2007 Nissan Versa SL 1.8 from North America


Great value, great car!


Tire pressure monitoring system.

General Comments:

Fantastic value for the money.

I work for Nissan and had no intention on buying a Versa when I visited the dealer. I took one test drive and decided to give it a go; figured if I didn't like it I would give it to my 16 year old as her first car.

I ended up loving the car! Drives great, handles fine, mileage is around 28 in town and over 34 on hwy, what's not to like.

Bluetooth phone, great stereo and all for half what a one year old Maxima was going to cost me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2008

29th Feb 2016, 01:40

I took one as a rental. I found the autobox very annoying as it downshifts crazy slow. It is just a white appliance to drive.

2007 Nissan Versa SL 1.8 from North America


Promised gas mileage does squat if you have a lead foot


1) Tire Pressure Monitor light came on at 2300 miles when all tires were properly inflated. Nissan refused to run the car through their computer because they still insist that I had low pressure on the tires without bothering to check that fact. May I add that I have the Nissan Gold Maintenance Program and I should not have to argue with the dealership to have the car checked out.

2) Windshield wipers started to "chatter" after the 2nd time they were used. Five towns Nissan also ignored this when I came in to have the car maintained.

3) The car refused to start 3-5 times at around 3,500 miles. There was something wrong with the key and it had to be reprogrammed.

4) An old lady hit the car while it was parked and the whole front bumper had to be replaced. Parts are still rare as it is a new model.

General Comments:

I was one of the first persons to get ahold of the new Versa last August 2006. The car was a nightmare at first with regards to its blind spots, but that was quickly remedied by adjusting the mirrors a little closer to the car's body. Handling is heavy for such a small car, body roll is high because of its height. The car does very well in medium speeds, but crank it up to 70+ and it grumbles, but does the job anyway. I have not been getting the advertised mpg on the car, but I do jackrabbit starts and I speed all the time. A full tank lasts me 10 days if I drive 32 miles per day.

The Versa's interior totally balances out its odd exterior. It comes standard with suede seats, audio system, front/side/passenger airbags, and digital odometer. It's very roomy and the seats are very comfortable for long drives. The only problem I have with the driver's seat is that it is situated too low and short drivers (such as myself) will have a hard time seeing the front hood. This is especially cumbersome when you are trying to parallel park. Putting a throw pillow/seat cushion on the seat will give an extra boost. Aside from that, the Versa has a lot of nooks and crannies which can hold a lot of stuff. Compartments are spacey and you will never complain about running out of room. The backseat can easily fit 3 adults. You can even stuff a fourth one if need be.

The "trunk" can hold 2 large suitcases and a lot of knick-knacks. I personally have a stash of emergency driving kits, wetsuits, a large trash bag containing toys, a beach umbrella, and assorted books in there and I still have plenty of room.

Overall, it is a great car for the price. Just don't expect to be racing it anytime soon. It's quick, but not as quick as the Honda Fit or Scion XB.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2007

26th Apr 2007, 13:55

I am the original poster and this review is for a 2007 model, not 2006.

30th Apr 2007, 15:05

The 6 speed tranny might be better for you than the CVT. Hope you have the 6 speed. As for the CVT, hard acceleration will drive the hydraulic pressure close to 1000pounds per square inch! In addition to the regular low MPG you will get with a lead foot, the high CVT hydraulic pressures will take even more MPG away from you. Hope you can adjust. It will be the only way to get pleasing MPG.

2007 Nissan Versa S 1.8 from North America


Roomy, gas mileage, quick


Nothing, just bought the car this weekend.

General Comments:

I researched the "cross-overs" before settling on the Versa. For the price and MPG, the Nissan Versa wins. Lowest price, most interior head and leg room, and best gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2007

27th May 2007, 18:30

Comparably equipped (that's the only real way to compare models), it's only $500 or so more expensive than the cheapest hatchback sold in the US, the Hyundai Accent. Considering you get active head restraints, body color exterior mirros/door handles, tire pressure monitors, and a larger more powerful motor compared to the Accent for the money, it's a bargain. Not to mention it's considerably larger than the Accent and has 4 doors instead of 2. The interior is also much more up-to-par for todays standards in terms of quality and style. It do however think the Versa is rather homely looking, especially the front. The Accent is sportier and cuter, but that's not a compelling enough reason for me to buy one. The only thing I've found the Accent to have comparably equipped over the Versa is 2 tweeter speakers and a height adjustable driver's seat. 6 speakers total in the Accent. 4 in the Versa. The seat adjustment I could appreciate probably, but still not compelling enough to buy the lower quality, smaller Accent over the Versa for $500 less. Don't even get me started on the Civic. Leave that car for people who have no spending limits.