1977 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Reviews

1977 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 403 from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership1986
Engine and transmission 403 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles

Summary:

Great car!!!

Faults:

My grandmother gave my Oldsmobile Delta 88 to me when I was 15. That has to be the best car I ever owned. It had the 403 CID engine that would beat Z28s from light to light. Time from 0-60mph was 6.4 seconds.

My Delta was red on red on red and came with rare Olds rims. I trusted that car to take me anywhere, and I regret to this day trading it. I'm constantly trying to find another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2009

17th Jun 2009, 10:42

Though these were awesome cars, they were not that incredibly quick from 0-60. the New Mustang V8 has 315 HP and 320 Lbs of torque, and can only do 0-60 in 5.5 seconds.

0-60 in 8 or 9 seconds is more reasonable. The 403 V8 had a lot of torque, but only put out about 190 HP. It was chocked with tiny intake ports, low compression ratio, and a mediocre 4 barrel carburetor.

17th Jun 2009, 11:29

They'll never make another one; in fact they'll never make anything like it.

It is truly sad what's become of this country.

17th Jun 2009, 11:42

"Time from 0-60mph was 6.4 seconds."

- First let me tell you that I am one of the biggest Olds fans on the net. But this is asking too much to believe. The only way that car could do that 0-60 time is if it were dropped out of a B-52!

1977 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Coupe 350 Small Block from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 350 Small Block Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

Full sized fury in comfort!

Faults:

The boat anchor of a trans (the Turbo

200) went out, so a Turbo 350 with a shift kit went in.

The paint is faded.

General Comments:

You can use the cruise control on the long drive to the drag strip. Drop in a built small block and some gears and you can run 12's while feeling like sitting on your living room couch. Its got 6 way power seats, tempmatic climate control, ignites the tires until your foot cramps up from being glued to the floorpan, and can store six of your friends in the trunk when you go to the drive in movies. Oh yeah did I mention that it's only 3800 pounds!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

9th Nov 2004, 15:53

Drive-in movies?

When was the last time you went to one of those?

Not to mention being crammed in a grubby trunk with five other smelly guys just to save a lousy $1.50 admission fee?

Ugh. Shades of Cheech & Chong!

4th Mar 2005, 20:44

And what may I ask is wrong with Cheech and Chong???

1977 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 403 Olds from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 403 Olds Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carChevrolet 1953 210 sedan

Summary:

Sleeper powerhouse

Faults:

Starter motor regularly until headers moved exhaust heat away.

Carpet in front wearing at edges for entry/egress.

Master cylinder just before I bought the car.

Minor rusting.

General Comments:

Has a 2.41 rear end, goes like stink on the open road, won't quite take a Z28 6 speed light to light.

Did extremely well at burnout contest recently.

Big room for serious tunes.

2 door luxury land yacht.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2004

19th Jun 2004, 21:05

So you've been abusing the car.. Well don't complain when it dies on you.

8th Aug 2004, 07:08

I've got a 1977 LTD II. Its got a 2.50 rear end stuffed inside a 9inch fed by a 351W V8 channeled through a FMX (AKA Heavy as hell tranny).

The 351W hits torque peak at a Diesel like 1600RPM, so it does good redlight to redlight, but you open it up on a wide open road and it'll do 85 in second gear and still have third.

On a regular 1\4 mile its running about 15.5@88MPH. Not bad for a 4100LB Barndoor.

Later,

Dustin.

1977 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 350 Chev L from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 Chev L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Summary:

A perfect first car. A tank on wheels

Faults:

Radiator, windshield, window motors and driver's

door would open, but not from the inside.

General Comments:

Fast car for a 4 door. It's a great car.

I love it. We pulled my mom's Dodge out of the ditch.

If you push it, trying to fit friends in, you can get 4 in the trunk, 6 in the back seat, and 4 in the front; I can't think of a Japanese car that can fit 14 people in a car.

But it's not the best on gas. But when you drive it, it's well worth it. My first car and my favorite car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2004

24th Feb 2006, 19:02

I had a 1977 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale, white with tan interior. 350 Chev motor. Ran very good. Had 167,000 miles. Had to replace upper control arm bushings, brakes, caliper pins, tranny tail shaft seal (leaking), steering box was worn out, replaced, floor rusted out above the catalytic converter, repaired, burns no oil, very nice highway car. Suspension very floaty. Interior parts poor, dash was shot. Replaced with a crack free one (have yet to see another without a crack) Miss that big slab of metal, but its gone to a better place. A body shop bought it from me to do a frame off restore on it. Car was only as hard on gas as hard as one drove it. Great car.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews