2000 Opel Astra 1.7 turbo diesel from France


I thought it was a high performance bargain


The alternator needs to be replaced after just 55,000K

There has been a problem with the injector since I bought the car which no one can trace.

General Comments:

I find it amazing that when the alternator breaks you lose power steering. Very dangerous feature.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002

2000 Opel Astra Coupe 2.0 litre turbo from UK and Ireland


Fast nice car, but not too reliable


Front bumper was loose, and was missing fixing bolts since it came off the production line.

Went for service, and the dealer said it had a blown head gasket only after 19,500 miles, and since it was out of warranty.. tough. They paid in the end due to the service history and it being practically new. Still don't know if it is fixed properly, as it's still loosing coolant, but cannot see where (no leaks on ground).

General Comments:

Nice car, fast, but thirsty. Dealer service ain't good, and they are putting me off Opel/Vauxhall due to this, preferred at times my GTI-6.

Interior could be different to the swamper Opel models for the money involved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2002

2000 Opel Astra Comfort 1.4 16v petrol from Hungary


Good value for money


Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

Seats are really uncomfortable, the engine and transmission are noisy at higher speeds. This car was not built for long journeys.

The suspension is much better than in the previous Astra.

The front lamps dim due to steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2001

2000 Opel Astra Elegance 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


Fast, sporty, roomy, well built, but disappointing suspension


Intermittent fault in the panel lights. Fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

This is my tenth Opel and probably my last for two reasons: the suspension has been made more rigid to the point where the car is uncomfortable on all but the best roads. This is not a fault with this particular car.

Secondly, there are only two horn buttons which are hard to hit in an emergency particularly on a bend, and I have nearly had an accident on this account on more than one occasion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th June, 2001

6th Sep 2001, 12:48

I own an Astra Comfort D, and I think that the suspension works quite well, yes it's little rigid, but it handles very good.

Regarding the two buttons to activate the horn, I agrre with you, sometimes in case of an emergency they're "out of place". But you get used to it.

2nd Oct 2001, 05:11

With my old car, I would hit the horn while turning. In my new Opel Astra Sportive I no longer have that problem.

Yes, it requires some adaptation, but you'll get used to this.

Scorpio D.

7th Jan 2002, 18:52

The Rigid Suspension (tuned by Lotus) is a trade off for brilliant handling. Personally I'd rather be flying around a bend at ridiculous speeds knowing that my car isn't going to turn into an understeering/oversteering mess for no apparent reason.

On the horn issue. I agree it could be better, but it's not a big deal. I got used to it very quickly.

The TS Astra sure is a car that the Mark 1 Golf GTi (One of the first true "pocket rockets") would truly be proud of.

Viva TS Astra.

23rd Oct 2010, 11:55

Not a bad car, though, when do you do this belt?