1987 Opel Kadett Reviews

1987 Opel Kadett D 1.2 petrol from Iceland

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres

Summary:

Why dont they still make cars like that???

Faults:

Brake pads.

General Comments:

Drove this used car for 120.000 km with no maintenance except brake pads, I did not even change the oil or check the radiator fluid.

Low fuel consumption.

Simple, cheap, reliable, unbreakable - what else do you want?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2006

1987 Opel Kadett E 1.3i from Serbia

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired163000 kilometres
Most recent distance216000 kilometres
Previous carOltcit Club

Summary:

Nice, cheap and reliable car, would by another anytime.

Faults:

Camshaft broke in half (but valves were not damaged)

Valve-lifter broke and burnt oil damaged piston rings

Most components of the breaking system replaced (main cylinder, rear cylinders, disks, drums, etc.)

Some rubber pipes replaced

Body work

Most of the faults were age related

General Comments:

Extensive body rust.

Reliably starts and -20 degrees Celsius.

Low fuel consumption (6l/100km on open road)

Engine has only 60 hp, but very elastic.

Engine very reliable and durable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2006

1987 Opel Kadett Club 1.3 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired269000 kilometres
Most recent distance292000 kilometres

Summary:

My first car..

Faults:

There were some major rust spots in the wheel arches and on the floor, and minor rust spots almost everywhere.

Clutch cable broke at 280.000 km.

General Comments:

My first car, so I have only good memories! I got it even before I got my license, and it drove great! The only problem was rust, which was appearing everywhere. I drove this car for one year and a half, after which I got my dad's old Renault 19.

Now, five years later, I am driving a Mercedes E-Class, but sometimes I still miss my old Opel Kadett...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2005

1987 Opel Kadett LS 1.6 diesel from Czech Republic

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired193000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

Cheap car - nothing special

Faults:

Starter went bad.

Oil leaks from engine.

Front brakes shakes.

General Comments:

Opel Kadett is absolutely mediocre car in my opinion.

1.6D engine is very noisy and it has only 55 HP and 96 Nm so acceleration is very poor and the top speed is about 160 kph.

Interior is shoddy.

Trunk is pretty spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2005

1987 Opel Kadett Club 1,6i from Sweden

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1,6i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired59220 kilometres
Most recent distance63000 kilometres

Summary:

Kadett- fun to drive and cheap to buy

Faults:

I've only had two small problems. Together they cost me 190 pounds.

You have to keep in mind that before I bought the car, it had only been driven approximately 200 km in the latest year. With that in mind it's not strange that two problems occurred when I started to use the car more every month than the previous owner did in one year!

General Comments:

The car of my dreams!

I love the design, both inside and outside.

The size of Kadett is perfect and at the same time it's spacious inside.

It's very fun to drive, I thank the gearbox and the steering for that. Especially the 5- speed gearbox- it's a pleasure to use!

Kadett are also cheap to buy and to drive. My fuel- costs are limited. One more good thing is that it always starts. Even in the winter when it's quite cold.

The only bad thing with Kadett is the rust, and the sensitivity towards rust. My car is now free from rust and I'm very happy for that.

I'm very pleased with my Kadett, so pleased that I'm going to buy one more! I will use my "new" one in the winter and the one I'm writing about here, I will use in the summer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2003

6th Jan 2009, 07:07

Definitely the best student car.

1987 Opel Kadett GL 1.8S from Sweden

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8S Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired212650 kilometres
Most recent distance235550 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

The best, but the rustiest

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This was my third Kadett in a row. Previously I've had a GT 1.8S -87 and after that a 1.6i Caravan -88. I have been extremely satisfied with all three. Only at one occasion one of them has broken down. It was due to a broken fuel pump. Below I list my positive and negatives regarding the current Kadett:

Positive:

Extremely cheap to buy (I paid 300 sek (roughly 30 pounds) ). Even though this price was low even for a kadett they are in general very cheap to buy.

Low fuel costs (Approx 6 litres/100 km).

Easy to work on yourself.

Cheap, and easy to come by, spare parts.

Good sized trunk.

Handles very well, even at high speed (well, high for a kadett).

Extremely reliable. Starts regardless of temperature.

Comfortable and fun to drive.

Good heating in the winter.

Negatives:

RUST! If Opel had spent a few extra D-mark on rust protection the Kadett would have been one of the best cars ever made (My humble opinion of course)

"Squeaking". Sometimes when going over a bump it sounds like the whole car is coming apart.

Freezing locks in the winter, a problem not exclusive for Opel, but still very annoying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

12th Jan 2003, 16:21

I own an Astra 1.3 gl I also think its one of the best cars made in the 1980's and maybe even the 90's I want to buy a GTE/GSI.

23rd May 2005, 13:57

I drive a 1982 Kadett 1.6 GLS (from the D-range of Kadetts). The car is a hand-me-down from my mother, but the thing still motors quite well! (Well, for a non-fuel-injected car that is) I have to agree on the rust-problem though, the bodywork will be gone long before the tough little engine finally decides to retire!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews