1985 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1985 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Lots of fun, now affordable - go for it!

Faults:

Almost every part of the car needed attention at one point or another, probably because it was in a right state when I bought it and I thrashed it mercilessly. As far as I remember:

Gearchange linkage broke, stuck in 3rd gear.

Front wash/wipe packed up.

Stereo speakers are crap and got progressively worse.

Brake pads wore down VERY quickly.

The car would sometimes run on three cylinders, etc etc etc.

General Comments:

When it ran properly, it was a very, very quick front wheel drive hatchback. Considering the abuse it had obviously endured from day one it was doing very well indeed, it never actually let me down while driving it.

The engine is one of the best I've ever driven, very smooth and lots of power (115 BHP), even more impressive considering they were all 8 valve motors, not that peaky either.

As with most main dealers, the service sucked - charged lots of money for bugger all work. Peugeot are quite expensive, compared to Ford, Vauxhall etc.

It is suprisingly comfortable and roomy.

If you're gonna buy one, make sure you get a nice clean one that's been looked after, the majority have been thrashed, crashed or generally trashed. Oh, and it's possible to buy/run one on a budget, just don't expect it to give its best!

The biggest problem you'll have is getting a reasonable insurance quote, any car now with GTi in its name gets stung big time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

1985 Peugeot 205 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104179 miles
Most recent distance104179 miles

Summary:

Learn to drive in one!

Faults:

The mileometer & speedometer (see above!)

Doors & windows very temperamental.

Slight rust around the windows.

General Comments:

I love this car. The National Car Test will take it off the road officially tomorrow (30/9/00).

You never have another first car. And never one that cost you nothing 3 years ago and (apart from petrol) only IRP 3.50 in repairs, yes, that's less than the cost of a pack of cigarettes.

Goodbye 'Dino'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

1985 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance128500 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Faults:

Heater motor works intermittently.

Wheels need regular balancing.

Broken glovebox compartment.

All-new brakes, including calipers.

Radiator perished.

General Comments:

Watch out for rust where the sill joins the back panel, under the seats and on the rear quarters.

Trim quality is okay, but fasteners and clips are easily broken.

Great revvy engine, seriously good handling.

Buy one, thrash it, sell it for what you paid, and get another one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2000

17th Dec 2003, 11:25

Buy one, thrash it, then get another one? Well that's the reason good ones are so hard to find these days. And when you DO find one that some idiot ain't rinsed out it might set you back up to £3k. Of course if people looked after them in the first place...

1985 Peugeot 205 XRD 1.8 diesel from Germany

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired225240 kilometres
Most recent distance601455 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Best motor, bad quality on the rest

Faults:

4x front bearing left and right.

1x Teleskope front both side.

3x Brake disk was OK only 3000 km.

1x Bearing for windscreen blades.

2x heating fan broken fixing unit from lower bearing.

1x heating warm water comes into the car and burns my leg.

2x broken key.

Corrosion around rear window.

Water comes inside the baggage room.

Handbrake lines both broken.

Lost oil everywhere from motor.

1x left and right transmission kardan.

2nd gear not usable when motor cold.

Today lost the vacuum for the brake system. Vacuum pump broke inside fixed already with welding.

General Comments:

Peugeot builds with Mercedes the best diesel engines. They were the pioneers. And now I will drive 1.000.000 KM with this car, the engine has never been checked for 10 years. Only changing the oil. I need 4.5 litres diesel for 100km!! With one full tank I reach apprx. 1080km.

I will write the next letter when I reach the million kilometres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2000

23rd May 2006, 13:51

Still running your 205 diesel? if so, how many kms have you reached by now?

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews