1995 Peugeot 405 Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1995 Peugeot 405 GL 1.6 from Egypt

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance113000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

A very reliable bargain

Faults:

Replace axle shafts at 80000 km (normal).

Radio cassette lights went out 2 years ago.

General Comments:

The car is not a performance car.

It's a car for someone who wants a reliable car.

Needs to be maintained every 10000km and forget about it in the intervals.

Never says no to you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

14th Jan 2005, 05:55

I agree that the 405GL is a reliable car. In fact I regularly drive COMFORTABLY over bad roads that would challenge 4x4s and even the legendary 504.

My only concern is that my mechanic has so far not managed to solve my morning starting problems. Also I have only managed to rev this car up to 160kph as I felt uncomfortable going faster.

19th Nov 2007, 15:07

Bought my 405GLX since 2002. Extremely reliable. spare parts are quite reasonable. I suffered going to the agent on Port Said street. The service there was lousy and expensive. My main problem is the A/C switch which needs replacement at least once a year. It costs around 1000LE. Also the "debriage" is very tough since I bought it. Despite this, I will never trade it for another. It tough, strong, economic and has a masculine look. I love my 405 which I call "Rasha"!

1995 Peugeot 405 GLX 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50400 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Good family car with loads of space

Faults:

Radiator has leak, but have not replaced since the leak is very small and started a year ago now.

Rear back axle was replaced at 80000 miles.

Air conditioning not worked for nearly 18 months, but will soon. Been told it`ll cost me about 80ukp to re-gas.

Computer was behaving in a strange way, alarm going off, not starting and infra red key not unlocking or locking. Fixed when I found out water was getting into the computer.

General Comments:

The is not that slow for a 1.6 OK could be better, but then I get low insurance with this car.

Comfortable to drive on long journeys with loads of room in the front and back.

Large boot space for a saloon.

I get between 35 and 40 mpg which isen`t bad for the way I drive.

You have to change oil every 8 or 9000 miles to make the engine last and to keep the mpg up.

Don`t get if you want to race off the lights.

Do get if you want a cheap insurance large car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2002

1995 Peugeot 405 GLXi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired52300 miles
Most recent distance53400 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Bargain performance and comfort package let-down by Peugeot+'s typically unreliable electronics

Faults:

Alarm unreliable, may screech noisily on locking doors, or not; may flash indicator lights, or not; one indicator may remain lit.. or not!

Internal lights fail to extinguish on closing doors.

Digital clock lit only intermittently.

Front fog lights non-functional.

Engine pinks when under load, especially uphill.

Gears balk on fast changes, especially 3rd to 4th.

Alloy wheels beginning to corrode.

General Comments:

Handles delightfully.

Stable at speed.

Quiet.

Good ride over all road conditions.

Surprisingly roomy for a car designed so long ago.

Fuel economy better than expected - comparable in mixed driving with previously-owned 306 XTDT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2002

11th Mar 2004, 11:54

I once had a 1995 405 GLX also. This managed to lose a Brake pad from the calliper going down hill leading to an interesting moment!

Other than that it was a great car that gave me 2 years and over 30,000 miles with superb reliability.

The interior lights are supposed to remain on for a few seconds after the doors close and are meant to extinguish when the ignition is switched on. you don't mention whether this is the case with yours, but just in case you never knew...

Front fog lights are cr*p on all Peugeot's, the rubber seal between the glass and backing plate withers away after about 2-3 years, lets water in and the electrical contacts corrode leaving you out of pocket to the tune of £75 a side for complete replacements (should you want them)

31st Oct 2005, 09:22

Just bought a 405 GLX TD. When using the central locking to lock sometimes the indicator stays on as well. If I lock then unlock it eventually it will go away, sometimes it needs one or two goes to get the indicator to go out. Doesn't happen with the key locking as this doesn't use the alarm.

This is not listed in the manual, I was wondering wether it was for when the alarm goes off (mine has never actually gone off, but was told a dealership disabled the immobiliser??) to attract the attention of the police? Either that or the alarms broke and it does that so you take it back to a peugeot dealership to fix it.

Hmmm Strange!

23rd May 2006, 15:46

I own a 405 Executive on the 95' plate. I had the same problem with my alarm where the left hand indicators would stay on. I sorted this by disconnecting the indicator feed from the alarm ECU and have had no problems since. Does anyone know the cause of the stop/coolant light coming on?? Only happens 2-3 times a year on mine, but still one I would like to solve. Not a bad car apart from that.

3rd Oct 2008, 17:01

The indicator on problem is commonly a problem with the alarm control box. This problem is also sometimes backed up by the beep on activating the alarm. Try holding the button on the column (if fitted) until the alarm lights solid then lock as normal. If it remedies the problem then there is likely to be a fault in the movement sensors.

You can sometimes reset the alarm by: Lock doors then immediately unlock them followed by turning the ignition on within 10 seconds. Then lock as normal if you are not planning on driving. This sometimes works.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 22 reviews