1988 Oldsmobile Toronado FE3 3.8 turbo from North America


I bought the car on Ebay, in mint shape. The only thing I really had to do is replace the thermostat (heater wasn't working) and a tune up, as these require special spark plugs only.

General Comments:

This car is a Toronado FE3, a very rare model, which has the Buick 3800 with TSI turbo engine instead of the GM 3800. I put few more chips in it, and now it rates around 380 horses. It's nice to go from 0 to 60 in just under 5 seconds.

The car drives perfect, and handles very well. Some of the upholstery is starting to wear off due to the age, but since I only have 53k miles on it, I will fully restore it.

I took out the tape player/radio, and put a CD player in. Also it has a back up camera, which comes on when you put it in reverse (another extreme rarity).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2013

28th Apr 2013, 15:28

The FE3 package was just a suspension package.

Also find it hard to believe that putting "a few more chips in it" would increase the HP of your Buick "TSI" turbo from stock 240 to 380.

28th Apr 2013, 15:49

A backup camera? In a 1988? Is it an aftermarket item? There were no factory backup cameras then. And as for the turbo, unless somebody did that mod before you bought this car, no Toronado was ever available with one.

28th Apr 2013, 18:18

If your Toronado really had that much power, it would burn the front tires off before it ever hit 60, or break.

These never had turbos in them either, someone must've swapped the engine.

3rd May 2013, 14:51

A Toronado with 380 HP? Sure! The 1968, '69 & '70 with 455s!

1988 Oldsmobile Toronado Trofeo convertible 3.8 liter V6 from North America


Darth Vader on wheels


This is my second Trofeo and like the first one it has been surprisingly reliable.

I now only have the 1988 Trofeo convertible. Only 8 were custom built.

It's no longer a daily driver and is in storage all winter. That's when some of the electrical glitches appear but go away once its driven for a few days. With the high level of complex electronics its remarkably trouble free. The GM 3800 engine is proven.

The only repair done so far was a pulley and tune up.

I have 5 cars and they have been the least expensive to operate.

General Comments:

The Trofeo is unique by itself; being a convertible makes it that much more special. I love all the attention it gets.

The V6 is adequate, but a Cadillac V8 would make it a real thrill.

The interior is in showroom condition and the 10 way adjustable seats are very comfortable. Its elaborate electronics were ahead of its time. 148 buttons.

If you can find one in mint condition, get it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2008

5th May 2008, 20:58

"Darth Vader on wheels"


1988 Oldsmobile Toronado Trofeo 3.8 V6 from North America


A beautiful collector's piece


Loose steering wheel.

Parking brake sensor.

General Comments:

The 3800 V6 provides smooth power for this car and, it handles well and rides nicely. Finding body parts might be a bit of a challenge considering the cars aren't common (not here, anyway). Overall, these cars are beautiful, and great to drive. The unique style is what attracted me to them. The interior is comfortable, with leather seats you can sink into, inflatable lumbar support and a digital instrument pannel. convienient. The exterior has smooth lines and distinct styling cues such as the concealed headlights, the "Trofeo" badges on the doors and full-width tail light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2003