1994 Oldsmobile 88 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Oldsmobile 88 LS 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

A great combination of Luxury, Reliability and Economy

Faults:

Trunk latch had to be replaced at 61000 miles.

Power window switch had to be replaced at 60000 miles.

General Comments:

If your looking for a luxury car, this is the one.

I've owned a Cadillac and a Lincoln Mark 8. From a reliability stand point as well as fuel economy, the Old 88 stands out far ahead of the others. It's simple luxury, which means there is much less to go wrong. Power, luxury and fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2007

1994 Oldsmobile 88 Royale V6 3.8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance141312 miles

Summary:

This car is extremely dependable

Faults:

The paint job was never repaired after the recall had been issued to the public.

The floor carpet is starting to edge out from the sides.

I had to replace throttle position sensor repaired.

Nothing has seriously gone wrong with my car.

The original rotors are still on it.

The alternator had to be replaced 2 times.

The whole ignition control system in the steering column had to be replaced.

And that is about it.

General Comments:

This car is a very nice and reliable vehicle to have.

This car has a very impressive handle.

The shocks on this baby are awesome and never needed any replacements. Very dependable.

I took the car 2 tracking once and had it up to its full speed at 120 mph and the car handled very well.

A very comfortable ride and I hope to own a delta 88 all of my life believe it or not.

Regular tuneups have been keeping the car running great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2004

30th Mar 2006, 12:25

My comment is in regards to what recall on the paint.

My car has been fading in circular spots on the front hood and rear trunk area and I have never seen anything like it.

If I could get my car repainted that would be awesome.

25th May 2006, 22:53

I was interested what symptoms your car had when you had to replace the throttle sensor, and the ignition control. My wife's 1994 88 Royale is experiencing trouble and we cannot figure out what is wrong. Any advice would help...

David

hildebrand81@yahoo.com.

26th Jul 2006, 08:34

My Delta 88 is faultering under acceleration to the point I have to back off on the gas and slowly accelerate again. Several dealers I've had look at the vehicle have been unable to correct the problem.

8th Sep 2006, 18:33

My 1994 3.8 litre falters under load, up hill high gear and occasionally in third gear. have replaced E.C.M. and prom twice!! HELP. markellturner@comcast.net

28th Jan 2009, 14:25

I bought my 1994 Olds 88 Royale and about 2 1/2 months later I experienced the exact same issues with having no power and the speedo/cruise not working. Turns out it was just the alternator went out so not all the spark plugs were getting the juice they need. Replaced it myself for $102.97 and it ran like a bat outta hell again! I love this car and still have it now in 2009.

1994 Oldsmobile 88 3.8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles

Summary:

Superb

Faults:

Had to replace the original struts and mounts. They finally gave out at 135000. I did the job myself (I got really nice struts) so it cost about $350.00.

General Comments:

This is the greatest two grand I have ever spent.

I wish I would have bought it earlier.

My wife puts 152 miles per day on it.

If something was to ever happen to the car, I would just fix it. I will never get rid of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2004

1994 Oldsmobile 88 LSS 3.8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles

Summary:

This is the greatest car ever made

Faults:

Plastic bolt to engine block replaced with a brass one. Cost 7.00 dollars.

General Comments:

This is the greatest car I ever owned.

Most luxurious interior and great seats.

Great brakes for size of car.

Smooth ride on bumpy streets, handles like a dream.

I drove this car 100,000 miles over 175,000 with no maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2004

1994 Oldsmobile 88 88 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired134950 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles

Summary:

Worthwhile

Faults:

This is a wonderful car, however, I did not drive it much, garage kept was always reliable, drove better than 4 wheelers in the winter,...driven less than 5000 miles last year, my nephew has it now, then it fell apart, keeps shutting off, did it to me every now and then, (once per week)...now have gotten worse, throttle position sensor have been replaced...help, still cutting off...

General Comments:

Is it worth it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2004

8th Jan 2006, 01:11

Try checking the positive side post on the battery. They are known to separate. You have to remove the bolt that holds the positive wire harness to the battery. I bet you will see a lot of corrosion around the contact points. You may be able to clean the connections to solve the problem. Worst case scenario the threaded insert in the battery may be loose if this is the case you will have to change the battery. This just happened to me last month where 95 LSS would just die while I was driving. I hope this helps.

1994 Oldsmobile 88 Royale 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60500 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A great handling and a great performing car

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone seriously wrong with this car.

It still has the original rotors although the pads have been replaced.

The master cylinder was replaced because it was leaking out of the rear seal. No biggie.

The water pump was also replaced at 76000 miles due to bearing failure. It was a large job due to the placement of the motor mount.

The knob on the main heater control has broken. I must now use vise-grips.

General Comments:

General tune-ups such as spark plugs, wires, oil & filter, transmission fluid, and several others have kept the car running and performing great.

I wanted to improve the handling a bit, so I got rid of the small 205/70/15 tires in favor of some wider and taller 225/70/15. It handles better in the turns and also fills in the large gap in the fender well. Surprisingly they do not rub at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2003

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews