1979 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1979 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 350 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 350 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

A keeper. Owned it for thirty years, plan to keep it till I wear it out

Faults:

Updated March 2012:

Frequent replacement of the A/C compressor.

Engine has been remarkably durable, and trouble free.

Routine maintenance, and regular service keeps it purring.

General Comments:

Updated March 2012:

Every time I get tempted to buy a new car, I go to the dealer and drive it, and then when I get back into the Oldsmobile, I realize there is no reason to abandon it, since it handles as well in most cases as the newer models.

Built on a full chassis, with telescoping bumpers.

No airbags, only seat belts, but so far so good.

Performance is very good, plenty of power, and comfortable on the highway on a long trip.

(I've been reviewing this car on this site for many years now, and will continue to do so every few years, unless the car outlasts me, and at my age that's entirely possible).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

15th Jan 2004, 19:46

I've had my '77 Delta 88 (same basic car as your '79) since 1987. I bought it for college for $1,150 and I've had it ever since. The car is now approaching 300,000 miles and I still haven't found a reason to replace it (I did buy a sports car along the way that I use only on weekends). I'm only 34 and I'm thinking this might be the last car I'll ever need to own. I do wish, however, that I could go back in time and buy a brand new one (unfortunately, my four years in college were spent in Rochester, NY so the salt the vehicle endured during those years has had a lasting impact on the body/frame).

1979 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 260cid from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 260cid Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65550 miles
Most recent distance91456 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

A very well built car!!!

Faults:

When I first bought it, the car needed a starter.

About 6 months later, I put a heater core in her, but it has been a pleasure to drive.

General Comments:

When I start it up, she purrs like a kitten.

Handles like a dream, and holds her own when the gas pedal is pushed 1/2 way down.

I've taken two vacations in it.

On the second trip, came up a 7% grade, it whipped a brand new FORD coming up that mountain in West Virginia!!!

The big car ride is excellent for rough roads in Northern VA.

It was owned a lady who is a customer at my service station where I work.

It was willed to this lady whose aunt took really good care of it for 17 years. It was a diesel powered that had the engine blow up under warranty at a little over 10,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2003

1979 Oldsmobile Delta 88 LX I think V8 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 350 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A cheap, comfortable ride

Faults:

I had to replace the carburetor at 150000.

The speedometer light does not work. I cannot see how fast I am going at night.

The passenger door behind the driver occasionally does not work.

The first owner had to replace the transmission.

General Comments:

I am always on the freeway, and for the car's sheer size, it can handle exceptionally well at 80mph.

I can easily fit all 4 of my snow tires in the trunk of the car.

The seats are extremely comfortable and can comfortably fit 6 people within it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2003

23rd Sep 2005, 10:37

I recently bought a 1979 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale for $750. The interior is not in the best condition, but the engine seems to be running strong. I'm glad to see that everyone on this site is satisfied with this year and model. The odometer reads at 88,000, but then again it only has enough digits for under 100,000. I hope to use the car for the remainder of my high school career and throughout college.

1979 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 350 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 350 V8 Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance51000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Detroit luxury at its finest

Faults:

My gear shift indicator broke on dashboard stays in park mode.

The electric truck button does not work in glove box.

Passenger visor keeps falling down.

General Comments:

This is a wonderful vehicle to drive due to the smooth ride and powerful engine.

It is a real classic and runs like the day it was made.

The car is mint and was previously owned by a 80 yr old man who bought it new march 1979.

The car has been in several car shows and is all original.

The car performs like the day it was driven off the show room floor.

No problems thus far since being owner, love driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

1979 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 350 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 350 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79030 miles
Most recent distance86900 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Delta 88 by Oldsmobile, the only way to go!

Faults:

The brakes, and the alternator.

General Comments:

I bought this car in October of 2001 for $1,000 U.S. It is a light yellow almost cream color, with a black top. I have since tinted the windows and have put the wheel covers on it from my old 1978 Oldsmobile 98, which I owned before the Delta. My plan are to restore it, but customize it as well.

It has some minor rust and dings, but I will fix all of that up in due time. I then will paint it another two tone color scheme and will lower it and bolt on some nice new rims on it.

For the interior I plan on adding leather seats, and redoing the headliner and other minor things.

The car has: air conditioning, power windows, power locks, rear defrost, AM/FM radio, cruise control, a power driver's seat and a tilt steering wheel. It also has a power trunk release inside the glove compartment. This is a fully loaded Delta 88.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2002

27th Mar 2005, 20:58

Its fully loaded yet it doesn't have leather seats? What about a sunroof?,they were available (though aren't very many with them)

29th Mar 2005, 13:33

Weren't T-tops also available???

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 10 reviews