2006 Peugeot 206 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Peugeot 206 Verve 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Poor quality, an "unfixable" fault and zero customer care.

Faults:

At around 4,000 miles, the engine started developing "flat spots" which the dealer keeps telling me is normal. At 11,000 miles the car is almost undriveable, with the engine hesitating and misfiring at 2,500 RPM, 4,000 RPM and 5,000 RPM. The dealer cannot fix it.

Central locking intermittently refuses to work.

Water getting into boot.

Leaking heater hose.

Heater direction control stopped working.

General Comments:

If you can live with the fact that it is woefully gutless, it's quite a nice little car for an A to B runabout. It still looks good (in my opinion), handles tidily and is very frugal.

The performance I knew about before buying, as I knew about the nasty dash plastics and the less than solid feel. With it's "old school" 8 valve engine and long running design, I did expect at least some nod towards reliability, but I have been sorely disappointed.

The engine basically has a host of flat spots through its rev range which nobody seems able to even admit are a fault, never mind fix them. As the engine passes three points in the rev range it hesitates and stutters, but apparently this is normal behaviour for a 206. Strange that it never did it for the first 4,000 miles.

There is also a worrying list of silly quality control issues and niggling faults, and the dealers redefine hopeless.

I've owned two previous Peugeots (306's) which were both brilliant cars, the first one racking up 120,000 trouble free miles. This thing however has destroyed my faith in the marque. Looks like Japanese next time for me. I will never buy another Peugeot.

Absolute rubbish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th October, 2006

18th Oct 2006, 03:42

Your miss could be the pollution management program in the vehicle computer. It will not allow the engine to rev past about 3000rpm. To fix this it needs to go on to a diagnostic computer at your Peugeot service agent and they can reprogram the emmission sensors. Also run an injector cleaner in the fuel every so often. Also these engines need to run on 98 - 100 octane fuel.

3rd Nov 2006, 11:49

Blown or disconnected oxygen sensor?

Inlet manifold leak? (This probably wouldn't show up on the diagnostic)

2006 Peugeot 206 Type 6 1.6 petrol from Iran

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres
Previous carKia Pride

Summary:

Good car, but with a bad dealer service

Faults:

The gear box causes vibration in the body after 19000 km driving and now it is 11 days in the shop for repairing!! I am worry about the reliability of the gearbox.

The leg room is small for rear seats.

The dashboard box is too big so the front passenger's legs have contact with the box and he/she is not comfort.

General Comments:

The ride of the car is excellent.

The automatic air-condition is good.

The audio controls keys are good placed.

The behavior of automatic gear box is excellent.

The power (110 hp) is good for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st September, 2006

2006 Peugeot 206 1.4 petrol from Guatemala

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39 kilometres
Most recent distance450 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Reliable and fun to drive

Faults:

None at the moment. Maybe I should wait a few weeks, because I picked up the car just 1 month ago.

General Comments:

I own the argentinian version, which I think is great for the price. There are some goodies that make the car comfortable and fun to drive. The interior is too plastic and the gas consumption is not one of its best points. However, this is an excellent little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2006

2006 Peugeot 206 LX 1.4 from Costa Rica

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance500 kilometres

Summary:

This car is a scam

Faults:

Truly I feel scammed.

My old car had all sorts of problems, like the windows wouldn't go up, compressor died, alternator problems, gas pump died etc etc etc. It was a 95. Now my windows work and I don't have to watch the temp constantly.

With Peugeot I only got a one year guarantee, and parts where I live are more expensive than BMW.

There is a whining noise coming from the front in 3rd and 4th gear, it has uncomfortable pedals, a crap gearbox, the ride is far from smooth, and at high speeds I feel if I turn too much I will flip over and DIE.

My brake pedal sounds like a spring is broken.

On top of all this, today I dented my driver side door, which is made of aluminum foil evidently, and costs $1000 to fix. I have insurance, but that's just INSANE.

My car is 10 days old.

Let's be honest, the 206 is far from reliable and deserves its current ranking close to the bottom of the list.

I guess when I bought I was thinking of the old Peugeots, how they lasted forever... not this problem ridden cheap excuse for car engineering packed with sensors.

Don't think you will get lucky and only some come out bad. This is your worst nightmare except you're not dreaming.

I guess it's my fault for buying one.

I feel scammed.

But you can be sure I will never buy a french car again in my life, and when my warranty runs out, I will sell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th May, 2006

9th May 2006, 13:50

"There is a whining noise coming from the front in 3rd and 4th gear, it has uncomfortable pedals, a crap gearbox, the ride is far from smooth, and at high speeds I feel if I turn too much I will flip over and DIE."

And you didn't discover this during the test drive? Also, why would you whine about insurance covering repairs to your door?

18th Jul 2006, 22:56

Peugeot 206 Rip Off

One month after the Warranty expired on my 206 -

The Power Steering Unit packed in

It needs a new Alternator

The Gearbox is whining and I it looks as if it will need a new bearing kit installed. That is apart from the centre rear seat belt jammed and the permanently "ON" Airbag warning light. Absolutely the worst car I have ever owned. The reply from Peugeot, the warranty has expired and it has too high a mileage (95,000k's) so they will not assist with repairs.

2006 Peugeot 206 1.2 LX 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carKia Picanto

Summary:

Truly Awful - Don't BUY!!!

Faults:

Everything that could have went wrong has went wrong and the dealer's service is appalling.

General Comments:

This is a terrible car with awful reliability, a VERY uncomfortable, Cramped interior with the worst driving position in the world. I will be resorting back to using my little Kia Picanto which is fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

2nd Jun 2006, 00:09

If you don't like the 206, what does the Picanto has to offer?

13th Aug 2006, 17:08

Peugeot does not have 1.2 engine. It had 1.1 petrol which is discontinued now. Your review is thus very strange. Do you work for Kia?

23rd Dec 2007, 12:55

The KIA picanto is a wonderful car; when it came out some magazines said it was the best in class, even better than the fantastic Fiat Panda. The 206 on the other hand is a dreadful car in virtually every respect. Bad seating position, poor room for it's size and below average reliability. I'd much rather have a KIA any day.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews