1991 Oldsmobile Calais Reviews

1991 Oldsmobile Calais 2.5L L4 TBI from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L L4 TBI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

The most capable and economical car that I have ever owned

Faults:

I had to replace the transmission, but it was due to the car being ran off of the road into the ditch.

General Tune-Ups.

General Comments:

The car is very agile and is also quite a kick for a in-line four.

The interior is comfortable, but can seem very cramped at times.

It is a shame that they stopped making this car. It looks generic, but this car is solid as a rock, very capable, and easy on gas. What more can you ask for?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2004

16th Sep 2004, 15:30

They call that motor the "Iron Duke" because it will go forever :) oh yeah and I think some part of it really is made from iron, maybe the block? Don't know for sure, but you got a good car..

7th Oct 2005, 17:31

Try driving for a mile with no oil it will set up tighter than a corkscrew!

1991 Oldsmobile Calais S 2.3L Quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L Quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5400 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Almost trouble free, I love it!

Faults:

The head gasket had to be replaced at 65,000.

The head had to be replaced at 80,000, it had 10 cracks in it. According to my mechanic this is not uncommon with the Quad 4 engine.

The year I rolled 100,000 miles, the following had to be replaced: water pump, master cylinder, alternator, heater core, serpentine belt, and a couple other things I can't remember.

The radiator had to be replaced at 142,000 miles.

Routine maintenance - oil changes, new brakes occasionally, radiator flushes, new tires occasionally. I will admit to being somewhat hard on brakes and tires.

General Comments:

I love this car. Even though I had to replace the head, it was well worth it since this car is so trouble free.

The year I rolled 100,000 miles, I did have to have a lot of work done, but it had very seldom been to the mechanic prior to that year.

I have always changed the oil every 3,000 to 5,000 miles.

This car is very comfortable. It handles well in traffic and the Quad 4 engine gives it a lot of "get up and go" when passing people on the highway.

I wish Oldsmobile still produced this car, because I would buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

19th Nov 2004, 11:43

I agree it's a real shame these cars aren't made anymore in my opinion this was the best car Olds ever made!

7th Oct 2005, 21:42

Man I own a 91 Calais and I'm having a problem with mine. Now and then when I start to drive it say I pull out of a driveway and head down the road and it will try to stall. That's the only problem I currently have with mine at 80,000miles. Oh and the rotors need to be changed. Over all great car, but needs some fixing.

I wish they produced more of these cars too just to see what they would come out with next

Kate.

8th May 2006, 09:31

I just recently was given a 1991 Oldsmobile Calais s and it has been sitting for about a year and a half. It is very dusty and has been sitting outside in the country. I'm concerned about whether or not I should take the car because of it siting for so long. I would appreciate any ideas on this situation. Thank you.

1991 Oldsmobile Calais Cutlass 2.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles

Summary:

Older Oldsmobile cars are worth it!

Faults:

The oil pan has a small leak at the seam, and I've tried fixing it three times, but it won't go away.

The timing chain tensioner is made out of plastic that breaks very quickly. Which caused the chain to loosen up and stripped both gears of their teeth. About $100 to do it yourself.

General Comments:

A lot of people make fun of my car by the way it looks, but it performs great after I fixed the problems.

The steering has good handling at fast speeds (75-85 MPH). Quick lane changes with no play in the wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

19th Nov 2004, 12:03

The Calais is a very cute, good looking little car don't let anyone tell you any different!

1991 Oldsmobile Calais 2.3L QUAD 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L QUAD 4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired184000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Good value and lots of options to boot

Faults:

The Drivers window would work horribly slow when I bought the car and would always stop. I took it in to Firestone and they cleaned it and told me I need new slides and a motor. So in total it cost me about $260 to get it fixed, but that's not really the cars problem. Something twice leaked water into the passenger foot-well. Other times in the rain there was nothing. Not sure of the cause. It might have something to do with wind or something.

General Comments:

I was worried when I seen the amount of electrical accessories and sensors that they would be giving trouble. I expected some not to work at all. Everything seems to work fine. Car handles really good, but it's a change from a large car like my 1980 Impala. It handles really good. Always a lot of power, but I have been warned of the probability of engine problems. Good fuel economy considering its not a tiny car and it has performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2002

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews