1999 Opel Corsa Reviews

1999 Opel Corsa CDI 1.6 16v Automatic from Belgium

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 kilometres
Most recent distance109000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Average car

Faults:

Overall, the car is very nice, but it has a lot of problems at 100000 kms. The EGR valve had problems, the engine pot had to be replaced, and the indicator would not work.

General Comments:

The acceleration of the car is quite good for an old model like this. It can go up to 200 km/h, which is amazing. However, sitting in this car can be uncomfortable for passengers, as there is little space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd October, 2010

1999 Opel Corsa Sport 1.5TD from Portugal

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5TD Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance340000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Great car, great looks and top reliability!

Faults:

Minor faults during this period:

- Driver's seat broken

- Horn buttons at steering wheel are worn

- Leaking heater matrix @ 230.000km

- Starter motor @ 280.000km.

General Comments:

Excellent product. Reliable, solid and bullet proof, the Corsa B, when equipped with an Isuzu power plant becomes a truly strong work horse. It provides brisk acceleration, regarding its 1500cc; it runs smoothly and it's so MPG friendly: usually 5.5liters per 100km under heavy traffic; 4.8l on open road. I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2009

1999 Opel Corsa Champion 1.0 12V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 12V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

Looks great, hidden problems...

Faults:

Heating control lights & horn - replaced on purchase in Nov 04.

Exhaust - replaced Summer 05.

Battery - replaced Autumn 05.

Head gasket - Oct 05 - total rebuild and realignment.

EGR Valve - Engine light showing periodically, hesitation in lower gears, and trouble starting when hot - replaced Jan 06, and problems again Jun 06.

Air flow metre - lack of power, idles - replaced Sept 06.

Screen wash - working periodically - solved with thorough cleaning of filter in pump.

Oil tank - new valve fitted after I noticed a leak!

General Comments:

I loved this car - it looks great, alloy wheels, spoiler and sporty body kit. Had it checked out before purchase. Couple of minor issues which were sorted out by the dealer.

However it has been nothing but trouble. Have spent the guts of €2,500 (excluding general services) in less than 2 years, and my Dad is a mechanic!!! Have found the cheapest way to keep it running is to buy new parts on e-bay and have them fitted at home.

Economical when it comes to fuel. But have to top up oil quite regularly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2006

19th Dec 2006, 08:40

Update - head gasket gone Dec 06 at 80,000 miles. Getting rid in the New Year!!!

19th Jul 2007, 10:59

I have a Opel corsa 1300 van. Just had the head reconditioned.

After 90 km we took head off and valve guides were excessively worn and valves started seizing.

Can you help?

Jason.

1999 Opel Corsa 1.2 16v from Malta

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles

Summary:

I like it's performance I hate it's body

Faults:

In 2 years and a half I have changed the battery, the silencer, a sensor, the radiator plus I have rust all over. I'm getting it fixed and sold next month. I hate it and I am afraid I hate the brand too.

General Comments:

It's fast and comfortable, but full of trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2006

4th May 2009, 06:24

Different country, only slightly different details. What a shame!

1999 Opel Corsa Swing 1.0 from Poland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Don't Know
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance36400 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Nice car and not expensive exploitation

Faults:

Catalyst holder was broken.

Backseat lock blocked.

Stepper motor destroyed at 36000km (after 1.5 years).

General Comments:

The cabin is very comfortably and quiet, nice design of seat material, trunk is big in comparison to other cars of this class.

The car is economic, and has a good service station. However next time I will choose a stronger engine (currently 54 KM).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2001

1999 Opel Corsa Eco 1.0 from Portugal

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

Nothing yet!

General Comments:

Nice little car for European city driving. Very economical and easy to drive. The suspension is very soft, but materials used in the interior are rather cheap and uneasy.

Eats front tires like rabbits do carrots.

Rather fast, easily reaches 170kmph (don't tell anyone!).

It does have a slight overturning problem.

Great brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

1999 Opel Corsa 1.2 from Spain

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance47000 kilometres

Summary:

Get rid of it...

Faults:

Strange rumbling noise that no dealer or mechanics could find out what it was. Many, many small ridiculous problems. This car made me walk on the road several times...

General Comments:

Forget the Opel Corsa. With less money, you'll buy a better car. Opel has a good reputation in car reliability, but this Corsa model makes me wonder if that is true. I have some friends with Opel Corsas, and they are all getting rid of them!! Besides, I don't find the car design attractive enough to take all those problems I told you about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th December, 2000

6th Feb 2001, 14:20

Had a Corsa in the demanding conditions of Mexican roadways, it is 7 years old, and has not had a single problem.

31st Aug 2001, 09:06

I am from Australia, and the equivalent is a Holden Barina City.

See my review under Holden Barina City (A lemon...)

I agree with the author of this review. The Opel Corsa (Holden Barina) is a less than satisfactory car.

27th Sep 2006, 16:02

I am from Serbia and I have corsa 1.0 12v for one year;I must to say that it is a terrible little car. Engine is very weak, and the body too. In our country corsa has just one good attribute: I can very easy find spare parts for service. And nothing else. Now I save money to buy another car, probably volkswagen (which is much better).

22nd Oct 2006, 15:27

My girlfriend is from serbia and she has a corsa 1.2 for over 4 years and she is very satisfied with her.

15th Jul 2010, 20:26

Hello. I am from Sri Lanka. I have an Opel Corsa B 1998 3 cylinder. I have had problems with it; it starts well, but it does not accelerate. Can anyone give me a reason for this issue?

1999 Opel Corsa City 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, economical, an ideal first car

Faults:

Exhaust bracket replaced under warranty at first service. Cooling fan slightly displaced at 12,000 miles, also replaced immediately under warranty.

General Comments:

Crossn dealers absolutely brilliant, service and advice excellent, Would definitely buy another Opel from this dealer. My only quibble is that the seats are a little uncomfortable for the lower back. I am getting 250 miles per week for about £20 IEP which is pretty good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2000

1999 Opel Corsa Viva 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

With 54hp it's not exactly a pocket rocket, but what power it does have is used well. The suspension doesn't give a very comfortable ride on Irish roads but, it does corner very well and comes as standard with 165mm tyres giving it plenty of grip. A fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2000

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews