1996 Oldsmobile Achieva Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva SC 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Faults:

Rotors warped at 30000 miles.

Front strut on passenger side went at 40000 miles.

Catalytic converter went at 70000 miles.

Water pump went at 95000 miles.

General Comments:

Car has a lot of power for a 4 cylinder.

The car can comfortably seat 5 adults, although the head room in the back is a little cramped.

I've had the car for over seven years and have only spent +- 2000 in repairs.

A very reliable, economical vehicle without all the extras.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2003

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva SC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The Achieva offers good performance, convenient features, and a good value

Faults:

A cooling system part on the engine cracked and made the engine run hot and leak coolant.

The dashboard's console rattles a lot.

General Comments:

The car was inexpensive to purchase and it's been reliable. Other than the dashboard rattles, it has held up well. It has a nice radio. The air conditioner works well. Engine and transmission are generally smooth and provide ample power. There are many thoughtful features and accessories on my car. It's a good car to commute in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva LS 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles

Summary:

It sucks!

Faults:

I hate my car! Today the alternator went out for the 6th time. We just replaced it 3-4 weeks ago, along with a new battery.

GM products stink and I will never buy another one again. Which is pretty bad since we get the GM employee discount.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

28th May 2003, 13:18

You hate your car? Just get rid of the piece of junk!!!

22nd Nov 2005, 00:21

Alternators are a common problem in 90s GM cars.

I replaced the alternator in my Beretta 3x in less than a year. But, I haven't replaced it since (knock wood).

The secret is to not go to the dealer. And, whether you're fixing it yourself or having a mechanic do it, buy the BETTER alternator from the parts store.

Pay the extra $30 or so for the better alternator with more amps and your problems will likely disappear.

11th Apr 2006, 20:08

A lot of times, a problematic altenator on a 90s GM car is actually the fault of the voltage regulator.

Check that before you check the altenator.

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva SL 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69925 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Great bargain

Faults:

The alternator had to be replaced once. Because of driving through water.

The Brakes had to be replaced at 85K.

General Comments:

This is a great car for the price.

There are no problems at all, just keep up with oil change and other regular inspections.

The car runs excellent, it gets a great gas mileage and is comfortable.

There is no vibration at all from the engine as fom the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva SL 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance44802 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Poor

Faults:

First year I had it (car was 4 years old) the air conditioner went out. I have a warranty, but the deductible is $200 each time. 2001 & 2002 I have replaced the door locks on driver & passenger sides, catalytic converter, CD player, water pump, drive belt, brakes, and alternator. Plus there is a noise that no one has been able to figure out (sounds like a helicopter.) Sometimes when I stop at a traffic light or back down my driveway it feels like someone has rear-ended me --- hard.

General Comments:

Don't buy one. It looks good (sporty) and has a lot of bells and whistles, but I don't find it to be reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2002

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva SL III Sedan 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22430 miles
Most recent distance56400 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Ridiculous

Faults:

All of the following went bad within the first 50,000 miles of this well cared for vehicle: Water Pump, Serpentine Belt, Alternator, Battery, Air Conditioner Condensor Unit, Evaporator Dryer, Power Steering, Power Locks, O2 Sensor, Remote Gas/Trunk releases, Traction Control switch malfunctioned, Trunk latch broke, Ignition module, Cluster Display.

The front seats are very uncomfortable.

However, it did shift and run smooth... when it was running anyway.

General Comments:

It has the Quad-4 engine in them. I tried to sell the car to used car lots and they said that they would not buy a Quad-4 engine because they cannot resell them.

Stay away from these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2001

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva SC Sport Coupe 2.4 Quad from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Quad Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

A low-performance Under Achieva

Faults:

First off, my transmission went at about 25,000 miles. So that was 700 some bucks right there.

Then my front brakes went. A year later, my rear brakes had to replaced. I have probably spent 500 bucks on brakes.

But that is not the worst thing: My fuel pump went, too. And the engineers at GM were so damn smart they built the fuel pump as one whole piece, so instead of replacing one faulty part, I had to have the entire thing replaced.

And THAT was 574 bucks.

Latest thing to go was the alternator, which was 150 bucks. Plenty more things that could break, though. I can't wait!

General Comments:

This car is the worst piece of crap I have ever driven. GM should be ashamed. No wonder nobody buys American cars anymore. Because they suck. I'm glad Oldsmobile is out in 2002. Who needs 'em.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2001

1st Jul 2001, 23:21

I feel for you I have a 1996 Achieva, and it is a piece of crap. My electricals are about to go out and the people at GM said that is was natural and not to pay any attention to the flickering lights. What kind of crap is that?? I totally hate my car, I wish it would just blow up already.

Ps, is yours crooked??

Jasonquinto@msn.com.

Indianapolis, in.

1996 Oldsmobile Achieva 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles

Faults:

Brakes wear out fast on these cars

General Comments:

I had heard that these cars were junk, but my wife loved the way they drove and looked so she talked me into buying her one. I knew that I had never had any problems with my Cutlass but this Achieva was another car that hadn't been out that long. Anyway, we took a chance on it and I'm glad we did cause it has never given us any problems except the brake pads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2000

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 22 reviews