1987 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera 2.8 liter fuel injected V6 from North America

Summary:

A wonderful first car for first time drivers, reliable and high on the safety ratings

Faults:

A bearing went out at about 300,000 miles which caused a small fire in the alternator.

Steering wheel is starting to crack.

Door handles break easily.

General Comments:

Though this car is old it gets up to speed quick.

I love the motor, this is a very reliable car especially at over 300,000 miles on it. I am so amazed that I am still driving it.

The seats are fairly comfortable, I can drive for hours and my arms will get tired before my butt starts hurting.

The lights (headlights, brake lights, or interior lights) have never gone out and they work perfect.

I will be very depressed when I have to sell this car it is my baby, it gets me where I need to go, and that is all I ask.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

17th Mar 2005, 13:12

Bought my 87 Cutlass Cierra for 2 hundred dollars 3 years ago and have had no promblems. Very dependable car!

12th Mar 2010, 18:11

Got my 1987 Cutlass Ciera in 2008. Km is 157000 and after 2 years it never let me down; it starts every time, even to the coldest temperature of -30.

The only maintenance I have done is to change the oil.

It runs very good, all runs good, just got 2 burn out fuse when winter comes, but other than that, no other problem. I love this car, this is my first car.

1987 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 5.0 307 from North America

Summary:

It has been the best car I have ever owned

Faults:

I had trouble with the Rochester Quadrajet carburetor (normal).

It burned a lot of oil because the car was only taken to the grocery store by a little old lady.

General Comments:

These cars are one of the best reliable rear wheel drive cars made by GM. They have their faults just like other cars; but overall, they will definitely get you where you want to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2002

1987 Oldsmobile Cutlass supreme 307 5.0L V8 from North America

Summary:

It will turn heads without you even trying

Faults:

The floor panels have rusted through and I replaced them.

I also had to replace the trans, brake lines, drums, and window motors twice.

General Comments:

The car picks up great.

It comes stock with roller lifters.

Its very comfortable.

It looks really cool.

Its easy to work on and get parts for.

You can easily modify it, or change the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2002

1987 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Classic 5.0L V8 from North America

Summary:

A great reliable car

Faults:

Replaced the radiator due to clogged cores (not a manufacturers flaw, just poor maintenance by the previous owner).

Replaced vacuum hoses due to age and cracking.

General Comments:

Wonderful car. Never a problem with it and I loved driving it. Was too heavy to be fast or agile, but was very safe and comfortable.

It was stolen, and that is the ONLY reason I don't have it anymore. I would have never sold it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2001

1st Oct 2002, 14:57

87' Cutlass Supreme Brougham

We love them, but watch out somebody else loves them too.

Thieves!I found this out the hard way. My 87 cutlass was stolen after having it less than a month. So although it's a nice car to treasure, you have to be careful.

3rd Mar 2004, 09:52

I currently Own a 1987 Cutlass Supreme 2door. I absolutely love it! I have owned it since 1998 and still have it to this day. I think the only reason it hasn't been stolen is because of all the anti-theft precautions I have taken. I installed an alarm system that pages me when it is triggered, and it kills the starter circuit when activated. I also have a thick steel security collar around my steering column permanently installed. True, it is very ugly and unappealing, but when a thief looks in the window and sees it, he will quickly move on to an easier target. In the 6 years I have owned the car, it has broken into twice. The first time, my stereo was stolen, but the car wasn't stolen because of the security collar. Then I installed the alarm. The second break in (really I should call it an attempted break in) a thief tried to pull my window glass back and reach in to unlock my door. But luckily my pager was triggered and outside I came running to chase him away.

30th Jul 2004, 13:39

I just bought a 1987 cutlass supreme 2 door. I bought it from a friend. I don't know much about a cutlass, but it is a very strong and reliable car. I bought it for only $200. What a deal!.

3rd Aug 2004, 09:37

I have an 88 classic - and I'm terrified it'll be stolen, but I never found it slow or clumsy. In fact I am considering another car because it and my last car - an '85 delta 88 keep getting me speeding tickets and racing grudges I can't afford.

-Karly, MA.

21st Oct 2004, 19:22

87' Cutlass Supreme.

Great car to the thieves!!!

I've had two stolen in the last two years..

And just like I have read, mine too was stolen a month after I purchased it (the first one, which was equipped with the hard to find auto moon-roof).

The second thief enjoyed waiting for me to customize it with 20 inch rims..

Word of advice, if you buy this great classic, you better sleep in it!!

28th Oct 2004, 16:53

I have a 1987 Cutlass Supreme, Whin I bought it it had 102,000 miles, I don't know if it is some kind of special addition or anything, but it has t-tops bucket seats and the shifter is on the floor. The engine is a 3.8 v6. You can reach me at olds_77_88@yahoo.com.