1988 Oldsmobile Ciera Reviews

1988 Oldsmobile Ciera International Series 3.8 Liter V6 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance76980 miles
Previous carEagle Premier

Summary:

Judge on the side of caution when looking at these cars

Faults:

Engine seized after 980 miles (20 miles under the warranty)

The dealer gave me a hard time about fixing the car, saying it was too expensive. I had to remind him it was under warranty. Only after the threat of legal action, did I get a car to replace this one.

General Comments:

It handled well for the little time that I had it, and there was more than enough power to get the car moving. I cannot judge the car as bad, as they are mostly reliable, but I will never buy a car from that dealer again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2006

1988 Oldsmobile Ciera XC Special Edition 3.8 liter from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 miles
Most recent distance200356 miles

Summary:

Pretty darned good

Faults:

Mass air flow sensor can be expected to be replaced every 20,000 miles or so.

General Comments:

My previous review is listed here. I bought this car in 2001 in Alabama.

Today, 8/28/05, I sold it to a woman in Castro Valley, CA. The mileage of the car was 200,356. This was a pretty reliable car for me. I would have kept it longer, but we didn't have room any longer for 3 cars.

This car would give me 25 mpg on the road regularly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2005

1988 Oldsmobile Ciera Cutlass V6 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

This is the best car that I have ever owned to date.

Faults:

Normal wear and tear over 17 years.

Water pump replaced at 100k.

Head-gasket soon after.

Battery a few miles later.

Not another problem since, and I'm pushing 200k.

Maintained regularly.

General Comments:

Great gas mileage.

This car is seriously quick, and handles like it's on rails. Zero to 60 in a flash.

I drive it like I stole it, and it still runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2005

14th Mar 2005, 05:36

Yes, I agree these are good cars! My car is a 1991 Cutlass Ciera. It has 169K on it.

All that has gone wrong in the past year was a fuel injector that went bad.

This goes to show you don't have to get a Honda or a Toyota to get a good car!

1988 Oldsmobile Ciera X C Special Edition 2.8 Multi Port Fuel Injected 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 Multi Port Fuel Injected 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Reliable quick Oldsmobile

Faults:

The heater core became undone at 70,000 miles.

The brakes, brake and fuel lines along with master cylinder and engine sensor all had to be replaced at 106,000 miles probably because I let it sit for 3 years.

General Comments:

The car is quick and was the most reliable vehicle I have owned up to this point.

I have only good things to say about the Ciera and certainly would recommend it to all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

1988 Oldsmobile Ciera XC Special Edition 2.8 mpfi 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 mpfi 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance107580 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Heater core at 70,000.

Brakes, brake lines at 106,000.

Sensor at 106,000.

Fuel lines at 106,000.

Master cylinder at 106,000.

Air conditioner at 106,000.

General Comments:

The car was the most reliable car I ever owned until I let it sit for 3 years after getting side wiped. During the time it sat, mice and bees made it their home.

Put $1000 into it after letting it sit, and it still isn't the same. It starts without problems, but there seems to be a power problem after driving it a short time (can't figure it out).

Otherwise it hesitates on the start when it didn't before. Before it sat, the car was extremely quick, and very easy and enjoyable to drive.

I recommend it to all; without the problems that is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2004

12th Sep 2005, 21:17

My 1990 Cutless Ciera XC Special Edition with a 3.3 liter has the rought idle until it warms up. I am working on the fix now for it.

13th Oct 2007, 13:03

I have a 1986 4-door Cutlas Ciera XC Special Edition FE3 model and I am trying to find information on it. Any help is appreciated. Please email me at dirt_slinger_6_18@hotmail.com.

1988 Oldsmobile Ciera International 3.8litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance85800 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Fastest FWD car I've ever seen!

Faults:

The door hinge on the drivers side door was worn out when I bought it. I fixed it for 5 dollars.

Ithad a bad coil pack for the ignition system. The coil cost 15 dollars at a junkyard and took about an hour to fix.

Other that that, it has ran great.

General Comments:

I am really impressed with the 3.8l v6, and the FE3 suspension option.

I also have a 1986 VW GTI, and the Olds will out run, and out corner the GTI.

Fuel economy is a little on the poor side, I get around 25mpg or so. Decent, except when compared to the GTI's 35.

Insurance is more expensive too, but at a 15 dollar a month margin, well worth it.

Great sleeper car, surprises everybody it goes up against.

I drive this car every day, and drag it on the weekends. Tons of fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 9 reviews