1996 Oldsmobile Achieva Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva SC 2.4 Quad 4 Twin Cam from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Quad 4 Twin Cam Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Reliable, powerful, nice, low cost car

Faults:

Seats wear fast.

Water pump blew at 79000.

Alternator blew at 65000.

Small oil leak at valve covers at 110000.

Intermittently runs hot at 120000.

General Comments:

The SC with 5 speed trans has lots of power. Pulls out fast and accelerates fast.

Handles well in all weathers.

In 60000 miles, it never broke down or wouldn't start.

Good fuel economy.

5 speed trans still drives good.

Must maintain and appreciate/the car will last long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2006

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

I would purchase again

Faults:

Driver side seat belt had a jingle from my son putting a penny in it, and then the fuel pump went out because I ran it out of gas too many times. The issues I had with this car were my fault. This car was awesome!

General Comments:

I had this car for a while and it ran great, had get up and go, was comfortable and very reliable. The only problem I had with it was the outside look of it, at 21 I didn't want to be driving a Granny Car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2005

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva S 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

It's a good car overall, but it has some design issues

Faults:

One of the valves went out at 95,000 miles; it was expensive to replace. This was probably due to the way I drive.

The car pulls to the right, but this is probably due to abuse.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable. It will take some abuse.

The gas mileage is great, I usually get 28-30 mpg highway.

However, this car has one of the most poorly designed interiors I have ever seen; it is cramped and uncomfortable.

Maintainance is unreasonably hard, especially if you want to replace the spark plugs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2005

14th Jan 2007, 22:55

The spark plugs were easy on my '96 acheiva (3100 V6). the front 3 were easy and the back 3 were easy to get to if you take the coil pack off.

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

The car is one of the best cars I have ever had

Faults:

I had fix the front brakes three times. I just fixed the brakes in January and had to get them fixed again in may, and then in August. I just got the Back brakes fixed. The power steering went had to fix the shaft. The gas Tank had a whole in it. I had to get a new gas filter. I'll drive the car for ahile then all of a sudden the car will shut off on me. I had it taken in to get looked at nobody can find out whats wrong with it.

General Comments:

The car is a good running car. I got the car at 80,000 miles, and now I'm at 115,000. the seats are comfortable. The car has good pick up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2005

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired115828 miles
Most recent distance132900 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

I want the call fix so I can drive it

Faults:

The check engine light stays on and the speed needle keep on jumping up and down. Then my tranmission have went out on the Oldsmobile. Right now the car is park in the yard I try to put the car in drive the car would not move. Everything else in the car is okay.

General Comments:

I like to get my car fix so I can drive it I love my Oldsmobile Achieva and I love the way it drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th April, 2005

26th Sep 2008, 01:04

Aurora? Wasn't that cut down Northstar engine a disaster?

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva SL 2.3 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

It's a great car and would buy it again

Faults:

In 3 of the windows, the power windows motor went out around 100,000.

The water pump went out at 75,000 and again at 150,000.

The radio stopped working in the winter time when the heater was on.

The heater core went out at 152,000.

Rod thrown at 155,000.

General Comments:

Even though the above sounds grave, this was the best car I've ever owned.

I spent less than $1,000 on repairs since I bought the car.

I live out in the country, so I would suspect the shocks and struts to go.

Overall, I would definaitely purchase from Oldsmobile again.

You can get a good 100,000 out of an Oldsmobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

23rd Sep 2007, 22:00

Your right this is a great car, I haven't spent as much as I thought I might have buying a used car.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 22 reviews