1992 Peugeot 309 GLDT 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Reliable, economical, spacious, old fashioned, but it has everything that actually matters in a car


Only had the car for a week and it had something wrong with the power steering when I bought it... still the same now... vibrates when turning wheel if stationary... central locking does not work. A few rust spots on one side.

General Comments:

Excellent performance, amazing economy.. so far 250 miles on a half tank of diesel... and that ain't on the motorway!!

Comfy ride and plenty of space, one or two rattles and squeaks, but nothing to worry about, starts first time every time... paid £300 for this car a week ago because we have a baby on the way and need a reliable, economical car and as cheap as possible, so far I think it's a fantastic car... a bargain!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2005

9th Aug 2006, 02:47

I have had two Peugeot 309 diesels, both excellent in terms of reliability and cheap running costs. Things to watch for are leaking rear brake cylinders, noisy heater fans and trim dropping off (minor prob).

I would also make sure you change the timing belt every 45000miles, and oil every 6000miles.

10th Aug 2006, 17:01

87 309 GRD, I have had the car since it was new, it has never failed an MOT, with 84k miles on the clock, its still going like a good'n, the CAM belt doesn't need changing, but a lot of people don't know that there isn't a specified mileage to change it, it has no rust at all, due to that it has always been garaged, and the interior is in showroom condition, the 309 is 1 of the best cars Peugeot has ever made.

1992 Peugeot 309 Style 1.9D from UK and Ireland


Brilliant low-cost motoring


CV Joints went a few times

Niggly electrical fault causing all electrics not to work on car finally solved by replacing alternator

Starter got stuck in "On" position

Small patches of rust now appearing on parts of car

Leaking seals on back window mean water in car.

General Comments:

Overall this has been a fantastically reliable car. I would feel confident driving around the world tomorrow in this car. It's only because of the onset of rust that I am scrapping her. Reasonably quick and very economical. What can I say? The image is pretty poor and the red paintwork has faded badly, but this car gave me and my family cheap reliable motoring for years in a way that most other cars would not have. I'm getting a Citroen ZX next week and felt I had to pay tribute to good old ugli (our family call her that!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2004

2nd Sep 2005, 00:42

I own a 1992 309 SI and I must say it is fun to drive. Great around the corners, but unfortunately it is an automatic. 1.9 motor is commendable. I encounter occassional problems in starting the car. Motor will turn, but will not fire up. I have checked and seems to be an ignition issue as usually there is no "spark" through the leads. Any suggestions please...


1992 Peugeot 309 GL 1.6 from UK and Ireland


A comfortable, cheap, general purpose car


Car had an electrical fault soon after I acquired it, indicators and windscreen wipers would suddenly not work.

Ignition amp needed replacing.

General Comments:

I find this car very comfortable and I enjoy driving it, despite being only a GL model the seats and steering wheel feel really good and it doesn't look bad either.

Car has plenty of boot space and lots of room if you put the rear seats down.

Performance is good with good cornering and braking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

1992 Peugeot 309 GLX 1.4 from Netherlands


Comfortable car for little money


The left rear brake lost some power at 200000 km. After cleaning it, the full function was restored.

New battery at 210000km.

General Comments:

This car is cheap to purchase and to own.

The weight is low (+/- 800 kg) which makes it cheap for taxes. The petrol use is nice (14 km/l)

The bodywork looks it has been designed for grandfather and -mother, but you're inside the car.

It's a really huge car. My bike fits the car with all doors closed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2003