Peugeot 404 Reviews

1974 Peugeot 404 Estate from Saudi Arabia

Year of manufacture1974
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

This is really just a comment about the most fun drive of my life.

At the time in 1976 I was working for the British Aircraft Corporation and living in Tabuk, Saudi Arabia.

The car was a company 1974 petrol engined Peugeot 404 Estate. The reason for the trip I remember was for a friend and myself to fetch an outboard motor from our beach facility at Haql on the Red Sea coast.

I always rated these cars as being exceptionally comfortable and easy to drive, but I never realised their real quality until this particular trip along the beautiful mountain road between Tabuk and the coast.

The distance was a round trip of 274 miles, and we had a time envelope of 4 hours to get the job done, my friend was happy for me to do the driving while he took in the views.

After making very good time on the first leg, we timed the return and the total driving time was 195 minutes, which was an average speed of 83.4 mph.

The road holding and the power available in this vehicle, which was after all a run of the mill people and load carrier, was amazing and so much fun.

The 504 model with which the company replaced the 404's was never as good to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2014

1963 Peugeot 404 1.7 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1963
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance155665 miles

Summary:

Comfort and style in one beautiful vehicle.

Faults:

(ha ha ha...)

Master cylinder.

Front seats came apart - now replaced with Mitusbishi sigma seats.

Rust, and more rust especially in front footwells due to poor design.

All rubber trim - due to living in tropics for 2 years.

Suspension has now almost completely gone.

Paint work - re-sprayed last year.

Water-pump died.

New drive shaft ($Aust25!)

Wing mirrors needed replacing.

Starter motor/ alternator replaced three times.

Windscreen wiper motor replaced.

Etc etc.

General Comments:

This is an absolutely brilliant car.

My father bought it in 1979 and I learnt to drive on it. Although I have replaced many parts that have worn out, I have also driven it from Tasmania to the Northern Territory, with loads of detours, and it is still going.

It has fins!

The 404 is reliable, relatively fuel efficient if maintained and most importantly, comfortable. The interior is very roomy and there is a lot of glass. Like a living room!

I intend to keep driving until the cops pull me over and inspect the rust!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2002

21st Jul 2006, 19:20

Love your review, especially the little (ha ha) at the start. We have had two 404 utilities, (in Australia) many things you experienced happened to us too, on one of ours the passenger door flew open sometimes on hard corners!

1974 Peugeot 404 GL 1.8 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, comfortable and addictive!

Faults:

Had a leak on one of the front brakes but was fixed with a new rubber seal.

Had difficulty starting in the winter at some stage, but a professional Peugeot mechanic fixed the problem with a proper service.

Had to fix the radiator more than once.

General Comments:

There are very few modern cars with as comfortable seats and such pleasant and comfortable driving ability on gravel roads!

As long as the 404 gets its service before winter - you have no problems.

You can get more than 11 km/l petrol on the open road - not bad at all for a '74 car.

Parts are easily available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

11th Oct 2011, 08:52

Thank you for a wonderful comment on a truly beautiful and care South African diamond. I'm currently looking for one; it's very hard to find a GL. You couldn't have said it better. I remember my Grandfather in 1996 driving 4 hours in that thing with water and oil mixed! Amazing.

4th Jul 2014, 08:52

Yes!! The 404 1800 GL was a really great car!! I had one when I was a little younger. Wish I had one now :(

Charlie.

1963 Peugeot 404 SL 1.6 injection from North America

Year of manufacture1963
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission 1.6 injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired420000 kilometres
Most recent distance560000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 404 Coupe

Summary:

The best Peugeot model ever made

Faults:

Engine (3 main bearings) at 320,000 km (replaced with a used [200,000 km] 5 main bearing engine).

McPherson strut steering swivels @ 420,000 km.

Front suspension bushings @ 420,000 km.

Weatherstripping (rubber) @ 420,000 km.

Torque tube centre bearing @ 420,000 km.

RF window regulator @ 420,000 km.

Front wheel bearings @ 460,000 km.

Starter motor @ 500,000 km.

Ignition switch @ 540,000 km.

General Comments:

I bought this car from its original owner, 22 years after it was built. He thought it was finished, but the bodywork was in good condition and the number of problems (see above) was fairly short and easy to remedy. So I reanimated it and drove the car for another 140,000 km. Given the harsh Canadian winters, the bodywork gave out in 1990, when the car had managed a total distance of nearly 560,000 km.

The 404 was an absolutely superb car. It was comfortable, quick (with an injection engine), reliable and fun to drive.

All this from a manufacturer who no longer knows how to build totally reliable cars. I know, I also have a 405.

The service this 404 gave me and the previous owner was nothing short of unbelievable. The scond-best car I've ever owned. The best is my present 1966 404 Coupé Injection (but that's another story)...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2000

7th Jul 2006, 20:22

I have a 1966 404 Convertible/cabriolet with fuel injection also. Having a hard time finding parts & a new black convertible top. If I ever finish it I will keep it forever. Sorry you feel you would not buy another Peugeot, but it seems that most parts are made in ITALY.

Average review marks: 9.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews