1991 Opel Vectra Reviews

1991 Opel Vectra SL 2.0 from Jordan

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 kilometres
Most recent distance214000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

A great reliable car

Faults:

The oxygen sensor was changed at 165000.

The fuel pump was changed at 180000.

General Comments:

A problem never fixed was the (orange) engine light coming up from time to time... I wonder if someone can help me?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2009

15th Sep 2009, 09:26

You don't have to fix it. It's normal in OPEL. I remember my father had Opel Kadet, it was the same. And my Father has 93 Opel Vectra, and it's the same as well. And I have 1991 Opel Calibra and guess what!! It's the same like yours and my fathers.. no big deal. Just ignore it.

1991 Opel Vectra 2.0i from Croatia

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Vectra

Summary:

Powerful and comfortable

Faults:

Blinking S light for the sport mode of driving, even if not pushed at the stick of the gearbox, so it has poor gear shift and problems to drive in a normal way.

General Comments:

It's a really great, powerful car with a lot of space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2006

1991 Opel Vectra 1.6 gas from Finland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.6 gas Don't Know
Previous carOpel Vectra

Summary:

Apart from rust, it is a cheap reliable car

Faults:

Timing chain broken in the parking hall, luckily speed is so low, otherwise it will destroy the whole engine. Then the car is history.

Timing chain and water pump replaced at 300 Euro.

Otherwise this car is no problem.

General Comments:

Good car, apart from well known parts need to be replaced on time, other wise it goes very well.

Good size. It is a real car. Easy on feul, average 6.5 liter per 100 KM, even in city use never go over 10.

I got this car from friend as a gift, so far I drive it 5000 KM, repare cost is 400 Euro. It seems is going to last a coupe of years more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th April, 2006

1991 Opel Vectra 4x4 2.0i from Jordan

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Good enough for its price

Faults:

Rusted chassis and rain water leakage into the baggage compartment since purchase.

Brake pump failure at 183000.

Standard items like clutch, brakes, timing belt, clutch, oxygen sensor at 185000km.

Heater radiator leakage at 187000.

Cooling water pump failure at 187000.

Coil spring failure at 190000.

"Motoronic" computer chip failure at 193000.

Oil gaskets leakage on all levels at 195000.

Rear wheel axle bearing failure at 197000.

Radiator blew up at 204000.

Front Suspension failure at 205000.

General Comments:

Well, may be I bought an old used car that the previous owner did not take much care of, but the frequency of failures was quite high nevertheless.

Spare parts was a problem, as the dealer could not provide spare parts for a 4x4 car since it was not commercially sold in the area.

Car stability at high speed is magnificent, especially at curves, however the acceleration is slow for 2.0L engine.

Maintenance of interior electrical parts is not easy, you have to take everything out to change a light.

4x4 Vectra has a completely different design on belts and mechanical parts than the standard Opel Vectra, which makes it very difficult to find used spare parts.

The engine operates at high temperature, and there's constant loss of cooling water, the car would over heat at any climatic heat elevation, which is critical in area with hot climate.

The Opel Vectra requires continuous care and maintenance, and is not suited for people with low car maintenance experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th December, 2002

1991 Opel Vectra GT 2.0 injection from France

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 25GTX

Summary:

Good performance.

Faults:

The antenna. Is it possible to stop the antenna for it not to get out always?

General Comments:

I've just bought an Opel Vectro GT 2.0 Injection. cost:1905 Euros. 102000Km. What do you think of that? Is it an affair?

Thanx.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2002

20th Dec 2004, 04:04

I think the Opel Vectra is a very good deal.

I have a Opel Vectra A from 1991 1.6i with 185.000 km on board, and it runs very nice. It runs at 190km/h with no problem, and it has great stability. I made several tuning changes to the exterior and interior of the car, but no changes to the mechanical parts. I have owned the car for 2 years, and the only problem I had with the car is that I changed the water pump. I'd say it is a great thing for a 13 year old car to run splendid at this age.

If you are interested in pics, write to adrianbarsanescu@yahoo.com

1st Feb 2005, 00:50

Very nice car, but it consumes much more fuel.

1991 Opel Vectra GT 1.8i from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired199500 kilometres
Most recent distance206500 kilometres
Previous carOpel Admiral

Summary:

Reliable, economic Grand Tourism

Faults:

Nothing really. The former owner really loved this car. All the maintenance was done perfectly. That's why it's not unsafe to buy a car with a lot of kilometres, if the maintenance is not neglected.

Okay, my battery died after two weeks, but that's it.

General Comments:

The car is equipped with an 1.8i engine. That's enough (especially with the close-ratio sports gear), but the 2.0i is better.

The car was bought with full options: powered mirrors, powered windows, Billstein suspension, etc. etc.

After more than 200.000kms, this car still runs very nice. A little bit of rust found its way to the well-known spots.

It makes a difference if you buy a GT with or without history. My car's history goes back until 1995.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2001

1991 Opel Vectra GT 2.0 130cv from Belgium

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 130cv Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance245000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Corsa

Summary:

Power, security, reliability..

Faults:

Nothing bad except the rear defrost.

General Comments:

I think this car is a really good compromise between power and economy.

For example : 200km/h on the motorway and only 12L/100km!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

1991 Opel Vectra GT 1.8i from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired198500 kilometres
Most recent distance204500 kilometres
Previous carOpel Vectra

Summary:

Nice Grand Tourism for little money

Faults:

Nothing yet. Was completely serviced when I purchased the car.

General Comments:

Nice, sporty and comfortable car.

Full of nice options (powered windows and mirrors, door lock, Recaro seats, CD-player, etc.).

The close-ratio gear box makes this 1.8i faster than 'normal' 1.8i models.

Not a wild design, but this one was serviced very good and it's just fun for not too much money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

1991 Opel Vectra GL Diamond 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Excellent, reliable, quick and comfortable

Faults:

Idle valve needed replacing at about 65,000 miles.

Oil leak (Minor) from Sump gasket at approximately 85,000 miles.

Oil leak (minor) from the head gasket at approximately 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

Car has been virtually 100% reliable, returns about 26-28 mpg in town, about 32-35 on a run (all hard driving).

Like it so much a 4X4 Turbo has just got to be next!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 9 reviews