2007, 10:26

Just bought a Tiida and you are right - I suffer the same problem with the seat. Although I have lowered it to the lowest possible level, I suspect the problem I am having is with the height and location of the pedals (I have the 1598 cc A/T). The brake pedal is MUCH higher than the gas pedal, and both are so high off the floor that I can't rest my heel on the floor - I have resorted to wearing big shoes to solve the problem. Really, though, I am going to do one of two things: either take the car in to Nissan and see if they can adjust the pedals, or possibly replace the whole seat with one from a Hyundai Sonata - the best seats ever.

Other than that, your comments about the power of the car are right on target - because it doesn't respond immediately and is very sedate, you think it's underpowered. But no - the other day I was doing 120 km/h and it felt like 60 km/h with any other car.

Any suggestions on the 'seat problem' are welcome. I got this car for a very good price and can't afford to sell it, so I shall just have to live with it and search for a solution.

27th Mar 2007, 07:17

You are buying a French car instead of Japanese car. The design is mend for Europeans and not Asians like us. Europeans have high heels and long toes, they will not have problems as what we had.

I would think Toyota is a better design car for all types of people in the world. It is indisputable that Toyota has climb up to be the world largest car manufacturer in the world.

I am with VIOS, then Altis and now Camry... join me then.

29th Mar 2007, 09:47

Hi all leg problem people! As I may have written earlier, I suspect the root of the Latio seat problems is either the fact that it's sits you high like an MPV or its pedal placement is funny.

Unlike the previous poster who couldn't rest his/her heel down on the floor, I didn't have such a problem as my feet are size 9's. So I suspect you are having tired thighs.

However what ever it is. I SWEAR, this screwed up my leg and now it's permanently damaged! Honest! I've never had problems with my legs in car seats and I have driven many many cars. But ever since I had the pain in my leg from the Latio for 6 months, my leg has become very very sensitive to car seats. So some cars, I'm alright with, some, cause me lots of discomfort.

In summary, I have no solution for you (the other leg sufferer). I endured it until it became unbearable and finally sold the car at a loss (that I am still paying off for)

I wish you all the best too.

4th May 2007, 16:49

We are about to purchase a Nissan Tiida, We need some advise on whether or not this is a good car.

24th Jul 2007, 11:34

Dear readers, the Latio was sold. You can read about my next car after the Latio at this URL.

http://www.carsurvey.org/review_95759.html

10th Aug 2007, 14:48

I am considering buying a Nissan Tiida in Ireland. Nissan has just introduced the Tiida to a number of East European Countries and to Ireland (but not UK). They've done their market research.

I had a hip replacement and can't sit in car seats which slope backwards (as most do). (I tried a new ford focus, but found it too heavy and the suspension too hard for me). I need to sit up higher than most and found a mechanic who can adjust car seats. I hope he can raise up the back to make it flat/level. The Tiida seat can be raised higher than most cars for ease of getting in and out. Anybody else noticed this?

Is the suspension good enough for bumpy roads? I need the comfort. Also is it well insulated from road and air noise? I'm considering the Saloon (Sedan) as it should be a little quieter than the hatchback. Any advice welcome.

John.

10th Aug 2007, 15:39

I have bought a used Tiida out of Japan, a 2005 model. The car works like a gem. I have been a Nissan owner for the past 26years from 120 Y (Cherry) to the 910 and the 2001 Primera. This is the best I have had. The CVT of the Primera cannot compare with the Tiida's. In fact the car drives and feels better than the Primera.

I would recommend the Tiida to anyone .!!!!

R.K

Trinidad West Indies

25th Aug 2007, 08:02

Just a question.

Any significant differences between the a/t and cvt? In Singapore, there's a difference of 5k between them.

25th Oct 2007, 10:39

Hello,

I'm an owner of Nissan Tiida 2006, 1.6L engine.

I live in Iraq and as its obvious the streets here are not well paved, so on mild holes and any other road deformities at low speed (20-40 km/hour) there is a vibratory noise which I hear it from right rear side of the car.

I wonder to know where from this noise come and how I will get rid of it???

Pleas give me the solution if you have and thank you...

Notes:

This sound appears only in winter when the weather is cold.

My tyrs are Toyo type.

My gauge is at 5700kms.

With my best regards.