2006 Peugeot 407 SW Feline 2.7 HDi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Fault in tyre pressure sensor due to valve breaking.

General Comments:

Outstanding performance and roadholding. This is a real Q-car due to the fact that most 407 SW's are 1.6 or 2.0.

Outstanding long distance tourer and practical working car.

Great finish with all the kit and toys, although with so much extras as standard, there are of course more things to go wrong.

Tyres are expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2010

2006 Peugeot 407 SW 1.9 turbo 136bhp from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Very solid car

Faults:

Car not starting very well, went to Peugeot dealer who said it had a lazy starter. They then told me the car would have to be in the garage for 3 days. When I asked why, they said it needed a new flywheel as well, but would be covered by the warranty.

Car has not even done 20000 miles yet.

General Comments:

The 407 is a very good and comfortable car, and was a replacement for a 307, which I had no problems with.

Checked out reviews on Internet about 407, and was very surprised with what I read.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th July, 2008

2006 Peugeot 407 Executive 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Great relaxing cruiser with lots of toys

Faults:

No faults so far.

General Comments:

Excellent, effortless long distance cruiser. Great seats, smooth ride and refined engine.

Plenty of standard kit including an excellent sat nav and integral car phone system. Good quality leather trim.

Regularly does a 300 mile run in a single stint and I arrive feeling fresh.

Doesn't feel quick, but the speedo shows you're usually doing 20-30 mph more than you thought.

Seems well made and durable. Weird styling. So-so dealers.

30 minute "Eco mode" on the entertainment system is irritating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2007

2006 Peugeot 407 2.2 from Bulgaria

Summary:

Powerful, well controlled, a bit heavy

Faults:

Some unpleasant noises in the interior.

General Comments:

Good, powerful machine, strong balanced engine, good control in turns, luxury equipment. And it goes with whatever speed you want up to 230 km/h. No problem.

Good car:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th January, 2007

11th Feb 2010, 22:23

"Some unpleasant noises in the interior' Could you elaborate?

2006 Peugeot 407 ST 2.0 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Brilliant performance and economy in a package that is distinctly different from its competitors

Faults:

Stopped unexpectedly at a roundabout and wouldn't restart. EGR valve stuck. Was part of a national recall issued a few days earlier. Peugeot Assist picked up the vehicle and returned us to dealer and supplied a loan car until faulty part replaced (24 hours).

General Comments:

This is our second Peugeot, the first being a 2002 307. The 407 had to live up to the high standards set by the 307 for comfort, economy, safety and style. It does all that and more.

The performance and economy of the HDI engine coupled with the new 6 speed semi-auto is nothing short of brilliant! It was worth waiting the extra few weeks to get the 6 speed. It virtually eliminates any take off lag, and improves the economy on a long country run. It makes travelling the vast distance we have in Western Australia a pleasure, but still very driveable in the city.

The car is packed with all the features you could want and expect from a vehicle in this class.

The only niggles would be the location of the high beam warning light and the fact that you can't wear polarised glasses if you want to read the electronic display.

The biggest problem... I can't find enough excuses to drive it :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2006

2006 Peugeot 407 Coupe 2.7L V6 HDi from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Ridiculously overpriced

Faults:

N/A.

General Comments:

This is a test drive report for a vehicle that I had waited almost 9 months to arrive in Australia, having test driven the 407 in sedan/touring forms with 2.2L, 3.0L petrol and 2.0L HDi versions.

The coupe verdict? The 2.7 was too fresh (tight) to perform, but I was impressed. However, Peugeot have seriously overestimated the grandeur of this vehicle in relation to their asking price (AUD83k drive away). As a coupe its way too big, but then the rear boot is pathetic, the open aperture lucky to swallow a decent suitcase. No factory sunroof is disappointing. Fantastic sound deadening, but noted the engine bay lining is not suited to longevity if you're buying it for long term. Its simply not worth the introduction recommended price by a long shot, you'd be mad not to consider German alternatives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th April, 2006

23rd May 2006, 15:16

I just bought the 2.7 hdi and will post updates to this site if any one is interested? tim.

23rd May 2006, 15:21

I would like to add that the price was OK when compared to the audi 3 litre diesel in the a4 and a6 and the bmw 3 litre diesel-in fact I saved 20, 30 and $50,000 respectively.

5th Aug 2009, 00:00

I prefer the 406 Coupe to your 407 Coupe. Frankly speaking, she loses the unique elegance and intrinsic design policy of 406 Coupe, designed by Pininfarina.

The Peugeot 407 Coupe is as cumbersome as some American coupes as the Chevrolet Monte Carlo and the Pontiac G8, and lacks in artistic elegant drive feel of the Peugeot 406 Coupe, in my opinion.

The 407 Coupe feels somewhat heavy and not very sophisticated. Along with it, her fuel consumption is somewhat inferior to that of BMW, Mercedes, Audi, and Lexus. I felt inconvenience about her visibility, especially 3/4 front view.

Certainly your Peugeot 407 Coupe has tank-like stiffness, stiff stability, and good brakes. And she would be able to cruise at maximum speed up to 250km/h, irrespective of engines (both V6,diesel or petrol). So she's a commendable highway cruiser, but she lacks some esprit expected from Peugeot brand, I think. The brand-new 3.0-litres V6 diesel turbo engine (developed under collaboration with Jaguar) will enhance Peugeot's reputation and trigger new era, I hope!