2001 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2001 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 146

Summary:

Road legal kart

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong, and the following points are me being quite picky:

The dash rattles a bit under certain conditions.

The driver's seat sometimes squeaks.

There is a clonk from underneath every time I pull away - could be the exhaust.

The rear windows do not stay open.

General Comments:

This Gti is great. It feels fairly docile around town and in traffic (especially compared to the 205 Gti) but once the revs go past 4,000 rpm, it is very lively and sounds a lot better too!

The way is goes around corners is superb, and feels like a kart. The feedback through the steering and seats is brilliant.

The brakes are good with lots of feel, but their performance seems to have dropped off after about 10K, although the dealer could not find a problem.

The front tyres lasted 17K, which apparently is quite good. The economy is also good, and I get between 35 and 40 mpg.

Personally I prefer unmodified cars, and the standard 106 Gti looks great, especially in bright yellow!

I have previously owned a 106 XSi and I currently also have a 205 1.9 Gti. I have been really impressed by the three Peugeots I have experienced, but I can't choose a favorite, as they have surprisingly different characters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2002

18th Jun 2003, 14:48

That clunk underneath was one of the "features" of my 106 too - a 1.1i Independence.

5th Jan 2004, 15:52

I have that on my 99V Quiksilver... but it's mechanically sound, and I doubt it's a serious problem. It's probably just the brake pads adjusting or binding...

I'm having to sell my beloved Pug... i'll be sad to see it go. Looking forward to my New Leon Cupra R though! :)

2001 Peugeot 106 Independence 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Santana

Summary:

Very good value for money

Faults:

I had no problems with the car at all. It started every time whatever the weather, and nothing wore out which is amazing as I did nearly 15,000 miles in the first 8 months.

The only thing that annoyed me was that there was a slight rattle coming from the drivers door. I'm not sure what it was, but it started to happen after about 7 months. The annoying thing was is that sometimes it never rattled, and then another time this rattle would just go on and on! It drove me mad! I think it was the window, but why would it just start to rattle after all that time?

General Comments:

Unfortunately, when the car was 9 months old, I was involved in a car crash, and the car was written off. It was a great shame. Because they decided to write the car off, it means that they will not be giving me a courtesy car in the meantime. And as these things take weeks and weeks to go through, I may be car less for about three months. Because of this, I have been unable to get to work, and as a consequence, I have lost my income.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

2001 Peugeot 106 Rallye 1.6 16v from Greece

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5500 kilometres
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Street Racer

Faults:

Instrument panel has been replaced twice (fuel gauge was and is not working properly).

Various warning lights flash once in a while, but no problem is present.

General Comments:

Beautiful exterior, boring though ergonomic interior. The build quality of the interior could be better, but who cares...

Amazingly sharp handling, but that can prove dangerous... It has the handling characteristics of a race-car. Respect it or it will kill you...

Excellent brakes.

Precise and quick steering.

Powerful engine (mine is the late 127HP version). Fuel consumption is low, considering the performance (about 11lt/100km).

Not comfortable, because of stiff suspension and little soundproofing. Don't buy it for everyday use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2002

2001 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great performance, big surge of power from 4,500 revs to the red line.

Seats are excellent, ride is good on decent roads.

Looks the part.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2001

2001 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6i 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

A speedy little sports car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is amazing! It is so much quicker than I expected. It handles like a dream. This is the ideal car for me. Quick, looks good, small, all the luxuries. What more could you want.

Uses a lot of petrol.

High on insurance. But worth it.

I find excuses to go places just so I can drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2001

17th Jul 2001, 14:13

Yep, you're right - it's a little cracker of a car, so much fun, I like to play with other cars and then when a few bends come it's - BYE BYE!!!

Awesome handling, very quick, spot-on motor!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 13 reviews