1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews

1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

My perfect car

Faults:

Head gasket was fixed right before I had it.

Fixed the front end suspension, alternator, and that is it!

Great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2010

1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles

Faults:

1 & 2 don't work on the A/C or heat.

I have speckled white spots where the windshield meets the dash.

Replaced alternator 2x.

Replaced transmission.

Replaced tires many times.

Replaced thermostat.

Replaced the brakes an absurd number of times (annually).

ANTI THEFT system is horrible, just started & has happened 3x within the last month (how do I stop this?)

Windows get slow and then they are fine.

The key-less entry works, but when you click the lock, the horn sound fades and strengthens without cause.

The paint on the trunk has faded horribly.

The steering wheel is peeling.

Other than that, everything is great! (Ha)

General Comments:

This car is cute but worrisome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th October, 2008

1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass GLS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired126200 miles
Most recent distance126890 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Great car so far

Faults:

So far, the only that goes wrong is when the fuel tank gets on a quarter of a tank, the gauge goes to empty. If I shut the car off and start it up again, it will be fine for awhile.

Driver's side leather worn. I put on seat covers. It really helps the comfort.

General Comments:

I love this car. It has more miles than my previous 1998 Chevrolet Lumina, and is built better and the A/C works.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2008

1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tracker

Summary:

It's a pretty driveway ornament

Faults:

My parents gave me this car because they didn't want it anymore, so I'm not guilty of buying this boat anchor.

Apparently now the glove box also leaks because I went out to grab the owners manual to check on something and everything was wet. It hadn't even rained, it snowed.

As with a lot of other Cutlass's, the brake rotors cracked, and it goes through pads like crazy.

The trunk leaks, our primitive but utterly dependable 97 Tracker gets much better gas mileage, the fan doesn't work on the first two settings, and it leaks coolant. Which brings up another point: There is no radiator cap nor a transmission dipstick.

I am actually ashamed as a resident of Michigan that the people in Detroit would can't do better than this. Don't sell something unless you can be proud of it, or didn't your Mommas teach you that?

General Comments:

It's a very comfortable car to drive, with good performance and handling.

The interior is very well done. The body work is solid and there is very little rust.

It gets dismal gas mileage, but I can't blame GM as the big three don't really seem to care about building really efficient cars.

The engineering details, such as keeping things from leaking in and out of the car, escaped the designers.

The brake components were poorly thought out and thrown on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th November, 2007

1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

The fan switch does not work on 1 and 2 setting, only 3 or higher.

The horn began to malfunction shortly after I bought it. Sometime I would have to slam my hand on the horn button for it to work. Then one day I was in my bedroom with the car sitting in the driveway when the horn went off. I had to take the fuse out to turn it off. I've since replaced it with another horn button mounted on the dash above the cupholder.

The rear brakes collect dust quickly and make noise. After cleaning with brake dust remover, the problem subsides.

The driver's window will malfunction every now and then.

General Comments:

Since replacing the regular engine oil with Royal Purple motor oil, the car runs smoother and burns less fuel.

The seats could use a bit more cushioning.

This car is a descent grocery getter or work car if you can put up with the mechanical annoyances.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2006

1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

The worst car Oldsmobile could have ever made

Faults:

My head gasket blew, along with all the other things that is going wrong now.

General Comments:

This car is the worst car I have ever purchase. All of my repairs have been over $200. Head gasket went out, water pump twice, water going into the input, nothing goes right with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2006

22nd Jun 2006, 14:28

Tell us how you really feel. So do you like the car?

I assume you don't mean $200 total on repairs over the past 5 years do you?

22nd Jun 2006, 18:48

OK. How many miles you got on it?

23rd Jun 2006, 13:45

"The worst car Oldsmobile could have ever made"

You should have bought an Aurora. That's THE BEST car that Olds ever made!!!

Average review marks: 4.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews