1986 Oldsmobile Cutlass Brougham 5.0 from North America


Oldsmobile's greatest design


The rocker panels needed replacing.

The tail light wires short out.

General Comments:

This car hugs the road like it was built for her.

I keep going through rear tires because this car is so fast, no one can keep up with me.

It looks better than great, any one would want one.

The seats are so comfy they hug you when you sit in them.

It runs like a dream, crank the key and it starts up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2004

23rd Sep 2005, 10:18

I have never had any problems with this car. She's a dream come true in a rig of steel. It just can't be beaten with desing and comfort. Even after 20 years.

26th May 2006, 17:22

I loved this car. But, I wrecked last year. I know I will never be able to replace her though. Great on gas, Great handling. Ran out some batteries though, think I had a short fuse somewhere. All around great first car. "sniffles"

1986 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Buick 307 from North America


Great car for beating around in


It burns oil. I have replaced the valve cover gaskets. The roof has surface rust. Drivers hinges, front springs, and center link needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

It is a great car. It is very fun to drive. It was my second car at 16. I got it for $400. It is a very solid comfortable riding car. I love the car and I plan on putting a lot of work into it. The 5.0 doesn't kick very much, but it pulls its weight. I am very happy with it and I would buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2003

1986 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 350 rocket from North America


High performance bargain with lots more potential


Heater core went out.

Bent push rod which eventually lead to the engine going out.

Wiper motor went out also.

General Comments:

Runs and drives like a dream.

After engine blew (307 c.i.d.) had a new fully rebuilt 350 Rocket put in along with a Holly racing 4 bbl. 350 turbo transmission.

Also in doing this got new motor mounts, EGR valve, fuel pump, and radiator.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2002

31st Oct 2002, 12:24

Stock motor runs very well with lots of power.

1986 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 305 V8 from North America


The good old Grandfather's Oldsmobile.


The catalytic converter went bad at 136K.

General Comments:

I thought this car was a Rolls Royce when my Grandfather purchased it. It had every single option. Other than its totally outdated styling, this was a good solid car.

The California emissions greatly reduced this V8's power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2002

1986 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 305 V-8 from North America


Very attractive, reliable automobile


I had to replace the master cylinder when I first purchased the car. A small hole in the muffler had to be replaced also.

I now have to replace two speakers after playing my music a little too loud.

General Comments:

After 16 years the air conditioning still works.

It rides like a dream.

The seats are extremely comfortable.

It sounds like a mean V-8, but the 305 lacks power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

6th Aug 2001, 21:28

A 305 is a Chevy motor not an Oldsmobile. The correct motor would be a 307.

15th Sep 2001, 14:36

If the car was built in Canada or built in the U.S. and was being exported to Canada, the engine would be a Chevy 305.

I own a 1987 Olds Cutlass Salon (Supreme) built at the Pontiac Michigan assembly plant, that was exported to Canada it has a # 's matching Chevy 305. It's kind of strange why GM (Oldsmobile) would bother doing this. Both engines are probably equally as reliable.

My car has been extremely reliable, It has 164,000 Kms and in the two years I have owned it I have only replaced the sunroof weather-striping due to age. Watch for rust on the frame at the rear where the gas tank is, and rust at the bottom of the doors.

16th Apr 2011, 14:53

If you must have more power, an Oldsmobile Rocket 350 would be the place to go. It's the same mounts, so installation shouldn't be an issue, just be sure you get a matching 350 transmission.