2002 Opel Astra Reviews

2002 Opel Astra G 1.4 16 valve petrol from Bulgaria

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.4 16 valve petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 kilometres
Most recent distance134000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Corrado

Summary:

Good city car, mileage is perfect

Faults:

Had to replace the two front shock absorbers as the original ones were too soft.

Two headlamps went out.

General Comments:

The car is as quick cornering as my 1991 VW Corrado G60, due to very low kerb weight; approximately 980 kilos.

A bit uncomfortable front seats. Other than that, whether you believe it or not - it has been the best car, as nothing went wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2010

1st Feb 2012, 05:10

How was the mileage? I'm doing a school project, and need to calculate how much it will cost me to drive it, and stuff like that.

2002 Opel Astra Comfort 1.4 from Greece

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired38 kilometres
Most recent distance101000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

I'm very satisfied with this car, and I will keep it for many years

Faults:

1. The back seat has started to wear badly.

2. Timing belt was changed at 70.000km.

3. Many electrical problems.

4. Exhaust.

5. Brakes.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car, however the seats are uncomfortable and the cost of mechanical parts is high.

The engine is good, but you have to rev the engine in order for it to come alive.

The air-condition is very good, but it's a bit noisy at high speeds.

The heater is very good.

I think that this car with a bigger engine would be better.

Generally, it is a very good car for both daily use in city and for trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2009

2002 Opel Astra Opel Wagon 1.6 liter from Philippines

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance14383 kilometres

Summary:

I would like to abstain from commenting at this point in time

Faults:

I bought my Opel Astra Wagon automatic transmission August 2002.Just last week, at the mark of the vehicle's third year, my right rear power window broke down. It just stopped working. I brought the vehicle to the dealer and they told me the whole power window mechanism had to be replaced -- it would cost me P30,000.00.

Why would a very well kept three year old German car have a power window suddenly break down. Yes it is three years old, but it's mileage is only 14,383km to date. I have an eight year old Japanese car (Toyota Corolla) but have never experienced problems with the power window ever.

Aren't German cars supposed to be more "durable/reliable/dependable" when it comes to 'life expectancy' of the vehicle and its corresponding components?

I tried to communicate with GM Philippines about my problem. I am still waiting for their response.

General Comments:

I am very much satisfied with my Opel Astra. This is by far the best vehicle I have purchased by far.

Unfortunately, my admiration for the brand and the vehicle was scarred by this problem I am faced with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2005

17th Aug 2005, 17:07

Considering German cars... almost every european survey about customer satisfaction gives japanese cars the edge, especially Toyota and Mazda. And the mileage does not really matter when it comes to power windows, that is mostly bad luck and age. If you want a German car that has real quality (remember, Opel is GM-owned and has to share many parts with non-German cars, and to make it worse, North-American cars, that has a horrible reliability standard!) you have to buy a BMW. And that costs... too much!

Greetings from Europe!

2002 Opel Astra Comfort 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Best car ever made with an excelent price and it accelerates extremely fast

Faults:

The engine starter blew at 40000 kilometers.

General Comments:

This car is extremely fast. It has beat a 2001 Beetle Turbo.

This is one of the most comfortable cars ever made.

Also it is a secure car with 3 point seat belts and 5 headrests, 4 airbags, traction control and ESP.

It has a 1.8 liter engine, 16 valve, 130 horsepower, but with only 900 kilograms of weight, it can run 0 to 100 (0 to 60 miles per our) in less than 8 seconds. Once I reached 220 km per hour, and it felt better than my 1998 Audi A4. It is, definitely, much better car than the Audi, and it cost less than half.

The interior materials are 1st guality, and with almost 50000 kilometers, it is still like new, with no sounds in the interior, just as I bought it.

It has a standard 8 speakers BOSE CD stereo, that looks extremely simple, but it sounds better than the Audi's BOSE.

I love my car and it is the best thing ever!!!

It cost me $17000 dollars, almost 18000 with the import costs. I have compared it with the jetta, and it offers lots more than it. I have also beat a manual VR6.

The only bad thing I found was that the engine has no power under 2500 rpm, but after that, it feels like a turbo engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2003

25th Feb 2005, 10:07

The weight is more like 1100 kilos (800 is only a bit more than Lotus quote for an Exige!!). Interesting how it managed to beat a VR6 as well, because that has 60 bhp more and is only marginally heavier.

9th Oct 2005, 17:04

May I ask why anyone would import an Opel Astra to the America?

29th Jan 2007, 14:22

* Just curious where did you import your car from? and how did you manage to get it to comply with Federal US vehicle regulations (very hard / expensive). - By the way Saturn will be officially importing the Opel Astra later this year (2007).

23rd Jul 2007, 19:40

The exact weight is 1225 kilograms, and its 0-100 km/h time is 13.04 seconds according to the AUTOMOBIL magazine (June 2001).

Its quieter than the Civic of the same year; (noise at 60 km/h in the Astra is 59.5 decibels, while in the Civic noise is 64.7 decibels). The problem is the fuel economy, but overall it is an excellent car and handles really nice.

6th Sep 2007, 06:03

Just curiosity.. How did you manage to get an Opel in North America?

14th Nov 2007, 01:48

I have aStra 2002 at Iraq an its grate car, but no spare part available in Iraq.

13th Feb 2010, 19:34

Well, we have to say some thing here... the Astra car is one of the best in its segment... It's wonderful in everything, but only one thing... that GM OWNS OPEL, and that's why it's going down... hard luck dear Opel!!!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 4 reviews