1984 Peugeot 205 Reviews

1984 Peugeot 205 GL 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance30500 miles

Summary:

A great first car to rival the fiesta

Faults:

I have had a brake stick on at the front causing a worn pad. (29,000)

I had to replace the front bushes recently due to the pressure exerted when cornering thanks the the body roll. (29,000)

The wheels were quite rusty, which led to a complete refurbishment.

Broken speedo cable, which is difficult to replace due to the old 'zinger' engine.

Rust on the front divers side wheel arch which can be easily repaired.

General Comments:

I hate the large amount of body roll which can be dangerous.

For a 1.1 it certainly moves, I've had 105 mph on a closed circuit of course!

It has a hard plastic steering wheel which is horrible to use.

The car can be very cold inside if the temperature drops due to loads of bare visible metal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2003

1984 Peugeot 205 GL 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25500 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles

Summary:

Amazing first car

Faults:

Worn front bushes.

Locked front brake.

General Comments:

Amazing first car. Goes very well for a 1.1, blew ayway my friends 1.3.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

1984 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Revvy little screamer

Faults:

Alternator is wearing out, head lights keep dimming and getting brighter.

Sometimes looses power due to the alternator.

General Comments:

My 205 XS is an earlier model with the old style engine, it is the type I wanted as it comes with the twin Weber carbs - this gives it a bit of wicked poke!

The handling is awesome, the grip and feedback of the car gives you a truly dangerous sense of confidence - this is especially true on roundabouts! Driving in the wet is the most fun you can have with your clothes on, find yourself a route that you know like the back of your hand (a country back route is best) and drive the wheels off it!

Don't buy the XS if you intend to do a lot of motorway miles - short ratio box means that it screams away at 4000 RPM at 80mph, not good for relaxed motoring.

Unfortunately I am saving for university otherwise I would have a GTi by now. If I was to buy again I would find a later model with the later single carb engine, I believe that it is the same as fitted to the Citroen AX GT. The reason for this being that a mate of mine has an AX and the RPM gauge "red-lines" at a far healthier seven and a half thousand RPM, mine only goes to six.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

23rd Jun 2002, 21:03

These are seriously underrated cars. Had a GT (5 door version of XS), would out accelerate just about anything from lights, roundabouts up to about 60-70 when short gearing meant it was running out of steam. Good tip with the older engines with the gearbox combined is to treat engine oil with Slick 50 - major improvement in gearchange. Handling suberb -possible to lift inside rear wheel at roundabouts.Would still have it, but it self destructed due to poor build quality.

1984 Peugeot 205 GR 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63265 miles
Most recent distance78990 miles
Previous carTalbot Samba

Summary:

Comfy car, but abominable cold and damp starting!

Faults:

Battery x3.

Starter motor x2.

Alternator.

Clutch.

Auto choke.

Needed new HT leads.

Distributor cap & rotor arm.

Exhaust.

Accelerator cable broke.

Burns oil like hell when it's cold, when it starts!

General Comments:

This car is an absolute piece of crap! I wanted something similar to my old Samba but a bit bigger, and it is, but so are the running costs.

It only averages 25 mpg. Coupled to the fact that I have to have my neighbour out of bed at 6:30 every morning so he can assist me in starting the hell raiser from cold. It never starts from cold. I have to pump the accelerator in a morning to help it start and that isn't guaranteed to work. This doesn't work on most mornings in fact! I often flatten the battery and I have ruined the starter motor in an attempt to start the bloody thing in a morning. The problem is I don't live on a gradient! The problem has been put down to 'severe fuel starvation'. Starvation my foot!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2001

23rd Mar 2001, 11:49

I believe the 205 is a very nice car and fast as well. Never had any problems to start it on mornings, maybe some people just don't know how to appreciate such a car...

16th Jun 2001, 21:44

I had problems starting my 205 not so long ago and the fault was something to do with the HT coil. Maybe it's worth checking it out.

28th Oct 2001, 13:18

Well if it doesn't start properly when cold, and only does 25mpg, then there's obviously something wrong with it isn't there? Why don't you get it fixed instead of whinging? My 1.9GTi does 30mpg, which is the manufacturer's figure, so how difficult can it be to get it set up right???!?

4th Jan 2011, 19:23

The 205 is a very nice car. I never had any problems to start it on mornings, over 9 years. My 205 GR is from 1984, and has exceeded 200 000 km.

1984 Peugeot 205 Gti 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Exhaust, manifold, clutch, brakes (discs & main cyclinder unit), major problems on electrics, spark plugs, starter motor.

General Comments:

well..... It's a B reg, very good condition but getting old.. very powerful, always starts, has a lot going wrong, but it is old..... shame peugeot dealers are so expensive (brake cyclinder kit = 55 pounds !!).

Nice car...... :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 1998

1984 Peugeot 205 GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Brakes, suspension - caused by age of car rather than poor manufacturing.

General Comments:

First car - cheap to buy, not to bad to insure and cheap to run. Great looking car - classic - can't wait to get a 206.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 1997

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews