1971 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1971 Oldsmobile Delta 88 455 V8 from North America

Model year1971
Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1971
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 455 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance256000 miles

Summary:

They don't make them like they used to! Too Bad!

Faults:

Alternator replaced at 145,000 miles.

Starter replaced at 121,000 miles.

Belts and hoses replaced at 98,000 and 202,000 miles.

Periodic tuneups and oil changes.

General Comments:

Race car performance and handling, timeless styling, roomy and comfortable, beautiful and rich woodgrain appliques on dash, jewel-like quality, 30 mpg... why can't they still build cars like this!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2004

22nd Dec 2004, 07:13

30 mpg with a 455?

Is all of your driving downhill?

22nd Dec 2004, 09:03

This reviewer might be the only person on the planet who would use the term "jewel-like" when referring to the quality of a 1970's GM product...

8th Feb 2005, 05:02

1971 Delta 88 2 door coupe - excellent performance transportation, style, and class - weak points body and floor didn't hold up very well after 100K mark. 350 engine mileage approx. 20 mph.

5th Apr 2006, 13:02

I have a 1971 Delta 88 convertible does anyone know how many of these were made?

12th Jul 2006, 23:11

My 1971 Olds Delta 88 2 dr coupe, 455 V8 was one of my favorite vehicles of all time. Soooo comfy to drive in on long trips and could smoke the tires just by pressing the gas pedal to the floor. Gas mileage was around 8-10 mpg, but when gas was 50 cents a gallon who cared? The body was prone to rust, but the engine and transmission were bullet proof. I've owned 4 older Oldsmobiles and I have many fond memories of that big ol' beast. If they ever perfect alternate fuels (such as hydrogen from water generators) I'd be trying to hunt another one down. For now, if you can afford the gas or you can find a good one real cheap I would strongly recommend the '71 Olds Delta 88 to anyone. You couldn't help, but smile while driving it. GREAT CAR!!

14th Sep 2008, 07:07

There were 2,883 of these cars made.

1971 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Town Sedan 350 Rocket from North America

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 350 Rocket Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles

Summary:

A classic, timeless beauty from a bygone era

Faults:

Brake master cylinder and right front slave cylinder at about 93,000.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, fun to drive and elegant looking. The car turns heads and gets lots of thumbs up. The 350 has tons of power and gas mileage is much better than the 455 that many models came with. I can fix almost everything that has gone wrong so far, and those have been very minor problems for a car this old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2004

1971 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Convertible 455 from Sweden

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1977
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 455 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carFiat 125

Summary:

After 26 years I still love the car.

Faults:

Overheating problems at 90000 kilometers.

Leaking radiator at 120000 kilometers.

AC compressor broke at 180000 kilometers.

Leaking radiator at 210000 kilometers.

General Comments:

A lovely car with a design that still feels modern and elegant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2003

8th Dec 2005, 21:59

Hello Swedish owner of an Oldsmobile

Here's an important question I always ask when thinking about American cars:is it gas guzzling to run and is it reliable and easy to find parts for? In a daily car you want this, and I want to know if your Oldsmobile actually meets this standard.

11th May 2007, 16:42

8th Dec 2005, 21:59.

I'm not the writer of this review, but is your question serious or are you just being sarcastic?

26th Apr 2008, 13:14

That's pretty funny. I, too, own a 1971 Olds Delta 88 Royale convertible. I've owned it since 1977. It has a 455 cubic inch Rocket V-8 engine.

This is a very large and very heavy car. Parking lots in Europe are not designed for a vehicle this big. Even so, gas mileage on the highway is 18 miles per gallon. Do your own metric conversion.

This car has gone over 200,000 miles with few problems. Just this month, we pulled the engine because of a leaking manifold. Since we have it out, we decided to have it and the transmission rebuilt, although both were working fine. This engine burns no oil at all. Also, this is an absolutely gorgeous car. People always stop to look at it.

1971 Oldsmobile Delta 88 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles

Faults:

Transmission went out, a/c went out.

General Comments:

First car, loved it.....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2000

22nd May 2001, 19:30

Hey man, I just bought a 71 D-88 with a 455 rocket. 99k original miles/2nd owner.

Any comments and info would be appreciated.

Mharik@bellsouth.net.

12th Sep 2001, 11:25

I have three Delta 88's - one four door '74 Royale and two '71 two doors, one with a 455 and 70,000 miles. I love them.

9th Jun 2003, 22:00

I have a 1971 Oldsmobile Delta with the 455 rocket engine and I am only 17years old!! I need to know how about much would it cost to get the interior done on it. Just E-Mail me on yahoo with your response please. E-Mail address is (cutta2282) on yahoo. Thanks!!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 6 reviews