1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass GLS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

$7600 piston slapping gas hog

Faults:

Intake gasket replacement, wheel bearings.

General Comments:

The engine in this car is horrible. It has piston slap until the engine is warmed up. Also has an unknown knock in the engine at all temps. It get less than 25MPG. I change the oil every 2000 miles and maintain the car often, and yet it is still going down hill.

This car is a gas hog with no power, and sounds like it's blowing up. GM claims the piston slap is normal; I don't know about that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2006

21st Mar 2006, 16:00

Piston slap is not normal. Once more, GM is sticking its head in the sand over one of its many problems. See http://www.pistonslap.com/ for more information about this.

1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass GLS 3.1 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles

Summary:

Beautiful Death @ 120+ mph

Faults:

Intake manifold blew.

Head Gaskets blew twice.

Tire not durable at all!

Rear window malfunctioned.

Trunk leaked.

Always ran hot.

Alternator went twice.

Serpentine belt went 3 times.

Water pump died.

Anti - freeze disappeared rapidly.

Washer fluid stopped working.

Passenger seat broke.

General Comments:

I hated and loved this car at the same time!

It was great for demolishing those (inexperience) import drivers.

Even killed a few mustangs with her.

She always had problem, but I never wanted to get rid of her.

Was thinking about dropping a new engine in her when I was hit by an import running a red light.

I would never buy another GM car, but it was fun while it lasted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

9th Nov 2005, 09:44

If you race a family sedan it will break a lot... I can't see you beating anything, but a base Mustang with a car like this. The 87-93 4 cylinder or maybe the 94-97 3.8 dog. You can't expect an older car to perform well when you pound on it racing other cars. Don't come on here and complain about the cars quality when it is clearly driver error and lack of common sense that caused the problems you are having.

1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

This car sucks

Faults:

Well as seems to be the trend my wifes 99cutlass has many problems. a/c light keeps going off/on, intake gaskets, drivers side window don't work. these are some junky cars!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2005

1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass GLS 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carSubaru Wagon

Summary:

A recall that never happened

Faults:

This car is the poster child for why GM failed, I have a 99 GLS. The owners are now paying for it with dismal trade in and retail values. My car is mint, but the best offer I got was from a dealer who offered me $3600 for trade in, I jumped. Here's my experience:

- The fan not working at 1-2 settings is a problem almost every owner has, and GM has done NOTHING.

- The coolant leaks in almost every car. Mine started leaking at around 30k miles.

- The oil is burning, as the car, no matter how well your coolant is maintained burns HOT.

- The brakes shook at about 12000 miles, and I rotors cut and new ones put in, 10k miles later, same thing.

- The engine light! Oh my God, does this just go on and off at will? It's almost as possessed as the AC light.

- AC leaks, it's happened twice already, $200 to test and $400 to fix.

- The window on the driver's side sometimes just stops working. This is especially good news when you have no AC (see above) and its 90+ degrees out.

- I will say this, the stereo works great, it's good to have blasting in order to drown out the humming sound from the transmission.

- And yes, that battery/alternator light when it rains. I can't figure this one out.

General Comments:

They not only killed Oldsmobile, which ONCE was a good car company, but they added insult to injury by manufacturing these lemons, forever tainting the legacy of Oldsmobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2004

29th Apr 2005, 21:43

I own one 99 Oldsmobile Cutlass and I'm having trouble with the same things...

21st Jul 2005, 20:30

I COMPLETELY agree! Same problems!

7th Aug 2005, 23:30

My 1 and 2 switches also stopped working and my driver side window motor is slowly dieing... with 28k miles!!1999gls shouldn't do that.

13th Sep 2005, 18:30

ME TOO! ME TOOO! Wow I just thought I got a lemon, GM is making me angry...grrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Laters.

Average review marks: 4.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews