1996 Oldsmobile Ciera Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1996 Oldsmobile Ciera SL 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired225000 kilometres
Most recent distance245000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Solid vehicle

Faults:

Nothing has actually gone wrong with the car since I have owned it. It was given to me by my mother-in-law when my Jetta became too expensive to fix.

My only gripe is overdrive. It shifts into overdrive way too soon, and you almost need to stick the pedal to the floor to get it to downshift if you want to pass someone, or if you're heading up a hill.

Oh, one other thing is that the radio cuts out intermittently. It seems now it's not working more than it actually IS working. I haven't bothered trying to fix it yet.

General Comments:

Very comfortable.

Reasonably powerful.

Decent gas mileage.

Fairly reliable *knocks on wood*

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2006

21st Sep 2010, 08:27

This is the original poster of this review. The car just rolled over 300000 km the other day. Since my last review, I have replaced the gas tank, alternator, and brakes. Now I notice metal shavings around the A/C compressor, but the A/C has never worked for me anyway so I'll probably just pick up an A/C delete pulley.

Still runs fine and is still the most comfortable car I own.

28th Jul 2011, 08:33

Original poster here again.

Well unfortunately this car has bit the dust. The rust was just too much structurally. I hit a good sized pothole heading home a few days ago, and the entire driver's side strut tower broke off and nearly came through the hood. Limped it home and parked it. It had just passed an e-test the week before. One of the most comfortable and reliable cars I have ever owned. I took a few pictures and will post them when I get them off my phone.

Rest in peace purple Ciera. 317000km.

1996 Oldsmobile Ciera 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Bargain Basement of comfort

Faults:

Had to replace the Alternator at 51,000 miles, then again at 75,000 miles and then again at 100,000 miles. inside door handle broke at 110,000. 2 power window motors went our at 120,000 and 125,000 miles. Water pump at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

Once this car hit 100,000 miles it started to cost a lot to keep it on the road. Alternator problems are on most GM cars anyway. I've about the inside door handles on other GM cars also. I would not buy another like this if it had 100,000+ miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

1996 Oldsmobile Ciera 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

No frills car with some problems. Acceptable value

Faults:

61000: Water Pump, hosing breaks down.

61500: Alternator dies.

85000: Wing nut flies into Engine intake valve, stopped only by screen from getting into the engine proper.

104000: Regular trouble with ABS system shutting off.

108000: Inside door handle stops working for Driver's door.

General Comments:

The car is durable, but prone to some trouble.

Electric System (alternator/battery tends to work poorly)

Also the interior is not very durable. For example, my indoor door handle went out in the car. It seems indicative with mid 90s GM cars. My 95 Bonneville had a similar problem with the passenger side door lock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

1996 Oldsmobile Ciera SX from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

A giant money pit!

Faults:

I should have knowen I was in for trouble when shortly after I purchased the car the door framing began to fall off.

Then piece by piece went the rest of the car, next came the ashtray which was connected to the wires for my c. d adapter, and no more than three weeks later the cup holder broke.

Just when I thought I could avoid a mechanic for awhile the transmission gave at an amazing 72,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is a signature for crappy workmanship and should never be used for any thing other than the upholstery.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

23rd Sep 2007, 10:14

It's really too bad that your car (Ciera SX) doesn't even exist. Sorry about those 'problems'.

1996 Oldsmobile Ciera Series 2 3.1L ohv 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1L ohv 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62122 miles
Most recent distance62917 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A great buy in the used car market

Faults:

Nothing yet, but it's still very early on.

General Comments:

So far, this car has impressed me very much. I find the exterior to be very attractive. Passing power is impressive, and so is overall engine pickup. These cars are built to last, therefore I highly recommend them as used car values.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews