1982 Oldsmobile 98 Reviews

1982 Oldsmobile 98 Regency Brougham 307 V8 from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 307 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Beastly

Faults:

To my knowledge the original carburetor went out.

The transmission clunks.

Had to replace the power window motors.

Car has been in family since day 1.

General Comments:

To be honest I haven't driven it much, I purchased the car from my father to restore/beef it up. I'm building an Olds 455 at the moment to swap in and add true dual exhaust. but from what I remember, when I did drive it after I first got my license 6 years ago, was the thing was an absolute blast to drive.

The thing is a classic and a tank. A woman rear ended me at ~30-40 mph and messed up her front bumper, and left a mere scratch on mine.

Overall, despite my limited experience with it (so far!), I'd say you can't touch the Olds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd November, 2008

6th Nov 2008, 11:17

"I'm building an Olds 455 at the moment to swap in and add true dual exhaust."

- Excellent! The 455 will make the 307 seem like something out of the 1920s!

1982 Oldsmobile 98 Regency Brougham 5.0 litre from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevrolet Caprice

Summary:

A real classy chassis!!

Faults:

Molding Screw on right column shorted mirror light wiring.

Assist pistons in the trunk fail often.

Drivers side arm rest color deteriorated.

Ground in system drains battery, might be alternator or part of starting system as isolating all fuses from fuse block does not eliminate current flow from battery.

Vinyl top deteriorating from Washington sun shine.

General Comments:

Was my Dad's "Cruiser" and he really loved the car.

Smoothest ride.

Really cool spoked wheel covers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2005

1982 Oldsmobile 98 Regency Brougham Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A true classic stolen

Faults:

Speedometer does not work.

Problems with brake lights due to tail light lenses.

Muffler fell off.

Power steering belt broke.

Electric seat only moved in two directions.

Dome light didn't work.

Clock ticks loud.

General Comments:

I got this car for a steal, (even though I didn't know it at the time) after my LeSabre died. My mechanic sold it to me for a mere $150.

This 98 is a solid car from North Carolina with NO rust and has only been through half of a Western NY winter.

When I bought the car I beat the crap out of it because frankly, I just didn't appreciate it enough. However as time has gone on, I really enjoy the car.

It is a real big, comfortable car. It has extremely big tires, so it rides nice and high. The smoothest ride I've ever had, and let me tell you, plenty of backseat and front seat room.

The previous owner had to replace the transmission, and when he did so, he never connected the speedometer backup, so ever since I've had it, I have not known how fast I'm going or how many miles I've put on. However I'd say withing a 10 month period, I've put on at least 10,000. Also the owner gave the engine more horse by taking out whatever he could. This car has some mad balls, except I need a new tranny.

As of present, I've stored her away for the winter, and am currently trying to restore her. Its kind of hard, because no one seems to have these cars anymore, and especially the parts I need.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2004

15th Dec 2004, 13:33

If you would like to own another 83 98 I have one with 36000 miles like show room. not meney like it summer used only thank you. J.R.

1982 Oldsmobile 98 307 cubic inch V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 307 cubic inch V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles

Summary:

A big reliable machine

Faults:

The odometer quit before I bought the car.

I have fixed all four power windows.

I replaced the water pump.

I replaced the heater core.

The brake light switch was replaced.

General Comments:

The 98 has been very reliable, it has never broken down on the road so badly that I couldn't drive it home. The Oldsmobile has taken a lot of abuse from me and kept on running.

It isn't a very fuel effcient machine, but the parts are cheap. The water pump was 18 dollars to replace with a core.

The interior is very roomy and comfortable, but its size can make it a hassle to park in today's small spaces.

The engine would be powerful enough if the car were about eight hundred pounds lighter, but it still takes me where I need to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

1982 Oldsmobile 98 Regency 5 Liter 307 c.i. from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5 Liter 307 c.i. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance138238 miles
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

The last of the

Faults:

4-speed overdrive transmission replaced with a re-built TH 400 out of a 1977 Cadillac Seville in 1990.

Replaced two radiators so far. I put the first replacement in myself.

Replaced two water pumps.

Rebuilt carburator in 1987.

Replaced carburator with new one in 2003.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned.

Nothing passes me on the freeways except BMW's.

Everyone loves the legroom, comfort, and lighter in each ashtray in back seat.

This car is easy to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

21st May 2003, 13:12

If your 98 had a 455 instead of a 307, it would leave the

BMW's in the dust!!!

4th Apr 2007, 16:00

You're right! I do love the old big block Oldsmobile engines. I kinda wish I had the old 4-speed OD transmission back as my gas mileage is down 20% without it.

29th Oct 2009, 12:44

Did you change the differential or 'rear end' when you changed from the overdrive to the 400 turbo transmission?

1982 Oldsmobile 98 307 V8 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 307 V8 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

This is a big boy's car

Faults:

Replaced water pump.

Rebuilt trasmission.

Replaced timing chain.

Replaced radiator.

Replaced the exhaust system.

Rebuilt carburator.

Normal tune-ups.

Both valve cover caskets replaced.

General Comments:

The car is a great car, you can't kill that thing... it runs excellent. Aside from all maintenance done to the car it really is a great car, I'd take that thing anywhere!

This car was when GM had some big cars out on the road, real nice and plush.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews