2003 Peugeot 406 Reviews

2003 Peugeot 406 HDI 2.0L turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance182000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 308

Summary:

Solid, good looking car

Faults:

Auto transmission valves failed at 175000km. Known fault in this model due to non BW parts used originally.

Driver's door window control unit failed. Expensive to replace, had to come from France.

A/C heater control failed.

General Comments:

Other than the issues above, the car is very good to drive. Feels solid on the road. Not so good around town due to the gear ratios being a little high. A very good, economical open road cruiser.

The stupid road user tax on diesel cars in NZ is a penalty, unless doing 25 thousand Km a year or more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2013

27th Apr 2013, 21:44

Hi, thanks for the advice. I have an ancient Peugeot 106 1.5 diesel that has served me very well, which is why I am interested in a Peugeot 406 HDI for the wife. There are a lot of reviews out there that generally find this car to be unreliable, particularly the electrics, and I am interested in your comment regarding the auto-transmission valves, as I have seen a few cars on Trade-me with the valves replaced.

As for the pathetic and ridiculous road user charge in NZ, it's a joke. Also, I pay a greater license fee for my 1.5 diesel than someone with a V8 petrol truck! So much for green and clean NZ, there's no incentive to drive an economical vehicle. Right, rant over, cheers!

2003 Peugeot 406 GLX estate 2.2HDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2HDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Underrated dark horse

Faults:

Very little went wrong.

Had a new starter motor at about 75,000.

Had to have the particulate filter serviced twice, very expensive at about £400 a time.

Never let me down.

General Comments:

Bought the car new in the Netherlands and imported to he UK as a personal import. Local dealer did warranty work with no fuss.

Really good car. Economical on fuel, 40+mpg. Good at pulling my caravan. Comfortable, discrete, quick & reliable.

Now bought a Volvo estate simply because after 6 years I fancied a change. Sold the Peugeot to a client so I have every confidence in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2008

2003 Peugeot 406 S 2.0 HDI turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Comfortable, roomy, economical and cheap to maintain

Faults:

The rear electric window lockout switch has to be wiggled in order to get it to depress.

General Comments:

This car is everything I expected. Not too fast but very economical (can average 57 MPG at 55 MPH).

The road noise in the cabin is very low and the rest for my clutch foot is a god send on long drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2008

2003 Peugeot 406 ST 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70 kilometres
Most recent distance3500 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 760

Summary:

Comfortable, economical tourer which is spoiled by small reliability and servicing problems

Faults:

CD player jammed within 24 hours. Noone (including the dealer or Peugeot Australia) appears to be able to work out the correct part to replace it, despite it being to the dealer 3 times, including the player being taken out and all relevant numbers recorded. Still waiting after 3 months.

Anti-pollution fault light came on within 24 hours. Occurs every time it is started. Has been checked at least 3 times by the dealer, but no fault found.

Vibration in car when in Drive and held with brake (eg at traffic lights). Has been checked at least 3 times and declared 'within specifications'. If this is the case, it is a bad advertisement for Peugeot, as I drive plenty of other automatic cars (including a 20-year old Volvo) which DON'T have this problem.

General Comments:

Apart from the small faults mentioned above, this car is a pleasure to drive, especially on secondary roads. It gives a quiet, smooth ride, and handles any bumps with ease.

Performance is adequate, without being outstanding, and fast speeds can be maintained due to the good handling and excellent brakes.

Fuel consumption is very good, especially if the in-dash instantaneous readout is used to modify driving. It clearly shows that fuel consumption is closely related to how heavy the right foot is. Fuel consumption is around 10.5 l/100km in the city, and 6.5-7 on the open road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2005

19th Feb 2006, 12:17

Anti-pollution fault comming on the car. what is causing it and why is it coming on? it will not rev other 3000.

4th Apr 2006, 09:09

Our car has just gone down with the antipollution fault and will not rev over 3000. Help!

Jon.

21st Jul 2009, 03:41

Use better fuel, Peugeots are very sensitive to fuel.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews