1993 Oldsmobile 98 Regency Elite 3.8 from North America

Summary:

One of the best cars I ever owned

Faults:

The sway bar links went bat at 110000; the cost of repair was $50.

Trim around the front windows are covered, and have come unglued and had to be recovered.

Replaced the throttle position sensor at 120000.

General Comments:

The car is one of the best I have ever owned. Low cost for repairs.

This car is quick and surprises a lot of people that a car this big can move so quick.

This is a car you can drive for 300-400 miles on a trip and not feel beat to death when you get to where you are going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2010

1993 Oldsmobile 98 3.8 from North America

Summary:

The perfect car. Seriously

Faults:

Nothing ridiculous for a sixteen-year old car.

Surprisingly little has gone wrong in the 4.5 years and 35k miles I've had it.

The interior has held up remarkably well overall. A few minor trim pieces have crapped out.

The paint on this model year has chipped and flaked off. That's why I got it super cheap. $600.

General Comments:

Awesome car. Smooth, fast, handles great (especially with Michelins), pretty good fuel economy, huge trunk.

I plan on keeping this one until the drivetrain craps out.

I use Mobil-1, so it may never die.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2009

1993 Oldsmobile 98 Elite 3.8 from North America

Summary:

Mature and refined for a good price

Faults:

-Transmission jerks repeatedly under hard acceleration, causes could be worn clutches, gunk in the valve body, bad control module, After purchasing the car I flushed the trans fluid and replaced the filter as it appeared the previous owner never changed the fluid in the entire time he owned it (140000Km), the flush and filter didn't help, but the transmission works fine when the car is driven nicely except for a slightly rough down shift.

-Drivers side power window motor worn out, was easy to replace.

-Water pump is making some bearing noise, plan to replace it very soon.

-Pulls to the right, just needs a wheel alignment.

-Otherwise the car was well kept and is in near mint condition, regular maintenance was documented in a six page diary except the tranny fluid was ignored by previous owner for some reason.

General Comments:

A nice car that you can drive with confidence.

Has lots of trunk space and spacious interior.

Comfortable relaxing ride.

Lots of room for the kids in the back (I loath minivans).

Fuel economy is excellent for a car of this size and power (27 mpg overall city and highway).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2007

1993 Oldsmobile 98 touring sedan 3.8 supercharged from North America

Summary:

The supercharger problem is a downer

Faults:

At about 153,000 miles, the supercharger gained a knocking noise, eventually going out completely. A very expensive part.

General Comments:

This car accelerates fast and handles very well. It also is very comfortable and luxurious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

18th Nov 2007, 19:12

The knocking in the supercharger is almost always caused by the bushing between the nose of the charger and the supercharger body.

If you go to ZZperformance.com, they sell a replacement bushing. It is about 2 inches in diameter with six holes. The six holes get wallered out, and allow the pins that go into the holes to start to rattle. The dealers will tell you that the supercharger is a non-serviceable part. I had the same problem on my Olds before ZZ Performance made the part. Luckily I am a machinist and made my own. You can check to see if the bushing is the problem, by removing the belt from the charger pulley, and turn it back and forth, and listen/feel for slop.

1993 Oldsmobile 98 Elite from North America

Summary:

I love it, the Olds is my baby

Faults:

Transmission had to be replaced before I even had the car 1 month, but the dealer paid for that.

Thermostat.

The automatic trunk stopped closing the latch all the way.

The dashboard lights flicker on and off each time you hit a bump.

The paint has started to wear away on certain spots of the car.

The trim has started to come off.

When I turn hard to the left or right, you can hear a popping sound.

General Comments:

Over all, I love the car, and plan on buying another next year. This car has a lot of miles on it, and was a 93 when I bought it in 2003. But none the less, I love it. Except for the transmission, all of the other problems have been minor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

18th Mar 2005, 14:15

The popping noise is probably bad cv axles. They should have replaced them when they did the transmission. If they didn't, you should replace them now before the damn wheels fall off.

19th Nov 2006, 21:06

I owned a 1993 98 and work extensively on my own cars. I think you should check your tire rods as they can give a "popping" sensation if they're broken when you turn the wheel. A big clue is whether the steering wheel shakes. If it doesn't, it's usually a CV joint, if it does, look at the rods. Just a thought, hope this helps.

1993 Oldsmobile 98 Touring Sedan 3.8 V6 Supercharged from North America

Summary:

Extremely fast luxury cruiser

Faults:

Adapter for coolant hose broke because of corosion.

Exhaust broke off in front of catalytic converter.

Leather has some visible wear.

Some buttons on the dash are cracked.

Has needed rebuilt engine.

General Comments:

This car is a very nice daily driver and it is extremely fast because of its supercharged engine.

It handles very well on any road surface.

The bucket seat are very supportive and comfortable.

The sports-suspension is somewhat stiff, but makes the car handle very well in corners.

The engine has so much power that it just keeps on accelerating until it hits the governor at 185 KM/H.

It has some traction problems when accelerating quickly, although the Traction Control interferes on time.

Back seats are very comfortable and there is a lot of leg room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2004

1993 Oldsmobile 98 Regency Elite from North America

Summary:

A well designed car

Faults:

Brake Pads Replaced.

Doors have a few cracks.

Steering wheel mounted control's fall off.

Inside truck release doesn't work.

Digital display for stereo and air conditioning flickers on and off in between road bumps.

General Comments:

Oldsmobile had a good thing going in this car.

Although this thing is a monster on the road. It's huge size takes in a lot of gas.

It's handling well seeing we bought it used from someone else.

It is very comfortable with powered front seats and rear passenger arm rest.

The fuses need replace though we never come around to doing that.

It is much better then our Buick Skylark which was destroyed in a crash, and for $1,500 a great deal, Asides all the money put into gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2003