2001 Opel Zafira Reviews

2001 Opel Zafira CDX 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

A great family car

Faults:

Service fault light popped up on a big journey, but no major issues so far.

General Comments:

Very comfortable seats, and useful third row of seats, which fold away into the floor. Performs well with the 1800cc engine, which is great since I was concerned about going for 1.8 rather than the 2.2 engine for economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2010

27th Jul 2013, 14:05

Hi. I am considering buying an Opel Zafira 1.8 Auto (year 2001) in Malaysia.

Would appreciate your feedback about the good and bad about the Opel Zafira if any. Tq.

My email is: wannab7@yahoo.com

2001 Opel Zafira Comfort 1.8 Automatic from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carToyota Carina

Summary:

Reliable versatile vehicle

Faults:

From 60,000 miles the engine maintenance light (amber light with a spanner) comes on after driving approximately 8 miles. The light stays on until the ignition is switched off, and resets and will then come again after approximately 8 miles.

The local Opel garage diagnosed a faulty throttle body and advised that a new one would cost almost 600 euros. I checked the Internet and found a reference to a similar problem where the throttle body was cleaned and the fault did not re-occur.

On removal of the throttle body, it was clear that the air-flow was being restricted by gunge that built up in the throttle body. This appeared to originate from the breather pipe on top of the engine. On cleaning this gunge from the throttle body, I have not seen the engine maintenance light after 100 miles. Here is hoping!

Regards.

General Comments:

Very pleased with the car, very flexible seating arrangement which is why I purchased it. Very lively in this guise with automatic transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2007

2001 Opel Zafira Comfort 2.0 turbo diesel from Malta

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carOpel Escort

Summary:

The best vehicle I've ever owned!

Faults:

Rear door dampers started to rust.

Found one rusty screw at bottom of rear door.

General Comments:

The Zafira handles like a sports car.

Very economical on diesel when driven at moderate speeds.

Interior is very comfortable and well designed.

The "Flex 7" seating system is the best option for a family vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2003

2001 Opel Zafira Comfort 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10100 miles
Previous carHyundai Lantra

Summary:

A superb vehicle at a reasonable price

Faults:

From the outset I was having an irritating rattle from the front passenger side in the area of the seat belt fixture near the roof. Numerous visits to the garage failed to resolve this matter until I changed to a different dealership. They had the vehicle twice and after an elimination process were able to find and solve the problem.

I then became concerned about the amount of engine oil the vehicle was using. It was left in again and a leak was found at one of the gaskets. This was repaired and the engine filled up with oil. After about 600 miles I have had to put another pint of oil in the engine. I would be very concerned about this as I never had a car before that required so much oil to be put into it.

Is this normal??

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and handles like a dream.

I would not want to have to get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2002

20th Jan 2002, 16:47

I have a 2000 Vectra LS DI saloon, with 24,000 miles on it. The engine in my car is very similar to the DTI engine. My engine, even at 24,000 miles, still drinks about half a litre per 1K miles... similar consumption to yours. Some people who own cars with the same engine claim that oil consumption virtually diminished to nothing about about 15K miles... I am still waiting, but overall it is a good engine!

Do you know how they fixed the rattle from the seat belt area? My car also has a similar rattle from that area! (I figure many trim bits will be of a similar design on my car?).

I had my engine fitted with a 'Bromleys' tuning unit; goes like a rocket now, with slightly better economy to boot.

One other point, the turbo boost supply pipe popped off the inlet manifold the other day, a common fault I am told. Make sure the jubilee clip that secures the rubber pipe, is secured properly to the manifold at the front of the engine.

Regards, Richard

rickp@rickp.freeserve.co.uk

7th Aug 2004, 21:51

Could the initial reviewer or the first comment maker publish the fix for the door pillar rattle as my Zafira also has this problem?

Ndawson@hof.co.uk.

26th Nov 2006, 11:02

My 2004 opel zifira is showing a sign for engine electronics only now and again can I repair my self or bring to dealer and cost me a fortune.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews