2001 Oldsmobile Bravada Reviews

2001 Oldsmobile Bravada 4.0 Fuel Injected from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 Fuel Injected Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance39960 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Toronado

Summary:

Very Good

General Comments:

The car has nice appointments both inside and outside. Even though this vehicle is an SUV it's ride quality is superior too many sedans. Because it was the first model of a redesigned line it came loaded with many features. When General Motors decided to drop the Oldsmobile line they lost me as a customer. I had purchased a new car about every 5 years and they were always General Motors manufactured vehicles (usually Oldsmobile).I still own the Bravada, but have since bought a foreign car and probably buy another foreign car in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2007

2001 Oldsmobile Bravada Gold V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Bravada

Summary:

Very disappointed in this vehicle, my last Bravada had 167,000 miles on it with NO repairs.

Faults:

Front axle pinion bearing replaced.

Rear axle pinion bearing replaced.

Right front wheel bearing replaced.

General Comments:

VERY COSTLY REPAIRS.

You never know what is going to go wrong next.

I will NEVER buy another Bravada.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2006

1st Dec 2006, 17:01

2000 Oldsmobile Bravada, I call her Bertha Bravada cause this car reminds me of my hard to deal with mother. I bought this car in 2003 with 30,000mi. I now have 120,000mi on it and you are right expensive repairs. I have replaced both front wheel bearings twice. The transfer case motor and the transmission now have to be rebuilt repair estimate is $2,600.00. Almost $5,000.00 in repairs besides regular maintenance costs. Bertha Bravada 2000 is nice, but expensive high maintenance costs make this vehicle a pretty, but "WICKED MOTHER"! Thank God I only have one. Maybe someone will adopt this car because the resale value and repair costs stink, oh and so does the gas mileage. I knew I should have bought another JEEP!!!

2001 Oldsmobile Bravada V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Good SUV

Faults:

Gear selector would not come out of park.

Secondary air pump gets water in it, causing "Check Engine" light.

General Comments:

Handles great, gets decent mileage, very comfortable and dependable.

Problems fixed, even though inept service people in Mobile, AL were of little help.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2006

2001 Oldsmobile Bravada from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46527 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Bravada

Summary:

Totally disappointed in my second Bravada

Faults:

Front axle pinion seal replaced in Feb 2005 at 45,983 miles by dealer before I purchased the car.

Interior door hinge replaced at 42,354 miles by dealer before I purchased car.

Front axle bearing replaced at 58,313 miles in October, 2005 at the cost of $1,700 to this buyer.

General Comments:

The pinion seal repaired in Feb, 2005 was due to a leak in the seal per the dealership who advised they repaired the seal after the salesman driving it noticed a burning odor in the front of the car. In October, the bearing went out in this same front pinion, and I have yet to get an honest statement about why when they just worked on this in May. It cost me $1,700.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2005

2001 Oldsmobile Bravada from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance78700 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

Beautiful and Comfy, but transmission is not reliable

Faults:

I have only had this car for two months. Ten days after purchase from a small used car lot, the vehicle would no longer go into reverse and shifted hard between first and second gear. Cost nearly $3,000 for a rebuilt, warrantied transmission.

General Comments:

This vehicle is both beautiful and comfortable, handles well and gets decent gas mileage. But something is definitely up with the Smart-Track transmission. I live in snow country with a 1/2 mile driveway and must have four wheel drive. GM needs to work the bugs out of this transmission better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th October, 2004

15th Feb 2007, 22:39

I have been looking at Bravadas that have been put up for sale and reading peoples reviews on them. I already know of one guy trying to sell his Bravada and he apparently has the same problem with the transmission not going into reverse. A lot of reviews so far are talking about tranny problems on these cars.

6th Jul 2007, 23:00

I have a 2001 Bravada with 83000 miles that I bought new Feb 2001. I've had to replace both front wheel bearings, fuel pump twice, and now reverse has gone out. Getting it fixed and trading it for a BMW.

7th Jul 2007, 00:26

LOL you think you're Bravada had problems, just wait till you see the bill for the oil change on the BMW. Not to mention the reliability stats are in the toilet.

12th Mar 2008, 18:24

Only the transmission... I should be so lucky. I have a 2001 that at 43,000 miles had the front pinion bearing replaced and rear seal replaced. Now at 118,000 miles, I now have a new transmission (no reverse, imagine that), a repaired manifold leak, and front pinion bearing repair again. And guess what, they just told me my rear differential needs repaired. I can't figure out what happened to real GM quality, but as they got newer, they broke more often. I had a 1997 Bravada that I put brakes on and ran until it had close to 170,000 miles, sometimes I wish I had it back. Good luck to anyone buying a Bravada period.

13th Jul 2009, 19:33

I know how everyone feels, I have a 2001 Bravada smart trac, and I've never seen so many problems, so far here's a time line:

Day 2 of owning: Would not start due to battery cables.

Day 8: My drive shaft just decided to fall off.

Day 41: Reverse begins to go.

Never buy a Bravada, I just purchased a 2003 Impala, that's where it's at.

2001 Oldsmobile Bravada from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance49600 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Bravada

Summary:

It would be a great suburban car is they could make a reliable all-wheel drive transmission.

Faults:

Transmission sometimes 'bumps' when in reverse. The feeling is as if the car ran over something with its rear wheels or ran into something.

An early complaint to an Oldsmobile dealer during the first year I had the car was responded to with " We couldn't duplicate the problem so there was nothing to do." The problem persists.

I also had a problem with the transmission on my 1996 Bravada soon after the warranty ran out... the car would not shift into reverse so I had to spend over $3,000 on transmission work.

General Comments:

Overall, I like the car and love the security of all-wheel drive.

I commute 45 miles each way, every day; the ride is very comfortable and the handling responsive for an SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2003

2001 Oldsmobile Bravada 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance22850 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

High Priced Junk

Faults:

Bought this car brand new in 2001, Has been nothing but problems since day one. Had the transmission cleaned and rebuilt 3 times, Breaks locked up, automatic 4x4 hubs were bad from brand new. Dealer says there is nothing wrong with the car, but it does not drive correct at all.

Transmission serviced 3 times.

Starter services 2 times.

Computer replaced at 14,000.

Transmission cleaned and rebuilt at 18,500.

General Comments:

This car has serious problems and I would not give it to my worst enemy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

2001 Oldsmobile Bravada from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance2200 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Faults:

The power control module went out while driving at 65 mph on the interstate. The vehicle lost all power. Also, we have had oil leaks.

General Comments:

The sport utility vehicle is very roomy and comfortable, but we are now leary of driving it because this could be very dangerous if it happened again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews