1989 Oldsmobile 88 Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1989 Oldsmobile 88 3.8 liter from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired206000 miles
Most recent distance206000 miles

Summary:

This car is a B-E-A-S-T!

Faults:

The head-liner is loose, so it is held up with tacks.

I haven't had this car for very long, but the only thing I have had to do was replace two brake-lines. One end of the line is standard, and the other end is metric. It is a bit odd.

General Comments:

This car is a BEAST!

Very nice acceleration.

Great for high school kids (like me)

It is a very spacious car. It allows me to carry around my various items, such as, my drum set (half at a time), fishing stuff, firearms, aquariums, 5 friends (not including how many we can fit in the extremely spacious trunk)

I would recommend this car to anyone who can find it cheap. (I found mine free on the Internet)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2007

2nd May 2007, 20:45

I agree this is a great car. I have had mine for over 2 years now and have only had to replace the brake pads. They don't make em like this no more. I intend to ride this classic as far as it can go. Long live the 1988 Delta 88!

20th Feb 2010, 13:05

I've got a 1989 88 Royale Brougham. It's my first car, and I wouldn't want anything else!

1989 Oldsmobile 88 Royale Brougham 3.8 Series 1 V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series 1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102500 miles
Most recent distance115800 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

It's a shame GM discontinued the Oldsmobile brand.

Faults:

"Service Engine Soon" light stays on; had codes checked, could not find anything wrong.

General Comments:

For its age, my car is very quick and responsive when I hit the gas, even from a dead stop. The 3800 Series V6 is the best six-cylinder engine GM ever made and it rivals (at least to me) the Northstar V8 as the best ever!!!

It is also very good on gas despite its age, size and of course the way I drive!!!

The things I love about the car besides the engine is the seating; it's like a La-Z-Boy on wheels!!! The big seats and plush velour interior will remind people of those recliners your grandfather has!!!And mine also has the all-digital instrumentation, which most of the newer cars do not.

If I have only one complaint about my car, I would say that it definitely has to be my power windows, which takes forever to wind up/down, especially when the weather is cold. Also, like virtually every GM vehicle of that era, the headliner is very saggy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2007

1989 Oldsmobile 88 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic

Faults:

I was curious about what would make the engine stall. I'm considering buying one of these beasts and it is supposed to have a dirty fuel injector (which is supposedly causing the engine to occasionally stall). Is this consistent or would it be something else like a fuel pump or timing belt?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2006

29th Apr 2006, 10:43

Could be a number of things.. Sounds like the fuel injector is a possiablity.

1989 Oldsmobile 88 Royale 3.6L Fuel Injected from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.6L Fuel Injected Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired124925 miles
Most recent distance125435 miles

Summary:

"Older" comfort and just a fun ride

Faults:

Minor electrical glitch with brake warning light showing on instrument panel.

General Comments:

Lucky enough to pick this one up for a song... its been babied, garaged, and has no discernible body rust. The interior is mint, with very little wear on the seats, and apparently most of the mileage was highway miles. This may be a keeper!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2006

1989 Oldsmobile 88 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

Reliable and Economical

Faults:

Paint started fading off of the top and hood of the car very soon after I bought it. It was garage kept before that and in beautiful condition, however.

Rust to the undercarriage caused gas leak at 135,000 miles. My dad fixed that with a piece of fuel hose only to have the break fluid start to leak almost immediately after. Pipe lines run close together and are hard to repair.

General Comments:

Car starts perfectly after leaving it sitting for months at a time - even in zero degree weather.

Surprisingly good pick-up for such a big car.

Very comfortable despite front bench seat without reclining back.

This car would be in better condition had it not been burried in snow several winters in a row.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2005

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews