1992 Opel Vectra Reviews

1992 Opel Vectra GLS 1.8i from Romania

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 kilometres
Most recent distance172000 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

Excellent for its time, still worth buying if you are on a small budget and find a good one

Faults:

Rust, rust and again rust. This is the only major issue with this car. In 10 years I had to change twice the bodywork below the doors and the rear wheel arches.

General Comments:

Very reliable, and when it does break down or needs something replaced, parts are cheap, easy to find and simple to work on.

I bought the car used (9 years old), and in 10 years of ownership, apart from the normal fluid and filter changes, I changed the battery (twice), spark plugs and cables, water pump and timing belt, a hose, a couple of bushes and light bulbs, brake pads and rear brake drums and the rear exhaust (twice). That's all! Granted, an average of 5000 km/year is not much at all, but given its age and the very poor condition of the roads in Romania, it was easy on my pocket.

Comfortable, with a lot of room inside, a huge boot, power steering, good to drive on longer journeys, but in summer it can get unpleasant as it has no air conditioning.

Although 19 years old, it still accelerates well - when not fully loaded. I took it to 160km/h on the highway last year and it felt it could go faster still. But the economical max speed is around below 115-120km/h.

Average fuel consumption is 7,5-8 l / 100 km - on normal Romanian roads, through villages, not on the highway. In winter, on snow covered roads and with a max speed of 50-70 km/h, it ate 9,5-10liters/100km, again not bad at all for its age and road conditions.

Safety wise it has nothing - apart from seat belts - no airbags, no ABS, no fancy electronics to help you out.

I sold it last month, and I reckon with normal use it could easily have another 5-8 years on the roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2011

1992 Opel Vectra CD 1.8i from Slovenia

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired299000 kilometres
Most recent distance310000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Very very good car

Faults:

Nothing bigger, only the ARF ventil.

The clutch was very bad at 300,000 km.

I change the clutch (it was the original)!

The thermostat.

That is all.

General Comments:

Very good car, very happy with him, no bigger problems. Small oil leak. All the time the best oil in engine Castrol TXT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2006

1992 Opel Vectra GLS 1.6i from Croatia

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 kilometres
Most recent distance164000 kilometres

Summary:

I'd buy it again!

Faults:

At 135,000 km electronics broke, resulting in car not being able to start. Cost of about 70 EUR. After that all was fine.

Small oil leak on cam cover, nothing serious.

Recently the car got a bit difficult to start, but with relatively low maintenance effort from my side it is expected. Still not sure what causes it.

General Comments:

Very satisfied with the car. Stable driving, can give newer models a run for their money sometimes.

It consumes about 6 liters/100km, very low service costs, no serious problems.

Even though it is 12 years old, it is still an eye catcher here and there (my car is moderately equipped with sport package).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

1992 Opel Vectra GT 2.0i from Romania

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance144000 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

Easy to maintain

Faults:

No major problems, just I've got a problem with the engine, at reliantly, probably is the air debit meter. Also there is a problem with the gear transmission, probably the clutch.

General Comments:

It's a very fast car (115 HP) but very dependent of the quality if the gas. Good stability at high speed. I love my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

22nd Mar 2006, 13:10

Well, thanks for your time, I got vectra Opel in Iraq, and recently the ABS indicator is still turning on in the display board, so I want figure out the reasons, besides I have made sure that the fuse is in a good condition. thank you.

1992 Opel Vectra CD 1.8 i from Romania

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96009 kilometres
Most recent distance104396 kilometres
Previous carOpel Omega

Summary:

Cheap, fast and reliable

Faults:

Problem with the rear brakes.

Front seats have started to wear badly.

General Comments:

Good car, it's fast and reliable for the price I payed about 4000 dollars.

Fuel consumption is about 8l/100Km in town and 6,8l/100Km outside.

Easy to handle, good for beginners.

Not many options for outside tunning, but engine tunning works.

Try the "Octane Booster" from Shell in 15l of fuel, it really goes fast (also combine with V-Power Racing fuel).

After 10 years it runs 210Km/h with no problems and very silent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

1992 Opel Vectra GL 2.0 injection from Turkey

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired111500 kilometres
Most recent distance153000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Tofas Kartal SL

Summary:

Opel's best car ever

Faults:

The long plastic part between the tweeters is cracked at 3-4 points. It is a common problem here in Turkey. It should be due to extreme heat at summer.

Windows buttons of front doors should be located at doors, as at rear doors. It is hard to find and use window buttons while driving.

Hydraulic steering wheel is a little hard. It is said that common for Opels.

It is hard to turn off the flasher when used. almost 90% of Vectras I have seen have this problem.

General Comments:

Fuel consumption is extremely low for this class of car. I have seen average 6.1 L/100km in longway in real life, when the car is loaded. (Reference is 5.5L /100km)

153000kms and no abnormal oil consumption and performance decrease.

I wish to have 2.5 V6 model Vectra A, if I can find a good clean one.

Vectra A is better then Vectra B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2002

10th Jun 2004, 06:14

I am driving a 93 vectra 1.8 GL for 7 years, engine is in its 260.000th km and still working like a watch!

1992 Opel Vectra GL 1.6 injection from Romania

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen 11R

Summary:

I really like this car

Faults:

There was a problem with the rear brakes.

The engine temperature is growing to almost 94 C degrees, but I heard this is normal for this model.

General Comments:

I like this car.

It has never let me down.

It's a comfortable car.

The fuel consumption is about 5.24 l/100 km at 100Km/h constant speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews